We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grifo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Grifo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Grifo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We enjoyed very much the friendly and knowlageble staff, all the tips on exploring the city. The breakfast was great and one can also enjoy it by bringing it upstairs and be surronded by the roof gardens and the ambiance of the streets. Great location, 8 minutes to Coleseum and 20 to the Trevi fountain. Close to a lot of amazing little churches and other gems of the city. Close to bus and metro stops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    260
    54
    40
    17
See reviews for
139
273
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshakati
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a really pleasant two nights at Hotel Grifo. It was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our two week trip to Italy, and not the most expensive by any means.
The hotel is well positioned to explore the historic "east bank" of the Tiber on foot. We booked a tour with pickup transport for the Vatican, which was worthwhile. The hotel is close to buses and the underground, but we didn't use either.
In particular the staff were very helpful with advice and bookings.
The breakfast was great too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights Sept 16 &17, 2012.Great location for walking and sightseeing. close to the Colesseum. Rooms were basic but very clean. Hotel staff were very helpful, gave us a great tip on a lookout over the city. Amazing. The rooftop terrace was a great place to enjoy some wine while we relaxed from our day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I just had the pleasure of spending a total of 5 nights at hotel grifo. I must say that this has been one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff at grifo exudes class, they are true professionals.

The rooms were always kept clean and the breakfast was more than enough to get your day started. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the Colosseum and Forum, most importantly it is located a few minutes from Cavour metro station. Once you have metro access you can pretty much get to anywhere in rome. Rosa, Alessandro, and Louigie were always very helpful and attentive to our needs.

I highly recommend hotel grifo and would give it 10 stars if I could. With me and my family, hotel grifo has clients forever.

Julio Torres

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great Location close to the train station. Great staff. Clean, quirky, old and charming. Staff recommended area restaurants, bars that were operated by locals. Nearby Piazza was a hit with our group. We stayed here on our last night in Rome before heading back to the US. The staff arranged for a car to the airport for the next morning which arrived on time and was reasonably priced (and very quick).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

This place is in fantastic location. It is brilliant value for money. Yes the rooms are basic but have quirky charm. I would recommend paying few extra euros for access to private rooftop terrace that room 42 and 41 share as this has great views. The hotel staff are very friendly and make great restaurant recommendations . Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved this hotel, we booked the room with a private deck over looking a small inner courtyard just wonderful to share some wine at. Room was small but clean, comfortable and a great location . The best part was the staff always happy to help and great with suggestions especially Marcello. He suggested everything from restaurants, bars, gelato, what bus to take where, train advice, etc. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room with terrace #25
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Grifo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grifo

Also Known As:
Grifo Hotel Rome
Address: Via del Boschetto, 144, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grifo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hotel Grifo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grifo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.