We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nardizzi Americana

Save Saved
You added Nardizzi Americana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nardizzi Americana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Firenze, 38, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 425 (1st room off the main stairway), a double with private bath. It was great - very spacious, clean, everything worked. The only small exception was that the shower drained slowly so you had some standing water as you showered (2 facing shower heads was pretty cool - maybe the drain couldn't keep up!). Note that wifi only works in front desk/patio area, not in your room - but that was even a nice break from wired-in life at home. The morning breakfast was nice - fresh pastries, some cold cereal selections with milk, yogurt, coffee and oj from a machine. The breakfast patio was nice and sunny. And the staff was very welcoming, friendly, and had a good suggestion for dinner (Giovanni's, about 4 blocks away). We liked the location too - across the street from the Defense Ministry made it feel pretty safe - and it was only a 5 minute walk to the Republicca metro stop. It was 10 minute walk to Termini train station. All in all, we thought this was a really wonderful hotel, given the price. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    147
    70
    38
    30
See reviews for
65
145
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel was actually good on our first stay of 4 days. However I´ve now had a bad experience with them - and cannot understand their attitude. Can only assume it is a scam:
1. I used their website to request a reservation of 1 night, more than 35 days in advance.
2. I received an email that my request had been received, and the reservation would be confirmed within 24hrs. This last point is important - they committed to answering within 24hrs.
3. Then nothing. Never heard from them for another month. And of course assumed that there was no availability, and made alternative arrangements.
4. Suddenly, 35 days later (and around 72 hours before the long forgotten requested night), I receive an email confirming the reservation. Of course, even if this email is read immediately, it is too late to cancel the reservation without losing money.
5. They declared me a no-show and charged my credit card.

I'm surprised that they resort to this, given that they are an okay hotel otherwise.

Room Tip: Be careful of using your credit card and their online reservation form.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as part of a Rick Steves' tour. The location was great as we were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see and it was close to the Metro, Shopping and restaurants.
The staff was very nice and helpful. We had 2 rooms for the 4 of us - the girls room was nice with a view of the street. The guys room was on the inside, was cramped, hot and we had some problems with the shower drain. I almost flooded the whole place one night. I would ask for an exterior room. The hotel is only on the 4th floor of a larger building. There was a small lift to take up or some grand marble stairs. The building and lift itself provided several pictures and fond memories of the trip. I would look for an alternative if coming back, but it is highly likely we would stay here again once location, value and service are factored in.

Room Tip: Ask for an exterior room. Inside room was hot and noise from lobby area was a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at Nardizzi Hotel. When we arrived we immediately met the manager and also other nice people of the staff who helped us find good restaurants. Our room was very clean and quite well arranged. No problems at all, not with the AC or with warm/cold water.
Every evening, when we came back from a long trip through the city, the friendly receptionist asked about our experiences. He also gave us good addresses for restaurants or made a reservation for the Villa Borghese. This made us feel welcome and at ease at this spot. We surely would come back to the same place, that is very well situated between Termini and Borghese.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was a bit surprised when my wife found this hotel at that cheap price as I had some bad experience in the past in that city, but my expectations were beaten when we found the hotel, pretty well located, clean and nicely decorated, with a very helpful staff (they arranged a limo to transfer us to the airport with a fare even better than what the taxis are advertising)
Breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Although it states the hotel is on the fourth floor we were located on the second floor in a larger room which suited us fine. The only slight problem was dropping the key back to reception when we went out, but in general we needed information so it was not a real issue.
The hotel is pleasant without being flash. The big plus was the helpfulness of all of the staff we encountered and the cleanliness of the room. We stayed 10 days and the service was always great and we became like an extended family to the staff. The staff always tried their best and they were the nicest, best mannered people we encountered in Rome (which seemed to be full of rude and obnoxious people). The breakfasts were restricted in food selection and the pastries were sweet, the drinks range was good. When starting an early tour they accommodated us with an early breakfast.
On the one occasion we had noisy people in our passage they sorted out the problem and moved the people closer to reception where they could more easily monitor their behavior. All in all they tried to look after their guests and they did a good job of it.
Housekeeping was great and the room was always kept to a good standard. Unlike some other reviewers we had no problem with the hot water or anything else.
Our room had good air conditioning which was great given the heat when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask the staff - they are pretty helpful and I am sure they will do there best to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I wasn't expecting 4-star accommodations but the Nardizzi Americana failed to deliver the basics such as hot and cold running water in the shower. There are many hotels in the same neighborhood so I would research others before choosing this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nardizzi Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nardizzi Americana

Address: via Firenze, 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nardizzi Americana 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Nardizzi Americana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nardizzi Americana Rome
Nardizzi Americana Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nardizzi Americana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.