We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Anselmo to your Saves list
Hotel San Anselmo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Herts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this hotel in Jan 2008 for 3 nights and it was fantastic. I am so glad that I just fell upon on it after an extensive internet search. Hotels in central Rome are very expensive. I found this one based on our budget and then read the positive views here on trip advisor. I have to say it was one of the best hotels that we have stayed in on a city break and we have stayed in alot of European cities. First of all its tucked away and not that easy to find...think we got ripped off by the taxi driver as he didnt understand the one way system near the hotel...but when we did get there we were glad of the secluded location as it means you are in a quiet residential area away from all the noise of the city but only a 20 minute walk from the colliseum. The staff were friendly and showed us to our fantastic room- outside the back of the hotel called the vanity suite! ( And we never requested a suite and got it for the standard price- maybe because it was out of season- we never asked why!) It was wonderful- spacious and well appointed but the bathroom blew us away- it was under the bedroom and all lit up with a huge sunk roman bath- amazing! We had great breakfasts in the hotel...varied range of continetal goodies. In the evening a lovely glass of cava in the small cosy bar area. All in all I love this hotel- its trendy and glam in an understated way and all for only 120 euros a night...probably gone up now but I would still go back! As it was in a quiet area the hotel gave us a list of local restaurants and we had some fun at these local tratatorias with no menus or price guides!! All in all a fantastic break and I recommend this hotel to anyone I hear going to Rome.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    134
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
540
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NB, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We spent 3 nights here on our first trip to Rome. We loved everything about this hotel. We stayed in room 826, Mille Baci. The service was excellent, the room was large, the bathroom was huge. It had a claw foot tub and a jacuzzi shower. The bed was comfortable, and the fabrics in the room were luxurious. The hotel did not have a restaurant, but it's "sister" hotel just down the street did (about 100 Euros for an excellent 4-5 course meal and a bottle of wine). Hotel did have a bar, and a bar fridge in the room. Wi-fi available for 10 Euros per day. The only negative thing was that it was located on a hill, which was fine for us, but it would be difficult for older people to walk to, or if you were carrying a lot of luggage or bags. It is accessible by taxi, and about a 15 minute walk from the subway/metro. The hotel was very quiet, in more of a residential area. It was a wonderful quiet place, an oasis from the hustle and bustle of Rome. We would definitely recommend the hotel (especially the room we had) for a honeymoon or romantic getaway, as it had a king size bed, bath tub big enough for two, and the bathroom ceiling lit up like stars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

We went here for a major birthday celebration and we were more than happy with every aspect. The decor of the hotel is just stunning. Our room was delightful, with hand-painted frescoes; the lounge, dining room and halls ways are sumptuous. The atmosphere therefore is great.
It's situated in a lovely quiet bit of Rome, surrounded by ancient cathedrals, houses and orange groves. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into the centre, but that was a lovely walk, and also nice to be away from the traffic noise etc.
Breakfasts were delicious. Highly recommended

  • Liked — The interior decor
  • Disliked — Reception didn't always smile
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break to the city. I booked the hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It was just beautiful, quiet but only 15 minute walk to the Colloseum. The staff were incredibly helpful and wouldnt hesistate to recommend. When we go back to Rome, it has to be there.

  • Liked — Each room was different but all beautifully decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday and it couldn’t be better! The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are lovely, very romantic, and well designed. Breakfast was very good either.
The hotel is located in a beautiful neighborhood, 20 minutes walk from the coliseum.
5 minutes walking north east from the hotel you can find a nice garden with a stunning view on the city. Don’t miss it!
We think that the location, which is a bit far from the center, is an advantage. It is far from the crowded city in a quiet and lovely neighborhood.
The hotel is rated 4 stars and it feels like 5!

  • Liked — Romantic rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

We stayed at San Anselmo to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. The reason I say that first off is if we didn't find the hill to the hotel overly daunting then I am sure most able bodied folk won't either, so I hope it doesn't put people off.
We stayed 6 days and got home yesterday. I wanted to post right away to say we found all the positive comments from previous reviewers to be completely accurate.
An individual styled, quiet hotel, with a comfortable genteel feel about it; and yet also modern and bright ambience.
Breakfasts are substantial, fresh and delicious. The staff was consistently helpful, pleasant, and efficient. I really can't see here where the aloof description from some reviewers is accurate; perhaps a cultural expectation or a language difference? I can only say we didnt find them anything other than as said above.
The restaurants in Testaccio are local, excellent and reasonably priced. They are not tourist restaurants, we found them to be full of locals, but you are welcomed (we dont speak any Italian) and if you like experiencing what a place is really like give it a try.
The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the Colliseum and 15 minutes or so from Trastevere.
The area is quiet, and beautiful and a nice walk over the hill gets you to Circus Maximus.
We had the welcome sparkly wine, the chocs every night, towels are changed twice daily. Really, we can do nothing other than recommend this hotel.
We took taxis a couple of times from hotel, all had meter on and were never ripped off as some have found. An example, it cost us 10 euros 20 cents to St Peter Basilica but it depends on traffic I suppose. Great city, great hotel.

  • Liked — The amazing decor
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This hotel was truly the highlight of our experience in Rome! Totally romantic room and a fantastic bar/lobby great for hanging out late night to have a few drinks.

The hotel is at the top of a hill and a walk from the "action" of Rome, but this provided a welcome respite for hectic hustle and bustle of the city.

This is one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed in-and we have been to many all over the world. Book your trip today!

  • Liked — Fabulous rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing-everything was great
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Family Hotel in Rome
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Splendia so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Anselmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.