We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Anselmo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Anselmo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week at end of July/beginning August and met up with some Austrailian friends travelling over the summer. The hotel was quite accessible for myself and my disabled partner although our room was nowhere near as luxurious as our friends room was. The area was lovely and felt safe, the staff were very helpful, breakfast was good and varied, air conditioning was very effective, shame there is no pool and garden is tiny but it is a good quality hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Sharon
what a surprice to read your comment after such a long time!
The staff and I are very pleased to know you remember your nice experience in our hotel S. ANSELMO and we thank you so much for thinking about us.
Happy to know everything worked well during your stay expecially the air conditionning which is really needed in the hot Roman summer and that you liked our garden!
Unfortunately we have no pool but we are proud to be located in the archeological area of Rome where digging is definetly not permetted because of the many ancient ruins of Rome's glorious past times.
Looking forward to your next visit in the eternal city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    103
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
422
21
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked this hotel as the first venue of our honeymoon and were buzzing from the moment we walked into the reception area. The decor is gorgeous - very luxurious with thoughtful touches everywhere. Our room is wonderful, with a four poster bed and large bathroom. We're also big fans of the free afternoon tea (4-6pm) and evening hot chocolate (9pm). If you do stay here, head to Testaccio (south of Via Marmorata) for good quality local restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear honeymooners,
we are so glad you found in the hotel S. Anselmo the perfect place to celebrate such a special occasion!
It's a life time esperience and it's important to cherish special memories about it.
We are happy to know you liked the unique decor of our superior rooms and four posters bed room is just perfect for a romantic getaway!
Glad also to know you enjoyed the complimentary afternoon the and our warm and delicious hot chocolate after a cold day in the city.
We thank you again for your visit and we are looking forward to take care of you during your anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I am a regular at this hotel, and it's two sister hotels; this one is my favourite. Chic and charming. Very nicely decorated rooms - I have experienced a few over the past years - in a wonderful building, and all that in a great location. Aventino is where I would want to live if I were to become Roman, and had the means. It offers great views, and a quiet spot to relax under the many trees from the buzzing city. Central too - walking down the hill to Testacchio and Trastevere takes you to great bars and restaurants. And if your feet need some relaxation, many rooms come with Jaccuzi... The staff is very nice and helpful. In short: a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,
It’s nice to see you had some time to remember us once back home. Thank you very much.
We are also glad to know you found in our hotel S. Anselmo your home away from home.
The Aventino hill is definitely a beautiful neighborhood to live in Rome even for a short time.
Yes, some rooms have nice jacuzzi and amazing views of the famous roman rooftops.
Looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the San Anselmo for 2 nights in November on friends’ recommendation. The location is very good as it’s away from the touristic places, but still within walking distance of the Forum/Coliseum. The room was lovely (top floor with balcony) with very good views; Brilliant bed but horrible pillows. Breakfast was good and staff was attentive and professional.

We would return tomorrow.

Room Tip: ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive comment.
So glad to know that your friends’ recommendation met your expectation and you loved the hotel S. ANSELMO.
The rooms with balcony are a “plus” even because the temperature in Rome is always mild and you can also enjoy the breakfast in the charming and pleasant garden or in the patio.
We’ll make sure for your next visit to give you different pillows to give you a goodnight sleep.
Looking forward to take care of you again during your next visit in one of the most romantic city of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Located on the calm Aventino hill, the Hotel San Anselmo offers an amazing romatic retreat, the perfect place for stopping the time and living "La Dolce Vita". Rooms are comfortable and clean, decorated with taste and elegance. Some of them have terraces that offer breathtaking views over the city. The hotel also has small garden where to take fantastic breakfasts. Ideally located footsteps away from the Colosseum, the Plaza Venezia and the historic and lively neighbourhood of Trastevere, the friendly and welcoming staff will be of great advice for those who want to visit the magnificent city of Rome. Definitely a place to recommend and to visit for a few days, a week, or a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Dominique,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
We are glad that you appreciated our beautiful location Aventino hill. That area offers peace and quiet even if not far from the city centre but just few steps from the Colosseum, Piazza Venezia and the famous district of Trastervere.
Most of the places of the Aventino hill refers to the “particular period” of the “Dolce Vita” that the eternal city lived thanks also to the famous movie of Federico Fellini.
Our hotel S. Anselmo has a beautiful garden with plenty of flowers and trees, which is also a very good location to have breakfast or a cocktail after a long day walking around the city.
Our staff and I are very pleased to know that the services received during your stay meet your expectations.
Looking forward to see you next time to enjoy again the Dolce vita time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the San Anselmo this weekend for a romantic get away on the recommendation of friends who had stayed there. Really charming hotel within walking distance of the vatican city and colosseum etc. A perfect base for exploring the city and then being able to get away from the hustle and bustle to relax after a day of sightseeing or shopping. Would definitely come back here; we also stayed (for work) at the Rome Cavaleri earlier in the week which is large and very grand, with lots of 5 star facilities but we much preferred the intimacy and quiet of San Anselmo.

Room Tip: We had a little balcony overlooking the square which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,
It’s nice to hear such wonderful review about our hotel and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
The hotel S. Anselmo is a charming hotel perfect for special occasions (such as anniversary, honeymoon) but also just for a romantic getaway.
Located on the top of the Aventino hill,which is a quiet and residential area just few steps from the city centre, our hotel is a gem surrounded of peace.
We do have a nice and comfortable garden where you can enjoy a cocktail and relax after a long day around the city.
The staff and I always make the best to give our guests the chance to spent a quiet and romantic stay.
Looking forward to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kisjulya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Have nothing bad to say about this one. Our room was very nice, on the top floor. Window was very small so opening it to get some fresh air did not do any good. Air condition worked great! Bed was comfortable(pretty hard, but we like it this way). Pillows though were horrible, hard and lumpy. But since I always have my own pillow with me I did not suffer much. Super clean. Very nice breakfast. Beautifully furnished, real charm of an old Roman villa. Short pleasant walk up and down hill to get in to town and back. Very nice restaurants around. Staff is super friendly, everyone speak perfect English. We are very pleased with our hotel choice this time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamigliaPiroli, Direttore at Hotel San Anselmo, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you for sharing with the community of Tripadvisor your experience.
The staff and I are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
In the hotel S. Anselmo all the rooms are different and all have different style and character. The top floor rooms, some with balconies, are definitely the best to enjoy a romantic gateway or special occasions.
We are glad you enjoyed breakfast because we believe it’s also important also to serve the complimentary breakfast in a pleasant and charming area with antique furnish and old paintings or in the nice season in the nice patio because it’s the “first step” to enjoy a long day in the eternal city.
Thank you for have chosen the hotel S. Anselmo for your romantic trip.
Looking forward to see you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
#48 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Anselmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.