We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Anselmo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Anselmo to your Saves list
Hotel San Anselmo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy (Aventine)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Superb hotel located at a quiet residential area of Rome, still close to the city center. Wonderfully decorated rooms with classic elegance and style (looks like recently renovated with great taste). Very clean and well managed. Perfect sleep, especially if you prefer firm mattresses. If you get a room on the ground floor you are likely to get a private exit to the inner garden (good for smokers since all rooms are apparently non-smoking). Very good full breakfast either inside or in a beautiful private garden. Excellent restaurant for a evening meal in a hotel next door (must be under the same management). If you come as a tourist, you might find the hotel a bit far from main central attractions, but this keeps you away from noise and crowd. Will definitely come back for my next business trip to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    134
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
540
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This quant little boutique hotel is very close to all the action and attractions of Rome, but in a very quiet upmarket suburb close to circus Maximus. This is not a well known hotel chain I.e. Westin etc. So what to accept??? I believe the building is a converted old Roman manor, It is small, it has reasonably good service, small but comfortable rooms, good bathrooms, good in-house restaurant around the corner, exclusively for house guests, breakfast in private garden, and a nice out door personalized cocktail bar. The BIG plus if u have a car..... FREE car parking!!!! As far as European hotels go, this place is VERY good value for money with a very "roman" homely feel. This will now be my regular Roman hotel, again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

First off, let me begin by saying, this is not a full service hotel. It is a former villa that was converted into a lovely boutique hotel. There is no concierge, though the gentlemen at the front desk are helpful & very nice, if a bit formal. The rest of the staff are very charming & were especially friendly. At 180 euros for a spectacularly beautiful room, you are getting way more than you are paying for. This price does include a simple breakfast in the beautiful garden w/ delicious cappuccinos (heart included!) Hotel San Anselmo is located in Rome's most beautiful area - Aventino, an upscale residential area. It is as tranquil as other TA members have mentioned. Sitting in their courtyard, after a day in and around city center, is a perfect way to spend the beginning of your evening - drink in hand and reminiscing about your day. You can walk down the hill and wander around Testaccio - eat & mingle w/ the locals. I was a bit worried about the "walk back up the hill", but it is really not bad at all - unless of course you have some mobility issues. If you have ever walked up and down Santorini's steps, the hill is a walk in the park. Cabs averaged around 10 euros to anywhere in city center. We are a family of four and had two rooms next to each other. They were able to split apart the bed in the poetry room and make twin beds. This room also has a small balcony overlooking the square - ours did not. The rooms are a sort of classic contemporary w/ an Italian flair. What else would you expect in Rome?! Both rooms were beautiful, though not large. However, the bathrooms were very spacious. I did a lot of research and this was the only hotel that interested me in Rome. It did not disappoint - we loved it!

Out the hotel and 3 lefts to the restaurant at their sister hotel - food was delicious and in a beautiful garden setting.

Lastly, yes the beds are hard - its Europe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here with another couple in late May of 2011. We had been to Rome several times befor and had stayed at major chain hotels as well as some of the smaller family run place (ie. The Hotel Locarno ). Everyone wants to be at the centre of the action but it sometimes comes with a cost - noise, heat, small rooms or high prices. The Hotel San Anselmo while not central is in an excellent location on a hill in a quiet neighbourhood overlooking the city. The walk to the Tiber (Trastevere) is perhaps 10 - 15 min. and about the same for the Forum and surrounding sights. We took a taxi a few times - going out to dinner near the Spanish Steps and after a full day of walking and ending up on the other side of town - it was approximately 12 to 15 euros.
Returning to the hotel you gradually leave the hustle and noise of the city behind and enter and different would of leafy little streets and hidden gardens. Yes its true, you do wake to the sound of birdsong and i you a really lucky, as our friends were, to the sound of Gregorian Chant from the nearby monastery. Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the small shaded garden where we had a wonderful breakfast every morning. The rooms and all individually and tastefully decorated and the bathrooms excellent. Our friends found the night clerk to be a little aloof and distant ( they had a long flight with delays and really could have used a friendly face) but we had no problem withe the service and requests. I'm a fan of the smaller well run hotels and find the are an inportant part of the travel experience - The Hotel San Anselmo did not disapoint. Well done......

Room Tip: Best to book in advance for greater choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We go to Rome at least twice a year and used to try different hotels. Not anymore--we've found perfection.. We love the San Anselmo, which is out of the major tourist area, but close enough to walk to them. This is a neighborhood hotel, one surrounded by quiet streets, beautiful parks and lovely homes. Excellent restaurants are also an easy walk as is public transportation. And the hotel itself is beautiful, with each room decorated in a different style, but all showing great taste. We love it and have booked it for future stays to be sure we can get our favorite room

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies, which tend to be larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice hotel in a quiet place, yet with a easy connection to the historical center. In the morning you can hear birds singing, and yet in 20 minutes you can be walking in the packed tourists areas of Piazza Navona or Pantheon.

The hotels proximity to Testaccio (5 min walk) means that you can have great lunch or dinner in the evening without the need to travel to the center. The local restaurants such as Da Felice (Via Mastro Giorgio, 29) or Degli Amici (Via Nicola Zabaglia, 25) offer much better value than the more touristy restraurants in the historical center.

The rooms were nice and spacious, nothing extra special but without any flaws. Sleep quality was good mainly because of good beds, selection of pillows and good soundproofing.

I would recommend this for anyone looking for a nice hotel in a less crowded area of Rome. However, it seems that the price per night varies a lot depending on the season, for a good value look for prices less than 150e. Similar hotels in the center often starts at 180/200e / night depending the season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed 4 nights here - San Anselmo was a perfect place to recover from the Rome crowds and heat in July. The walk to the Circo Massimo was like walking in the country - it was so quiet. Beautiful views of the city close by, interesting churches to visit nearby, inexpensive restaurants within easy walking distance........ we liked it a lot. Also we found staff incredibly client focused and helpful - complimentary fruit juice on arrival was a very pleasant surprise. In addition the reception staff were very helpful telling us where we could get tickets for a concert we wanted to see, and organising transfers to fiumicino as required. We also discovered that the hotel had a fantastic garden where a very peaceful breakfast was served; and could be used as a recovery place in the afternoon - with complimentary tea and the cakes left over from breakfast. Room was very good for a city hotel with a huge bathroom - a jacuzzi shower. Lots of windows. When in Rome, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Anselmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Anselmo

Address: Piazza S Anselmo 2, 00153 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Aventine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#15 Family Hotel in Rome
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#36 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Anselmo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Splendia so you can book your Hotel San Anselmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s Anselmo Hotel
s Anselmo Rome
San Anselmo Rome
Hotel San Anselmo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Anselmo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.