We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urben Suites Apartment Design

Save Saved
You added Urben Suites Apartment Design to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Urben Suites Apartment Design
Via Modena, 30 E/F, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,065 of 2,677 Rome B&B and Inns
Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in November in room 4. We opted for their collection service from the airport for 40 euro. This was a great idea as a taxi is about 50 and we were brought by the driver to the door. Room is fab and very mod. Big security doors and you'll feel very safe here.

The location is superb. 4mins walk from the metro and a really safe and bustling part of Rome. Many restaurants and shops within a stones throw. Apple TV in the rooms so if you have an itunes account you can rent films to your hearts content.

The only downside is noise. The staff have a desk outside room 4 and you will be woken in the morning although this is not intentional in any way. Sleeping in just won't happen here. Also don't bring a car. Rome has a super transport system and we also walked to most places. Besides there is no place to park.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    46
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
4
80
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I really liked this apartment due to the location as it was very accessible to the train station and within a relatively easy walk to many of Rome's attractions. Location in a small back street meant it was very quiet (no street noise). The staff were excellent and the breakfast provided each day was very good and it was pleasant to eat up on the roof top. Good restaurants nearby as well. Would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I and my husband loves this hotel. It is because the location is good and you can walk around the city. There are many good restaurants here. The room is simply with morden design and it is big and clean. Also it is so funny that you can have breakfast on the roof.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Surprisingly in a corner of big classic building in the middle of Rome you will find this modern apartment that is so cozy and comfortable to stay. Expect for modern minimalist design with advanced technology. Strategic location, nice optional breakfast, simple and modern design and service. No frills, no hassle.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with its own access to the parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the "suite" 4 (in fact just a standard room). We had to pay 296 euros in cash, as they refused to charge our credit card, pretending it was not working (but you can pay 10 euros on the website...)
Breakfast could only be served between 9AM and 11AM. And if you need to be at the Vatican at 9AM, they won't propose you a single coffee or orange juice. No, nothing before 9AM because "they need to cook croissant".
We had to show them that the toothbrush holder was dirty, so they could replace it. Other people already wrote about the duct tape in the shower.
You have to smash the door to close it (and so do your neighbors), and the annoying buzz when you open your door will let everyone in the building know you're back. Add to this that the walls are paper thin, and you will understand that you won't get much rest here...

One positive thing: well placed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urben, Owner at Urben Suites Apartment Design, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks Monsieur of yours experience. We have some rules for breakfast in order to guarantee the right quiet to other customers so we made the choice to not serve it before 9 AM but at the contrary you can have juice, coffee and whatever inside your room at any time before. So, it's easy: next time just ASK and you'll have friendly people who wish to let you stay in an "agreable" situation.
For payments with credit cards we do accept them but we clearly advice customers before their arrival that dued to crazy increment of commission upon transactions (they're arrived until 3,5%) we needed to put a minimum limit of transaction which is 300 euro. We don't think it's a big disappointment for customers but just question of organization and this is the reason why we advice them before. You'll have surely noticed that all over France hotels make the same as economic crisis striked all of us.
We currently deeply clean rooms (as you can read in other customer comments) every day and i'm sorry if you had a different idea. Once again, just ASK and you'll be satisfied.
Suite 4 is 28 sq mts + 12 sq mts of bathroom: monsieur you're in the middle of the historic centre of a millenary city not in the modern banlieu of New Dehli in a business hotel, so we surely consider our rooms much more than a standard room.
All this remarks are clearly done in our website, in our confirmation mail, in our contacts before customers arrival exactly because we want to be sure that customers know exactly what they can have and what cannot: we want just to satisfy them with discretion and without any marketing tricks; as you can read in our brief but intense history of feedback we do work for this purpose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We recently stayed here after finding Urben Suites via Trip Advisor. We were allocated room 3 which was a good size with bed, TV, shower room, sofa and desk.

Positives:
Excellent location - we walked everywhere! 10 minutes to train station and Trevi Fountain, 15 to Colloseum and we walked to the Vatican in 40 minutes.
We thought the room was very well priced for what we were given and the bottle of proessco was a nice touch on arrival! I really liked the design of the room, it is different to other places we have stayed.
Breakfast in bed was a nice treat, a few little cakes and pastries with orange juice.
Mini bar was very well priced if you need anything.

Negatives - There weren't really any negatives to report! On our last day there wasn't any hot water so I'm not sure if there was a problem but we just had a quick shower instead. It was also a little unusual that the shower floor had duct tape instead of a basin as it is more like a wet room than a separate shower.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Rome!

Room Tip: We were allocated room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

No frills here, but nothing much to complain about. Urben is a pretty small complex of 4 modernly designed (no carpet, Apple TV, kinda looks like Urban Outfitters) rooms; ours was on the ground level, which i was kind of concerned about, but the street was pretty quiet. Location is good though, walking distance to many major sites and close to Termini station without being in the rundown area around it. Bedding was starchy and not soft at all, which would probably be my chief complaint. Chances are that when you check in, there might not even be anyone there, but they give you a PIN code to get into the hotel and your room, which is kinda cool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Urben Suites Apartment Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urben Suites Apartment Design

Address: Via Modena, 30 E/F, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,065 of 2,677 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urben was built in the late 19th century and it has been meticulously restored in 2011. For this reason no two rooms are alike. Every room has in-room bath. This is a hi-tech boutique hotel with a late 19th century fashion. Domotic access and climate services, internet wifi, Apple TV in every room with free movies and music on demand, rent an electric scooter, a roof garden, breakfast... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Urben Suites Apartment Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urben Suites Apartment Design, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.