We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Vicoletto di Trastevere

Al Vicoletto di Trastevere
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Al Vicoletto di Trastevere to your Saves list
Al Vicoletto di Trastevere
Via Giuseppe Parini,7, 00153 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,326 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We arrived later than expected due to flight delay, but the host, Mrs. Caravella, has waited for us even after check-in time limit - we really appreciated this.
The room has no carpet on the floor and you tend to walk between bedroom and bathroom without changing to slippers - the filth has been carried from one room to another. Also, no carpet in front of the shower - we used a towel. Sheets and towels are being changed at every 3 days. The shower cabin was tooo small, not suitable for claustrophobs! Also, hot water comes very late - tip: turn the shower at maximum heat + flowing speed so that it can come quicker. Room was noisy (we chose the one with the private bathroom), as it was close to Viale de Trastevere and the traffic is intense. Moreover, the walls are extremely thin and we overheard the upstair's neighbour phone conversations but also her cancerous coughing in the night - very creepy!!
The breakfast was ok, consisting of bread, jam, croissant and coffee. We are used to eat more on breakfast, so we bought some extra food from Spar, which is located in the Trastevere train station, and stored it in the fridge. You have the possibility to eat at noon or dinner, as you can prepare some sandwiches in the open kitchen. Unfortunately, we didn't have the necessary accesories to heat prepared food, this is why you couls only eat sandwiches.
Credit card payment: no
Hair dryer: there are 3-4 hair dryers stored in the kirchen's counter
Transportation: tram 8 drives you to the center; no metro nearby!
Host: ok, except when she has all rooms booked; she asked my boyfriend to free the table - although he still had some tea left to drink - so that others can come and eat. Rude, but maybe she didn't want it to sound so, as she speaks only Italian, a bit of French and bad English.
She has repaired this mistake by letting us keep the luggage in the room until our flight time. Check-out time was at 10:00 am and our flight was at 7:00 pm. She left us the keys (as it was Sunday and she was free) and asked to put them on the table when at our return.
Overall: nice hotel, but it could've been better. I would recommend it just for its proximity to Trastevere and Piazza Venezia.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlVicoletto, Proprietario at Al Vicoletto di Trastevere, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,
innanzitutto Vi ringrazio per quanto mi avete segnalato, è anche grazie alle Vs. recensioni se riusciamo a migliorarci!
Mi preme però puntualizzare che, nell'ottica del B&B che è ben lontana da quella di un hotel, gli spazi comuni vengono condivisi in maniera educata e responsabile con gli altri ospiti. Rimanere seduti davanti ad una tazza di the per circa un'ora, nonostante la presenza di altre persone che aspettavano di fare colazione mi è sembrato veramente eccessivo!
mi dispiace, il mio inglese non è dei migliori, ma parlo abbastanza il francese che però voi non conoscete!
Potrei dirvi ancora che la biancheria in un B&B viene cambiata ogni tre giorni, e che chi prenota in una struttura come la nostra, sa di alloggiare in appartamento, che evidentemente non può avere le camere insonorizzate!
lasciarvi le chiavi più tempo del previsto è un'accortezza che, limitatamente alla disponibilità delle camere, uso con tutti gli ospiti del B&B, proprio perché, gestendo una struttura piccola, i rapporti vengono coltivati con particolare cura e riguardo.
Colgo l'occasione per ringraziare TRIP ADVISOR che, dandoci la possibilità di rispondere alle recensioni, ci mette in condizione di ribadire il concetto che non si può credere di pagare per un B&B e pretendere i servizi offerti da un albergo.
Saremo lieti se vorrà accordarci nuovamente la sua preferenza in un prossimo futuro.
Staff B&B Al Vicoletto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a very well-located and super clean b+b, close to the train station in Trastevere. The host is lovely, although she speaks no English and only a little French. However, it is just off a very noisy street, and even with the windows closed, it was still pretty loud (I needed to sleep with earplugs). Also, don't expect much for breakfast: filter coffee and packaged (white) bread and croissants. All in all, I found it too expensive for what it offered, although once again, the location is good and the owner really sweet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back street/alley. You will still hear the traffic, but much less than wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great value less than 2 blocks from Roma Trastevere regional train station. The proprietor didn't speak English, but she had her daughter there that translated everything just fine. WIFI signal wasn't very good in the room, but out in the hallway was a terrific signal. Located on the 3rd floor of what appeared to be a very secure building in a reasonably safe looking neighborhood. The room had a powerful (IE loud fan) portable AC unit that I used overnight as it was very warm in the room when I got there...it did a decent job overnight and I slept great. Breakfast wasn't much...but I did find yogurt and some cookies and Nutella in the kitchen early as I had to leave for the airport at 4am.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights, the room was a good size and the bed comfortable, unfortunately that's where the praise ends. The room was far too hot and we had no air con! the only option was to open a window but he noise was awful! i don't think either of us got any sleep in the 3 nights, when you eventually nod off at 6am the owners arrive to prepare breakfast for the other guests, the kitchen is based outside the rooms so if the outside noise doesn't get you, the noise of the owners preparing breakfast will. The shower was diabolical! a watering can would have been better and i'm afraid to say we found 2 cockroaches in the bathroom. We should have complained but the owners did not speak great English (my Italian is awful so I am not blaming them for this). the location is very good and the No 8 tram will get you in to the centre in 5-10 mins. Perhaps we had a bad experience, but please if you take anything away from this review it would be the noise aspect, it really is quite bad!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlVicoletto, Proprietario at Al Vicoletto di Trastevere, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili clienti, siamo molto dispiciuti che non abbiate trovato di Vs. gradimento la nostra struttura.Ci sembra che a Roma non sia ancora scoppiato un gran caldo da richiedere l'utilizzo dell'aria condizionata e comunque bastava chiederla e vi avremmo accontentati. Avendo mantenuto sempre le finestre aperte,potrebbe essere entrato qualche insetto volante, in primavera può capitare, ma non parlerei di scarafaggi,c'è una bella differenza.La Vs. stanza affaccia in un cortile interno e pertanto ci sembra la soluzione meno rumorosa, infatti ad oggi nessuno si è mai lamentato nè dei rumori nè tantomeno della doccia .Le colazioni vengono servite dalle 8.30 e la logica del B&B è proprio quella della convivialità e ospitalità all'interno di un appartamento, non come nei grandi alberghi dove la sala colazioni è ben distante dalle camere. Tutto è commisurato alla differenza di prezzo tra una struttura alberghiera ed un B&B. Speriamo di potervi avere ancora ospiti, in modo da farvi ricredere circa i servizi offerti presso la nostra struttura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The headline may be a bit unfair. This is a good place, 5 minutes walk from Trastevere train station (linked to the Fiumicini Airport) and with good communications to wherever you want to go in Rome. The rooms are clean and nice, the hostas are kind and helpful and there is little to complain about. But for the price we paid, we expected more. The AC was one of those roll in-things. The noice that thing made, placed an arms lenght from my left ear! After a while I started repeating to myself: "I sleep on planes and they are noisier..." It worked eventually.

Then there is breakfast. The breakfast room is a small citchen an the "buffet" was the standard jam&tosts, cookies and little else. For us Scandinavkisans, who are not used to these sugar spikes mornings, there was nothing. A slice of cheese would be nice.

But having said that, the place is OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel is located a few blocks away from the Trestevere Train Station. It is on the third floor of an apartment complex, with the apartment transformed into a few private rooms and a breakfast area. The room is basic but clean. Breakfast consisted of cereal, pastries, juice and coffee. The owner does not speak much English but is able to contact her son if needed who does speak a good amount of English. We had a problem with hotels.com's conversion rate (told us one price in US dollars and her another price in Euro, with those two figures not coming close to any recent conversion rates). We settled on a certain price in between the two with the owner, but as we were leaving the last day, she added a few more Euro to the price, saying she had just been "rounding" the price she had quoted to us the day before. There was also a 2 euro per person per night city tax, even though hotels.com said that our quoted price included all taxes and fees. Overall, it was a convenient location (quick ride on bus or tram to center of Rome), clean and cheap accomodation. Just be aware when you go of the city tax and the price in Euro, so you do not run into the same issue we had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Vicoletto di Trastevere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Vicoletto di Trastevere

Address: Via Giuseppe Parini,7, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,326 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our B&B is located next to Trastevere. Every comfortable room has private bathroom. We're at 50 mt to Trastevere Station where trains arrive from and to Da Vinci Airport. We're also close to principal buses from and to Central Termini Station. In front of B&B you can take tram n. 8 and arrive in a few minutes to principal attractions of Rome. You also have possibility to live Rome by night in Testaccio and Trastevere quarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Vicoletto di Trastevere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Vicoletto di Trastevere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.