We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Anna Roma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sant Anna Roma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sant Anna Roma
Borgo Pio 134, 00193 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Me, my wife and young son stayed here in June/July in a family room. Have been to Rome a few times before and can honestly say this is the best hotel we've stayed in. Great location and the welcome on arrival was great. Room was nice and big and clean too. When we had to unexpectedly extend our stay (big family trip and my wife's mother ended up in hospital) the staff at Hotel Sant Anna really went the extra mile, ensuring we wouldn't lose the room and helping me with the baby when my wife was visiting her mum. Great, great hotel and wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone going to Rome. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    33
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
40
34
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is, I think, my fifth stay here and again, I would not stay anywhere else while in Rome. The hotel is located only a block from the Vatican, two blocks from the Sistine Chapel, five minute walk to the castle, and about seven minute walk to the metro.

Aside from that, the rooms and incredible service at this hotel are absolutely not to be beaten. Elizabetha, at the front desk, has become like a friend whom I email when I first know my dates for Rome. Every room I have had here has been marvelous. A couple of years ago they updated all of the bathrooms which now are extremely modern and clean with marble everywhere and wonderful showers. None of those small European half showers here. The baths are simply wonderful. My room this time had a balcony which was perfect for relaxing at night. It faced the interior courtroom which was quite and peaceful. It was room 10, and I think I'll ask for it next time I'm in town. It was perfect.

The breakfast down in the cellar is always wonderful and plentiful. This is one of the few hotels that offers blood orange juice which is one of my favorites. There are fresh, hot pastries, fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, and cereals with yogurt and other items. No one would leave here hungry. I had a very early departure, but they arranged for me to have an early breakfast so I would not leave the hotel hungry. I ate while the ladies set up the breakfast and they catered to my every desire which is the norm for this hotel.

There is a computer in the lobby for guests to use, and the password is given to you at the front desk.

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel or the staff that I have come to know and appreciate. You get great location, fantastic rooms and five star service here. Why go anywhere else. You can't put a price on the quality of Hotel Sant Anna Roma. If you're planning a trip to Rome, plan your stay around this hotel. You will love every minute of it. And say Hello to the staff for me!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. Everyone from the maids to the owner were welcoming. They spoke pretty good english and were helpful with my italian. An excellent breakfast came with the price of the room. It is an excellent location near the Vatican and other sightseeing areas. At the time of the year the room became a little warm until we alerted them to leaving the A/C on during the night. They have WiFi, but check your emails in the lobby. We would stay there again if we go to Rome.

Room Tip: Any room would be good because the hotel is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have see this hotel a number of times when visiting vatican and was on my list to stay there. Was not disappointed. Reception staff very welcoming during my stay and an excellent breakfast was available. Room comfortable with marbled bathroom and air conditioning throughout. A stone's throw from Vatican and have no hesitation in making a retun booking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder, colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My yearly routine rarely varies: a train from Assisi to Rome, a taxi through the city passing by St. Peter's Square and in a few more moments I'm standing in front of the Hotel Sant Anna Roma on Borgo Pio feeling as though I have returned to a sweet oasis. I'm greeted warmly by the wonderful front desk person in a lovely reception area (and I often see other Americans that I know there). I take the tiny elevator upstairs to a beautifully decorated room and relax for about ten minutes before zipping down the stairs and out the door to walk the very short distance (past a couple of shops and restaurants) to St. Peter's Square. Of course, the Vatican museums are very close by also, and the gorgeous religious articles and book stores that line Via Conciliazione. When I return I will enjoy a shower in the spotlessly clean bathroom, and then take a walk to one of the many outdoor restaurants for a terrific Italian dinner. The hotel is small, elegant...but also warm and inviting, and they serve an excellent breakfast in the downstairs dining room. I have no desire to ever stay in another hotel in Rome. This one is just perfect. The location allows me to go back and forth to the Vatican, to visit lots of shops and museums, restaurants and then get a great night's sleep in a quiet and lovely room. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Sant Anna has always been our hotel of choice when visiting Rome (we have stayed here at least four times). The staff is most helpful and friendly, and the location can't be beat. Breakfast is a treat as well. The location is exceptional - you are close to St. Peter's, Castelo San Angelo, Piazza Navona across the Tiber, and many other sights. Ask the staff for restaurant recommendations: we were not disappointed when trying their suggestions. I would say to venture off the hotel's street for meals, as the restaurants are touristy. There are many others nearby that are good. Also, be sure to get directions to Giolitti, a great gelato shop near Piazza Navona.

When we are fortunate enough to return to Rome, we will chose the Sant Anna.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are quieter. But rooms in the front let you watch the street scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a charming hotel 2 blocks from the Vatican on a nice street with restaurants, shops and local activity. It is not a noisy street. The hotel offers a nice breakfast and staff are friendly and very helpful. Our quiet room next to the small elevator had a little balcony overlooking courtyard with standard amenities but no English speaking channels on tv. Nearest Metro is about 15 min walk. We enjoyed our 4 night stay and recommend this family operated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sant Anna Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Anna Roma

Address: Borgo Pio 134, 00193 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Business Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
#213 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the monumental setting of the Rome of the Popes, in a 16th century building in the shadow of St. Peter’s Basilica, the Hotel Sant’Anna offers gracious hospitality in the best hotel tradition. The salon and the enchanting courtyard offer pleasant setting for meetings and relaxation. Hotel Sant’Anna, a superior three star Rome hotel, will certainly offer to its guests a very nice and comfortable atmosphere.The Hotel Sant’Anna has 3 floors served by an elevator and rooms for disabled people on ground-floor. An American buffet breakfast is served In the charming breakfast room, where decorative murals evoke view of the city. The hotel has also a pretty courtyard and some rooms with terrace. A garage is available close to the hotel from 23 Euro per day. Possibility to book tours of Rome at the hotel’s desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sant Anna Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Anna Rome
Sant Anna Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Anna Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.