We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Smeraldo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smeraldo Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smeraldo Hotel to your Saves list
Smeraldo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via dei Chiodaroli 9, 00186 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #318 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Washington, DC
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Smeraldo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

We would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed for six nights/seven days and really enjoyed our time at the Smeraldo. The location was EXCELLENT. Every major site was within walking distance for the average walker--the hotel is an equal distance from the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, and the Coliseum. Good restaurants, ATMs, nice shops, tabacchi (for phone cards, stamps, and postcards) were all within two blocks of the hotel. The rooms were impeccably cleaned everyday with all towels changed everyday and all the little soaps and shampoos refilled. The breakfast each morning was more than adequate and an excellent way to get ready for a long day at the sites--no hot food but a good array of baked good, cereal, yogurt, etc. Room 100 was slightly small for two people but all European hotel rooms are I suppose, and the bathroom was quite large. The only complaint that we had was that the room was quite damp and a bit cool in the evenings even with the heat on, but other rooms did not seem to have this problem. The staff isn't particularly friendly, but always willing to try and help. For great food at a good price try S. Anna's Ristorante (just a few steps away to the right!) and for cheap food try Insalata Ricca right off Corso Emmanuel a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    334
    113
    36
    23
See reviews for
98
300
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus. OH
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2005

Stayed at the Hotel Smeraldo for five nights in March 2005. The hotel met of exceeded or expectations in every category. The room was clean and a decent size for two with ample closet space, shower was small but that is expected in Europe right?. Hotel arranged airport pickup and return (55E/48E) and followed up to make sure there were no problems. Didn’t have to walk more than about 200 yards to find a great restaurant each night. Able to walk to all the major sights, ~30 minutes to either the Colosseum or Vatican. Can’t comment on the breakfast as we were out the door each morning but, there is a decent coffee shop across the alley and several automated teller machines in the area. Everyone on the staff we encountered was English speaking and we did not find anyone unwilling to help no matter what the question or request. Our room faced the interior of the building and noise was not a problem at all. Not fancy but it was clean, helpful, inexpensive, and in a great location. We will definitely stay at the Smeraldo again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2005

We were late arriving to our hotel by several hours. When we arrived the man at the front desk actually yelled at me that I was late and it was past check in.

He had booked our room and charged us. He said that the hotel was competely booked up now, but he would help us find another hotel in Rome. I was furious I left and found a delightful place a couple of blocks away.

I dont understand why he was yelling at me when he got my money, and the money of who ever was staying in our room.

Very poor customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

We stayed at the Smeraldo at the end of January and found it to be superb! The rooms were beautifully presented clean tidy and modern. The staff were very nice and helpful directing us to a lovely restaurant on our first night just around the corner. However the real beauty of the place is its location, I don’t think you can find a better spot. All the major sites are in walking distance and you are the right side of town to pop over the river and spend your evenings in one of the many bars. I would and have recommended this hotel to others and would not even consider staying anywhere else if is come back to Rome.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2005

I stayed here for five nights in Feb 2004 and enjoyed it tremendously! It's location is perfect!! I was a few blocks away from the campo de fiorio - with it's sunday morning market - and well within walking distance to all the main sights. And How wondeful to hear the street musician playing his accordian just outside my window! A wonderful mom-n-pop leather shop was cattie-corner to the entrance and my morning capucino shop was on the way to the piazza. all in all, for my first european vacation, this hotel was awesome. I have recommended the hotel smerlado t to many of my friends who are traveling to rome!

  • Stayed February 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2005

We loved our (4 days plus one day) stay at this charming hotel. Though the room was very small, the bed was firm and spacious for two. The room was also warm and quiet, so we slept well. The staff was very helpful, and even stored our winter clothing for 10 days while we travelled to Africa. We found it convenient for us to travel to and from the airport by train (FM 1, 5 Euros; and Tram 8, 1 Euro per person) and it took about 50 minutes each way and was fun (we didn't have too much luggage). The hotel is well-located in a charming neighborhood, two blocks from Campo dei Fiori and its daily market til 2pm, and another three blocks to Piazza Navonna. (Everything seems like just a short walk in Rome, but wear shoes with good support, because of the uneven cobblestones.) It is also two blocks from an internet cafe (on Via Arenula), one short block from an ATM, and a short walk across the Ponte Sisto from Trastavere neighborhood. I was generally pleased with the unexceptional breakfast, finding the granola and yogurt a nutritious way to start the day, augmented by ham and cheese slices when I was hungrier. But do leave room for the antipasto misto della casa at L'Orso 80 and the gelato at Gelateria della Palma.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2004

Stayed at the Smeraldo for 4 nights prior to Christmas. At a rate of 100 euros per night for the room incl breakfast it's fantastic value for money.

The room we stayed in (111) had clearly been recently refurbished and was very nice, albeit on the small side.

The location is perfect with all the must see tourist sights within easy walking distance. The Vatican museums are probably the furthest away of all, but is no more than a 20 minute stroll away.

Would thoroughly recommend staying at this hotel.

Enjoy Rome it is a truly spectacular city!

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smeraldo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smeraldo Hotel

Address: Via dei Chiodaroli 9, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#261 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Smeraldo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smeraldo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smeraldo Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smeraldo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.