We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, superb service and very attractive hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Delle Carrozze, 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Saint Julian's, Malta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, superb service and very attractive hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at this wonderful hotel - excellent location just a corner away from Piazza Spagna and the popular shopping district of Via del Corso. We were a family of five - we took two rooms and we were very comfortable. Rooms are all finished to very high standards, with a/c, very clean and free wifi. Continental breakfast was also excellent - fresh croissants, bread, hams, cheeses, yogurts, tea, coffee, juices and more! They also had gluten free food as one of us is coeliac. The staff were very professional and friendly - in particular Rosanna and Victoria. They go out of their way to make you feel at home away from your home! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    228
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
120
161
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were 2 single ladies staying 2 nights for a quick tour of Rome. We wanted a hotel that was safe & near the Spanish Steps, clean, air conditioning, good price, free breakfast & free wifi. We found all of this at Hotel San Carlo. The room with 2 twins was small but perfect for the 2 of us. The bathroom was much better than I expected. The shower was similar to mine at home & they had a hair dryer. That's important to 2 ladies. :) The breakfast was good, especially the granola & coffee. The elevator and/or lift would only fit 2 people without luggage but it was a fun European experience. No worries @ luggage, the bell boy took care of that for us. The carpet on the corridors was a little worn but the rooms had tile. I felt it was much cleaner with the tile in the rooms instead of old carpet. I had searched trip advisor for months looking for the perfect hotel for our needs. As usual, trip advisor was spot on. I would definitely stay here again if there are just 2-3 in my traveling party.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor near the breakfast area. I didn't see any other rooms for comparison bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent four nights at this hotel and it was wonderful. The location is great ( very busy area although hotel on quiet street) and we found the room lovely, clean, quiet and the staff extremely warm and courteous. The breakfast on the rooftop each morning was terrific. The bathroom is a bit tight but beautiful. We were traveling with our teen-ager and our room had a main bedroom and a small alcove bedroom which was perfect for a family of three. I can highly recommend this hotel for families, couples or singles. Just a totally charming experience.

Room Tip: If you have a teen or one child, get the superior triple. It was perfect for us. Small alcove bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
366 reviews 366 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This place has some of the best staff I have ever encountered in any hotel (and I've stayed in The Peninsula in Tokyo, various Ritz-Carltons, and a smattering for Four Seasons). Dante is a gem and I hope the owners understand what they have in them. The rest of the staff is first-rate too. The double rooms were sizable. The rooftop breakfast area feels very garden-esque and has a great array of foods. Birds chirp and flight about amongst the floors; it is quite an oasis. The beds are super comfortable. The only "negative" in the rooms is the size of the showers--they are circular on one side and small enough that you need to watch your elbows as you shampoo your hair. But the shower does have shelves for women's feet as they shave their legs so that is nice. The hotel is within walking distance to most landmarks and shopping, great restaurants, and the subway (which I never used because it is more convenient to walk). I'd stay here again the next time I'm in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

WE spent 3 days at the Hotel San Carlo in May. The rooms were spacious, the staff helpful,
the breakfast expansive and situated on a pretty covered outdoor balcony. The location is excellent with very little street noise, metro (which we didn't use) close by, and easy walking distance to many sights.This is a tourist area and the restaurant prices reflect that identity. But
the area is also good for an evening stroll and there are options for those are are content to
eat standing up. If we are ever in Rome again we'd definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel San Carlo is a wonderful hotel close to the Spanish Steps and close to the Metro. The staff was exceptional from the desk clerk, bellman and chambermaid. The rooftop breakfast area was beautifully decorated with white tablecloths and flowers galore.
The rooms were spacious and the bathrooms updated.
If you get a chance to stay here you will love it.
Be sure to also visit the cafe ToTo across the street for a fabulous meal.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel San Carlo exceeded all our expectations! It had a lovely atmosphere, friendly and personal. It's location is perfect for sightseeing in Rome. A three minute walk from The Spanish Steps, and hence easy walking distance from all the sights! It's also very near the metro. Spanga station is about a three minute walk away. There are lots of lovely wee restaurants, reasonably priced, right on the doorstep. And for those into designer shopping, via Condotti is just round the corner! I just can't imagine how you could do better!

Room Tip: Since breakfast is on the 4th floor you may want to consider a room on the 3rd or 4th floor. Our roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via Delle Carrozze, 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#94 Family Hotel in Rome
#114 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#200 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.