We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, nice hotel, helpful staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlo to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Delle Carrozze, 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Very good location, nice hotel, helpful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel is located in old Rome, 2 minutes from the Spanish Stairs, 10 minutes from Fontana di Trevi, the Pantheon, Piazza Navona, etc. Rooms are clean and nice, breakfast is more than the regular European one, staff is very kind and helpful. Price was a little high but it was worth it. We would stay there again if and when we visit Rome again. Breakfast is served at their beautiful balcony.

Room Tip: We stayed at the "regular"part of this hotel. There is another one, named "Annex"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    232
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
122
171
51
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We recently visited Hotel San Carlo on 19-21 September 2012 and were overwhelmed with the excellent service we received during our stay. We unfortunately had to deal with two urgencies (illness and item lost at airport) soon after checking in and these were resolved quickly by the staff at the Reception area. When in need, we received only kindness, understanding and prompt service. All baggage was transported to our room quickly and efficiently. The rooms (we had the opportunity to stay in 4 of them) were spotless, quaint and adequate. We upgraded to double rooms from single rooms and had the opportunity to choose the triple room with its own terrace. The breakfast outdoor area was wonderfully located on the 4th floor, easily accessible by elevator. Breakfast was plentiful including a selection of fresh figs, pears and other seasonal fruits.
The Hotel location was superb, vicinity Spanish Steps, restaurants and Hop-on Hop-off bus stop. The double-glazed windows assured undisturbed sleep. We loved our stay at this Hotel, reasonably priced considering the up-market area and could not envisaged staying elsewhere in Rome on our next visit. Most of all, Receptionists and staff made us feel welcomed and were attentive to all our needs in spite of busy time of the year. We are forever appreciative for such kindness and will recommend this Hotel to all our friends and colleagues without hesitation.

Maria Speerin

Room Tip: Noise from the small lane was not an issue. Double glazed windows assured undisturbed sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I was traveling alone and felt safe, walked everywhere or hopped on the bus half a block away. Taxis available half a block away. Great restaurants everywhere around hotel, breakfast was nice at the hotel and was included, nice food market around corner too. Only one block from all upscale shopping stores. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful with directions, tickets, reservations. I will stay her again, but would ask for a larger bed, I said 'single' and got the twin bed room, lol. Importantly, the air conditioner works great and it was very hot in Rome. Also, the soundproofing was fabulous here.
I would recommend San Carlo Hotel to my friends. And am looking forward to my next visit!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

we arrived late in the evening and we ve been welcome by a very professional staff as well at the reception as for the rest of the staff in the hotel.
The hotel is very central, we loved the roof terrace breakfast, (great view of the capital) and close to main monuments and churches.
Room are very clean and staff is nice; we booked a simple room and we ve been given a superior one at the same price! cool!!!

Alex and family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel is wonderfully located in the area of the Spanish Steps - lots of restaurants and services around, walking distance to Trevi and Novana Fountains, and to the Coliseum if you are a good walker. Lovely staff, very nice hotel and rooms with A/C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I read so many reviews before choosing this hotel in Rome and ended up disappointed. It probably didn't help that my friend and I had fantastic hotel experiences in both Florence and Sorrento so this hotel clearly landed at the bottom. Our room was supposed to be a Double Superior, whatever that means, and was a very small room with one bed that we had to ask them to take apart as I had specified two beds. Bathroom is tiny, minimum towels offered, hotel room smelled like mold and mildew and then worst of all the walls are paper thin and I could hear everyone in the hallways...and it wasn't late in the morning. I get European hotels are smaller but I still would not return to this hotel. The positives are that it is is a great location and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great little hotel in outstanding area. Reasonably priced, walking distance from all top tourist areas in Rome. We were there with 2 teen aged granddaughters and had a loft unit. We loved it, and they did too! The Spanish Steps are a very short distance from the hotel. Great shopping, restaurants, parks, etc. We plan to stay there on our next visit to Rome. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo

Address: Via Delle Carrozze, 92-93, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#88 Family Hotel in Rome
#89 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#215 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Fastbooking and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlo Hotel
San Carlo Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.