We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giusto

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Giusto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Giusto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Bologna 58, 00162 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #877 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Please avoid this place!
It is really run down a
real budget accommodation, 2 stars at the most!

See the photo's they speak for themselves.

The bed's are basic stretchers, the minibar is a run down (dirty) fridge.
The shower has to run for 10 minutes for some "hot" water.

Room Tip: no tips for rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    63
    73
    54
    30
See reviews for
16
49
17
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
keeran89
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I'm not sure why people say the hotel staff are rude here, i met 4 different members of staff during my stay and they were all friendly and very helpful. The rooms are small BUT, this is Europe, not Asia. This is good budget stay, the bathroom was excellently clean and tidy. The bed was fine and so was the air conditioning which was needed in the heat!! Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is great value for money and offers an excellent breakfast, and is easily accessible by bus and metro. The room is basic but comfy. We found most of the staff to be helpful. We realised that for the lemonade price we paid for our room,we could not expect champagne services and facilities!

Some things can be inconvenient to cope with. The lift does not begin on the ground floor - after lugging heavy suitcases up and down metro stairs, it was hard to do it yet again inside the hotel. The air con is operated by flipping a 'trip' switch on a wall panel. Not easy to work out!

Metro Line B and bus number 62 take you right into Piazza Bologna (however, #62 does not call at Termini). We struggled to find the hotel, so here are some tips. The hotel is not actually on the Piazza, so don't look for it there! It is also not visibly signposted from the piazza as the San Giusto sign faces down the road away from the piazza. The best help I can give with directions is to say that the hotel is close to the gelateria, which is on the piazza. Go down the road off the piazza where you see the green sign indicating a supermarket as the hotel is right alongside that. If you see a sign for Hotel Laura, then you are one street too far along - go down the street parallel to that. We didn't see any road signs, which didn't help.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The best thing the Hotel San Giusto has going for it is its relatively convenient location. It is just steps from Metro line A, which runs directly to Termini station, the Colosseo and Circus Maximus. There is also a full-service supermarket (with a fantastic bakery and deli) just outside the hotel entrance, which was great for picking up snacks and bottled water.

Now the bad stuff. The room was TINY and very difficult to move around in, and while it had an ensuite bathroom with shower, it took over 5 minutes for the shower water to warm up. The room did have a private air-conditioner, which worked well. The cable tv is all Italian tv stations, with the exception of CNN in English. There was a good-sized fridge in the room, with plenty of room for non-mini-bar items. The room was not very clean -- it had a musty smell and every day, the maid left the windows open to air out the room.

We had problems at the very beginning with the Hotel San Giusto, which were sort-of fixed, but it was very frustrating. When I booked the room, I made sure to reserve a double-bed room. And my reservation stated on its face that it was a double bed room reservation. When I called to confirm, the hotel clerk said that it was a single twin bed room! After much arguing with the clerk, I thought it was resolved. Until I got there, and they told me that it was a 2 twin bed room, not the double bed room I had booked. Also, despite the fact that reservation states that check-in is at 1:00pm, they will not let you check-in until 2:30pm, which was a huge hassle. Every day there were guests in the lobby waiting to be able to check-in. The breakfast provided is plentiful, but average. They have bread, cold-cuts, cheese, sweet rolls, juice and coffee (often cold). Tables were often not re-set after earlier diners had eaten breakfast.

While the location was convenient, I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

As frequent visitors to Rome, my wife and I have just returned from another trip having stayed at the San Giusto for the 3rd time. Our last stay was over 5 years ago and I must admit that having read some of the bad reviews on this site, I was concerned that the hotel had changed during that period. I need not have worried.

We were also accompanied by our friends and when we arrived we were given two very comfortable rooms on the 4th floor. The rooms were clean and were cleaned daily. They had Air-Conditioning units and we kept our room at a very comfortable 21C throughout our 7-day stay whilst the Roman temperature soared to 32C by the end of the week. The double glazed French windows and the outside shutters kept the noise levels from the street to a minimum and therefore sleeping was not a problem.

Some of the staff at the hotel can be a little curt and this may come across as being rude to some guests, however I personally think that this may just be a "city phenomena" which I have also experienced in Paris and in my own hometown, London. Having said that, there is a charming gentleman receptionist called Fabio who is was extremely helpful and very friendly to us.

The San Giusto also provides a wonderful breakfast each day (from 7am to 10 am) in a clean and airy breakfast room. The lovely Signora who lays out the breakfast and makes tea and coffee for the guests, constantly replenishes any items that may have run out (even towards the end of service) She is another member of the team who is always polite and helpful to her guests. The breakfast buffet consists of cold meats; cheese; bread; yoghurt; eggs; cereal; fruit juice; fruit cocktail and the most wonderful cakes (cornetti).

My only complaint about the hotel is that there is no lift until you reach the 1st floor. We were offered the services of a bell boy but we managed to carry our cases to the 1st floor as the stairs are not steep. The corridors were always very hot on our floor but there were windows that could be open if needed.

When I return to Rome again I will have no hesitation in booking a stay at the San Giusto again.

Piazza Bologna is a heavily populated area, as is Rome in general but it is a nicer than the area around Termini where there are many other hotels. P. Bologna has quite a few restaurants, pizzerias and cafes nearby, so there are never a shortage of places to eat. The metro is very handy for getting into the centre and there are many bus routes which pass through the area. (However both the metro and buses get very busy so personal security must be a priority at all times)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

I stayed here for several nights while on a tour of Italy. It is well situated in Rome, right near the subway station. There is great food just a short walk away, in almost every direction you go. The room was frequently cleaned, and well maintained. One warning, the elevator is only accessible from the second floor and up, which means that you have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs before you can reach it! That could be difficult for some people...

There is a nice terrace on the 4th or 5th floor that has some outdoor seating, and there is also some space on the roof of the building (accessible via elevator).

Overall, a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

It certainly is good value for the money - room are ceaned daily, as it should be, the breakfast is nice and the lady serving it is really friendly. We read the reviewes before going and I am gratefu to the person who had written to try to be far from the elevator - he hadn't explained why, so we just took it - and thank God! :) because we found out that this strange elevator anounces in very high volume every time it reaches the first floor. :)
But otherwise the hotel is nice, clean, and the staff is friendly. We liked it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Giusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giusto

Address: Piazza Bologna 58, 00162 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #877 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Giusto 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with modern amenities is located in a quiet, elegant part of the city; underground train nearby; close to historic sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Giusto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giusto Hotel
San Giusto Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giusto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.