We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need Renovation very good personnel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Medici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Flavia 96, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€60 (EUR)
Ranked #433 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Need Renovation very good personnel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Need renovation , good location , very good personnel tried to help all the customers but some times thats not enough. To tell you the truth we were dissatisfied by the room that we had 115 first Floor . They provided us another room after complaining but the other room was worst 222 and we didn't change . The last day they offered us one bottle of wine just because they knew the problem.
Please inform the Manager that he must help the housekeeping to do their job better .
Thank you

Room Tip: Need some renovation . Good location the personnel very friendly .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    192
    56
    21
    4
See reviews for
86
106
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anthem, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was difficult to get the room temp at a comfortable level. It was very cold and rainy during most of our days in Rome and we longed to return to a cozy room. The bathroom was a bit small as was the room, but overall it was one of the better hotels we resided in during our 10 day trip. The staff was very helpful and we found the overall experience very agreeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profroma, Front Office Manager at Hotel Medici, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Customer,
our staff would be delighted to help and offer you an easy and confortable staying. Our staff is used to solve all problems as soon as it is awared and if they only knew your request in advance they could help you out soon. We inform you that in Italy the Rome Council allows to switch on the central heating through a special permission, in the morning and in the evening, but our property, in order to offer to all clients a confortable environment, has located in all rooms a private conditioning system to allow at any time to warm up the temperature in each room. Besides all our central heating has its own electric control on the radiator with 5 level of temperature. Regarding our rooms we wish to draw your attention to the fact that our Hotel is an early 20th-century building and rooms have been all shaped in a very historical palace of the center of Rome. We are happy to hear that you find all our staff pleasent and you had a good
memory of us.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I found the rooms to be little tired and the bathrooms very, very small when i stayed here in Dec 2011. Staff over all was very helpful and professional. The location was excellent and many great cafes nearby. Easy walk to Forum and Coliseum from here.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If a good hotel represents Lorenzo the Magnificent, this hotel represents the inbred, very end of the Medici line. We stayed here twice while in Rome. The room was right on the street, above the large garbage containers that are picked up very early in the morning. The room was sparse and a little down on its luck, with the shower having little pressure and alternating cold and hot water. Staff seemed overworked and generally tasked. Not many smiles going on. We had already prebooked and paid for our second stay, so we couldn't change our plans, but we did request a room away from the garbage pick up site for our later visit. Upon our return, there was no record of that and we ended up in Room 207 (A half can of soda and a used towel awaited us on the bed - overworked staff?) so avoid that hallway location if you are interested in some sleep. Same situation with the showers as well. Otherwise, it's a good location with many small restaurants nearby and a number of places to buy good fruits and vegetables, bread, meats/cheese and gelato. However, for this type of reasonably priced hotel, there are many more out there that are worth the money. This one isn't.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
profroma, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Medici, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
I am obliged to say that what you declare in your review is defamatory and not respectful of the hundreds of TripAdvisor users who have posted their reviews. All the reviews posted on TripAdvisor about the hotel Medici are true. I would kindly invite all the TripAdvisor users to check also the reviews posted on the main web portals ( such as booking.com or venere.it), in which they could easily find the same standard of reviews and rating about our hotel. As you surely know, only Guests who really stayed in the hotel can post reviews on these portals.
As an example you wrote about room 207. I understand that you were a couple, and room 207 is a single room with only one bed!
Further than this, I am confident that TripAdvisor could easily avoid this kind of frauds and tricks.
We had the pleasure of welcoming many people on the last months, and no one of them has complained, on the opposite, they said they were very satisfied and pleased.
At the hotel Medici we work with passion and we are grateful to all the TripAdvisor users for their reviews. Even some criticism are useful, as they push us to continuously improve our facilities and services. Your review seems only looking to destroy our reputation, but I am confident that all the TripAdvisor users could estimate it in the proper way, giving us the pleasure of welcoming them in the best way.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I spent 6 days, five in total, at Hotel Medici in Rome. The location, near Termini and close by the National Museo was perfect. The Hotel and particularly staff were fabulous. I needed some assistance to complete and fax important paperwork to my lawyer. The front desk went out of its way to send this off and make sure everything was right. That little "extra" moves the hotel and staff into a special thank you category. I wouldn't hesitate but recommend Hotel Medici for the solo traveller.

Room Tip: Smaller less expensive "solo" rooms for single travellers are available, but the price was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Service was outstanding, room very nice, location is close to the station and metro station. Breakfast was indeed limited, coffee not very good. Nice is the outside area where you can truly unwind after a long day with a drink from the bar. In and around Via Flavia are some very nice restaurants. I can certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at The Medici Hotel for 4 nights in September '12. The room was adequate with the high ceiling providing a feeling of spaciousness. Bathroom was small but quite new and functional. The location was great, nice neighbourhood and lots of dining options nearby. The breakfast selection great, more food and choices than a reasonable person could possibly eat so not sure what some other travellers expect. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medici

Address: Via Flavia 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medici 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Medici is located within the Aurelian Walls, in a building that belonged to the Medici family and built in an historic area which was already important at the time of the Roman historian Sallust, who ordered the erection of a series of buildings with the largest and richest Roman garden (Horti Sallustiani), which can be still seen behind the hotel. Wandering between the past and the present, you can easily reach the Quirinal and visit its Stables, that holds important events and exhibitions of major artists, or have a cup of coffee in the fashionable Via Veneto, immortalized in Federico Fellini's La Dolce Vita (The Sweet Life), or take a break at Villa Borghese and enjoy the greenery and a striking view of Rome from the Terrace of the Pincio. Right from the start you can have a taste of History: at the beginning of the XX century, when the building was being renovated, a Greek statue of the fifth century (Download the Italian PDF) was found, and it is now located in the National Roman Museum and some Roman artifact are still visible within the structure. Housed in a historic building, completely renovated, Hotel Medici offers high quality services in a warm and comfortable environment. The owners have decades of experience in the tourism sector and their experience allows us to offer appropriate solutions for all your needs. Located in the centre of Rome, and it is well-served by transport links providing access to the main points of interest of the city and the Termini Station, which can also be reached on foot. The facility is located in an area with plenty of bars, restaurants, pizzerias and shops bustling during the daytime but very calm and peaceful at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medici Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.