We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Varese 26, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #889 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at the Europa hotel was funny. We got to the hotel I'm Wednesday. We book the room on booking.com and as always happens the hotel allocates the worst rooms to customers coming from this website....anyway. At the hotel they gave us a tini tiny room with a bed for 1-1/2 person and the room must have had 4 sq metres size.

Ok, we expected that and I went to talk to the hotel manager, who realising we understood the booking.com game , changed immediately our room and gave us a bigger one.

Let's talk about the positive now, the hotel is literally 5 mins walk from termini train station. Very convenient if you coming from the airport. The area despite being close to a train station is really nice and you really feel in Rome. The bar and restaurant manager is very nice, as soon as we got to the hotel he offered coffee and pastries.

Our stay was amazing, if I can give you a piece of advice. Check for hotels on booking.com but book directly at the hotel because they will not have to pay the booking.com fee and you get better price. I am not against these guys but this is not the first time I get a bad room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    46
    57
    40
    42
See reviews for
35
79
9
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ridiculously small room, even by European standards. over crowded with unnecessary furniture. very little light, and only one can be on at a time. shower not sealed so flooded constantly.

No Wifi in rooms, which is ridiculously for an advertised 4 star hotel.

If they lowered their star rating (to a 1) and their prices, it would be a fine place to stay. Better off elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

When I booked online it said I was staying at the Gariffe Luxury Hotel. When my receipt printed it had the name Gariffe Euro and a different address. The room was horrible! There was no toothpaste. There were people screaming. For 127 euros I expected the hotel from the pictures not their secondary hotel that was a dump. Outside the window there were prostitutes, pimps, and bums. Absolutely the worst hotel I have ever stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Moscow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I’ve bought this hotel by Expedia Unpublished Rate hotels program. When I compare rate with other sites it’s appeared that hotel was 10% higher that on other booking sites. Expedia has returned difference with extra coupon.
It is easy to get to the hotel from Termini station. Take left exit (if look at trains) from main station gallery, go straight, 3rd cross on the right.
My room (Economy) was located on the ground floor. Window was opened at a yard. The yard is clean, green. Birds are trilling before dawn.
Room is small, bed seems good for 1 but not for 2 (130 sm width). Wardrobe, desk, flat TV. Lock box is for EUR 3 a day.
Bathroom is small and well equipped with shower, hair dryer. Daily changing of towels. Linen was changed after 2nd night. Linen and towels are in good condition.
No smell, no bugs.
Breakfast was not included into room price. Extra EUR 10 per each. Brewed coffee, cappuccino are included (by request).
WiFi is for free, staff is not freindly with router (have provided with wrong passwords, can't restart this).
Tips:
Earplugs will help you to sleep (noise from birds and late guests)
There are different shuttle buses connection between airports and Termini Station. Prices are from Eur 4.
There are 2 supermarkets at Termini station. Spar is on the same side as the hotel, another one is at underground level.

Room Tip: Economy room + 2*breakfast will cost as normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel Europa has an amazing breakfast spread with the best cappuccino in all of Rome. The manager of the restaurant is Fabbio - ask him to make you one of his fabulous cappuccinos it will make your day!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived reasonably late and needed a place close to Rome Termini for a train to Venice the next morning, so Hotel Europa was a perfect fit. The room and amenities were very basic, but most around Termini seemed to be and the price was very competitive. If you need somewhere clean to crash with friendly staff hen this basic hotel will do the job.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was booked at Hotel Europa at the last minute when the originally booked hotel went bust. We were traveling through Europe by train so proximity to Terminini station was great and Reception staff were welcoming. I was traveling with my 18 yo daughter & when we found the bedroom to have only a double bed they happily moved is to a room with 2 single beds for subsequent nights. The rooms certainly are quite small but clean. The biggest issue we had here was a bit of an underlying smell which we could never put our finger on and the lift was often not working. This was our first hotel on mainland Europe and we found the breakfast quite adequate in comparison to other similar accommodation around Italy. I wasn't aware that it was considered 4 star and had only picked on location/price. Sure the 4 star rating is rubbish but it was OK value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with single beds and you'll have some more space and not past the 2nd floor given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Via Varese 26, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#301 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offers modern comforts; located on a quiet street near Termini Station; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.