We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the city center ... no need to be afraid.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Hermitage

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Hermitage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy (Parioli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,003 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Much better than the city center ... no need to be afraid.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I confess I was curious about this hotel after reading so many negative reviews here and decided to check it out by myself in the the first week of the year, normally dedicated to my master team fencing training at the nearby Club Scherma Roma. The hotel is in "Quartiere Parioli", a nice residential area in the North of the city. There's a bus stop a few meters away and a easy 15 min ride takes you directly to Termini (central) Station from where you can walk, take the metro everywhere or the train to the airport. Rooms are nice, breakfast above average, wi-fi works all around for free, there's a mini refrigerator available ... so, I found it quite all right and I would never find anything similar in the chaotic city center without paying a fortune. Okay, there are some negative aspects: no free parking in the area in case you need it, one or another member of the staff appeared not to be in a good mood and - most important for me - the walls really should be sound-proof because you can easily listen to every single word or sound your neighbors make ... I mean every ! In the end it's worth the price. For more take a look at the pictures, they have a lot to say.

Room Tip: I will have to walk to find a restaurant at night so bring some snacks to the hotel or pass by the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    51
    60
    71
    112
See reviews for
35
82
22
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The willing of helping their customers is not very great. Sometimes it even feels like they try to work against you. We were also asked to pay in advanced . Splitting up the bill in two were to much work for them, so we had to come back later the same day to pay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Rome
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

-no hot water 4 days out of 5
-in one of the two rooms I booked the air conditioning did not work so it was freezing
-the hotel isn't placed in the centre of Rome as it is mentioned on easytobook, it is placed at 6-7 km from the nearest attraction point
-the rooms weren't clean enough
-the dinning room was freezing
-all in all it really isn't a four star hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Transylvania,Romania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It's definately not your 4 star custom hotel,BUT it was a pleasant stay.We've spent 7 nights,had a wonderful room at the 6th floor with a HUGE terrace,air conditioning perfect,room and bathroom well furnished,wonderful view over Rome,best thing was the location in a residential area of Rome,distant from downtown but well connected via bus and city train.Has a sport facility and swimming pool in front.Breakfast was ok,staff were ok.

Room Tip: Definately 6th floor,the 2 rooms at right as you exit elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was unlucky to stay here for a week, dont know what i was thinking. Was an absolute disaster. Got to the hotel early and was told the room was not ready ended up sitting on the side for an hour. The staff are rude, and unhelpful. The breakfast is not worth it, basically a cold buffet from the day before.
After a whole day out of the hotel, i come back to find my room door open, staff were not helpful when this occurred and very rude, luckily nothing was missing. Ended up keeping all personal belongings with me, as the cleaners did not lock the doors at all.
It looks ok when you walk in but thats it the rooms are old, cleaners do not know what they are doing and staff are unacceptable. This is not a four star hotel more of a 1* barely even that.

DO NOT STAY HERE, ITS NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltash
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had the misfortune to be transferred here after our original hotel was damaged byba water leak.The welcome was non -existant ,no information about breakfast,hotel facilities just stern glum faces. The room was shabby,old fashioned and worn out,torn wallpaper,chipped paint,lamps with broken light bulbs.Standard of cleanliness was iffy.Hotel perched on asteep hill, no immediate dining facilities and miles from the centre of Rome...AVOID.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 nights. Arrival was around the midnight and we were so surprised how welcome can be. The night receptionist was the best person from whole staff, most helpful and friendly. The other ones were usually proffesional, but no extra value for us.
We had a room at the 5th floor, with the balcony (unfortunately there was not as nice weather - rainy - so we can´t spent much time in), standart bathroom (need extra clean service, in some areas was mold on). The most negative was the sleeping here. We choose at HRS one double bed but we receive two beds put together with some kind of elastic sheet. Cause we arrive too late we did not complain and fall asleep, but in the morning there was huge gap in between and my boyfriend slept in :(
The breakfast is buffet style with wide choice, also fresh fruit, sweet desserts etc.
Transport to this hotel is also very easy - from Termini train station by bus around 20 minutes. It´s not as central, but available transport till late night.
There was just one disappointment - you book hotel room, but city tax is not included (as usual in other european cities). I work in 4* hotel in Prague, so we will be never as unfair against our guest, city tax is paid by hotel, it is already included in you booking price. So here in Rome (and other italian cities) you will pay extra 4 EUR / 1 person / 1 day in 4* hotel...
All in all, wether we will come back to Rome we will think of staying at this hotel. Nothing extra in comparison with other 4* hotels we visit before, but good value, place and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Room with balcony could be nice in relaxing evening time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage

Address: Via Eugenio Vajna 12-18, 00197 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-rise hotel offering modern accommodations; situated in the quiet Parioli Quarter of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Hermitage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.