We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality/price ratio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Petris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Petris to your Saves list
Hotel De Petris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #364 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality/price ratio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has two blocks, the first one is on the main building and the other one across the street. The hotel is fully equipped and has a fast free wifi internet. There is also a nice terrace on the roof unfortunately the opening hours were 5-9 pm. Everything is great including the service and cleaniness, but what we liked most was the quality/price ration as most of the hotels in Rome are overpriced and lack quality/service. After some improvements this hotel could easily earn the fourth star.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet. If you want more privacy ask for the room across the street. The breakfast is serve...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice comment!!

We are glad you enjoyed our Hotel the roof and our services.
We really hope you will come back visiting us!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    408
    153
    48
    38
See reviews for
231
412
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Co Armagh, N Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful staff and location. It's a simple hotel but with charm and wonderful views from the roof terrace. They have Happy Hour in the evening and a very good breakfast. I would recommend anytime. They also have a good value limo service to and from airports

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much!

We are happy you enjoyed your staying and we really really hope you to come back as soon as possible to enjoy of our Roof!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, walking distance to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and the Barberini Metro Station. It is a very congested area however, and I think next time we would stay closer to the Pantheon, which would be more central to all the sights plus Trastevere, the old part of Rome, which we love.

We have been to Italy 4 times, and to Rome 4 times. This was our last of 3 stops on this trip. We felt we were in an average hotel. Nothing really wrong, but nothing to rave about. They changed the way the elevator functioned while we were there, and never posted a sign, or warned us. We got stuck in the elevator briefly. We found the young ladies at the front desk very helpful, the young man, not so much. They all spoke English fluently. The first room we were given (and we had booked in May for a September trip), had such a small, tight shower as to be virtually useless. The second room had a tub and shower, and gave us more room, but the water pressure was terrible. Yes, I do appreciate that these are old buildings, but we stayed in an old, smaller hotel in Positano, and did not have these problems.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are sorry concerning your bad comment as we did all the best in order to ensure you a pleasant stay.

Concerning the "congested area" even if we are in the very heart of Rome we are in a small street not very congestionated really. Concerning the elevator.....we do not understand your comment as the way it works has not changed in the last years and, for sure, it did not during your staying.

We are sorry you did not like the room nor the Hotel and we really hope that you will choose us again in order to change mind and have the same opinion about us as the one most of our clients have.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We chose this hotel over six larger properties that were less expensive because it is a small, intimate hotel that is within walking distance of many of Rome's top attractions, and it is about a block away from the Barberini metro station. Our room was small, but very comfortable and efficient.

We planned to walk most places and metro to the rest. We found that it was quite easy to walk everywhere, even to the Vatican, and we didn't take the metro once. The Trevi Fountain is about 4 minutes, Spanish Steps 7 minutes, Pantheon 12, Colosseum 20, and Vatican 35 minutes.

Breakfast is minimal, but always had good coffee, juice, breads, cheeses, cold cuts, and at least one egg dish. The roof top dining area was wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly and we will definitely make this our headquarters for our next visit to Rome.

Directly across the street is Hosteria Romana, a great dining choice. Go downhill on Via Rasella about a block to Via Del Traforo to the Despar grocery store where you can get sandwiches, fruit, drinks, and snacks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for putting your kind impression!!

We are glad you appreciated our Hotel and our work to make the atmosphere so unique!
We really hope you to come back soon!!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed with my wife at HOTEL DE PETRIS on Via Rasella in Rome for six nights in December 2013 and I can say that it was a wonderful experience. The hotel has a very convenient location: from the Fiumicino airport it’s a 50 min. ride by Terravision bus to Termini station from where we took the subway to Barberini station (which is 5 min. walk from the hotel); from the hotel just 10 min. walk to Fontana di Trevi (visit the Gelateria “ilCantagalli” and enjoy the fountain view and a good gelato) and 15 min walk to Piazza di Spagna (Spanish steps); 20 min. walk to Santa Maria Maggiore.
The room of the hotel was very clean (cleaning service every day) and it had everything we needed: mini bar, temperature control panel and a very big and comfortable bed. As a minus the room was not furnished in a modern style and did not have a balcony.
The hotel was situated 5 min. walk to a good supermarket. Very good restaurants right near the hotel. The one we preferred was Hostaria Romana in front of the hotel. Make sure you make a reservation in advance :-).
Many thanks to the stuff at the reception desk for whom nothing was too much to make us feel comfortable and welcome. They were extremely patient to provide us the good directions and maps. I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and it will be my first choice for any future trip to Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms with street view are sometimes noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your detailed review!!

We are so glad you enjoyed your staying and you appreciated all the features of our Hotel.

We look forward to your next staying and we wish you all the best!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice warm rooms very very good reseption! And can answer to any question! Very friendly and multilingua personel!!! Low cost to stay in center! Fontana di trevi is only few minutes by walk 3 minutes and very close to barberini station metro

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comment!!

We are glad you enjoyed your staying and our staff!!

We really hope you to come back soon!!
Best Regards and Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

It was nice Hotel BUT BE CAREFUL WHERE THEY WILL PUT YOU. If you live in the main building, the photos on net are real and the hotel is good. But be careful not to put you in the opposite building, it sucks. Absolutely different level. If they do so, ask to move you to the main building (like I did). Generally good hotel, normal food. Clean, kind and good service. Generally good, just be careful in which building you will stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteldepetrismanager, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel De Petris, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad at the end you were satisfied about your staying!! We are sorry you did not like the rooms in the building in front ( as most of them are those showed on our website) but in anya case we can understand everyone has its own taste.

We hope, in any case you will come back visiting us as we will be more than glad to accomplish all your requests!

Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Petris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Petris

Address: Via Rasella 142, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#124 Business Hotel in Rome
#202 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Petris 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Petris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Petris Hotel
De Petris Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Petris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.