We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Memphis to your Saves list
Hotel Memphis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Small hotel between Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, very near Barbarini Metro. Lots of good restaurants within 5 mins walk. Our 3 bed room was very modern and spacious. We've stayed in city centre hotels with much smaller rooms. Beds a bit hard but that's the only minor quibble. Very friendly staff and a great buffet breakfast. Would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    119
    40
    20
    9
See reviews for
63
132
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We spent three nights as a family (in two rooms) at this hotel. It is located in a quiet cobbled street (which made it a little difficult to find when we first arrived) and is close to the Trevi fountain as well as shops and bars. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very quiet given the central location. Breakfast was quite basic but plentiful. Fresh fruit was available in the bedrooms which was a nice touch. Staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel is in a great location, about 300 meters from the Trevi Fountain and about 400 meters from the spanish steps. The hotel is small as are the rooms and bathrooms, the beds are quite hard and pillows are not great, however there is no street noise so quite for sleeping. Breakfast which is included is great, and so is the coffee. There is a great local restaurants right next door ( to left and right ) and a small local bar about 25 mtrs away which is very local and not expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just stayed at the Hotel Memphis for two nights and had a pleasant stay. The room was ready before our noon check in, clean and had three twin beds. The breakfast was a good buffet that included fruit, juice, cereal, cheese, yogurt, eggs, pastries, etc. Make sure you leave the female breakfast server a few euros as I noticed she became surly when not properly tipped. The only negatives were that it was difficult to connect to the internet and the location was a bit tricky to find at first. When I asked the front desk for the internet password, it did not work the first or second time. Each day I had to go back downstairs and remain in the hallway until I could find a password that worked. The internet connection was good once finally done. The hotel has a nice interior entrance but is located off a side street and can be difficult to find. On our first evening we could not find it and went to a nearby hotel where the kind reception clerk actually walked us over. Overall a good stay as the price was reasonable, room clean and included breakfast. If you do choose to stay, just give yourself enough time to access the internet as it will take a while and pay attention to the hotel's location before leaving for the day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed just for one night there. What can I say:good 3* hotel in the perfect location (just few minutes from metro station Barberini and 10 min walking from Spanish Steps). My single room was very tiny but you have spacious bathroom as a bonus. If you are claustrophobic it might be the problem. I was ok with that. I just slept there and did not spend much time inside anyway. Breakfast was just ok, nothing special ,enough to get you going. Front desk people are nice, spoke good English, friendly. Overall I have no complains.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
469 helpful votes 469 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just got back from Rome and our lovely stay at Memphis Hotel. Not a bad word or comment can be said about this place.
I spent several weeks on the net looking for a place to stay, and the more I searched the more I became convinced that Memphis Hotel answered all my criterions. To begin with, the location is supreme, you walk straight down the road and you`re about 350m from Trevi Fountain. You turn right and go in straight line about 1k and you reach the Spanish Steps. And further ahead you get to the Pantheon. Honestly it doesn`t get better than this. The hotel is secluded in a side street, yet close enough to the main road, but you get enough privacy and much less noise than if you were right up front.
The hotel itself is pretty small as the case in Rome with ancient buildings dating back to the 5th or 6th century. Memphis hotel is no exception, yet it has been renovated and turned into a boutique hotel with all modern amenities. Fresh and bright colors dazzle your eyes as soon as you enter. Elevator to all four floors, and small but comfortable and very, very clean rooms and bathrooms. No extravagant freebies like sleepers or morning fluffy robes, but really who cares? In Rome, all you need is a good comfy room, good bathroom, and hearty breakfast to set you up for your day of getting lost on the streets of wonderful Rome, and the hotel provides all the right ingredients for that.
I have exchanged email with the hotel before arriving inquiring about tours to the Vatican and the Colesseum. Eleonora Sambuchi at the front desk answered me and gave me some advise and even suggested a limo pick up service at the airport, which we took advantage of back and forth. And the sightseeing tours were bought at the hotel upon our arrival.
All the personnel at the hotel were wonderful, Eleonora is a great asset to the hotel, in her gentle face I saw the mystery and wonder of Rome. Steffano whom we talked a lot to, he told me some stories about his experience when visiting the Fjords and The Pulpit Rock in Western Norway. (Sorry Steffano for not seeing you when we left, come back to Norway and see the Midnight sun). Tiziana whom we first met when we arrived and the last person we saw at the hotel. She was very helpful, funny at times. she embodies Italy in her sense of humour, and her hospitality. Thanks heaps to Pina whom we saw every morning and who greeted us with enthusiasm and energy, and who made a fantastic job in preparing breakfast for us, even with all the stress of morning rush, she would still smile and compose herself. Our deepest gratitude to all the above mentioned Memphis Hotel staff. If ever in Rome again, I`d never hesitate to stay anywhere else, because you`re certain to be smacked right down in the middle of all the action.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just back from a recent visit to Rome and stayed at this lovely hotel. The location is perfect (5 mins walk to the Trevi Fountain and about 10 mins walk to the Spanish Steps). Next to the hotel are some lovely restaurants which serve good quality Italian food. The front of house staff are very helpful and interact well with people staying at the hotel. I would most definitely recommend this hotel for someone wishing to sight see in Rome!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#205 Family Hotel in Rome
#229 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.