We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and excellent quality and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Memphis to your Saves list
Hotel Memphis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Jerusalem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and excellent quality and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very friendly hotel with helpful staff - especially Tiziana on reception - who know all the ways to get to the important tourists attractions. The location is great and convenient for bus and metro (just 1 minute to the buses and 5 minutes to the Metro at Barberini) and also only 5 minutes to Trevi fountain. The room we had on the 3rd. floor was comfortable with lots of drawers for clothes and a wardrobe for hanging coats etc. and also a safe. The hotel is very clean - bed linen changed every day and the bathroom is modern. Breakfast was adequate with choice of bread, cheeses, meats, croissants, fruit yoghurt, cereal and fresh fruit, and the staff in the breakfast room were very polite. Wifi access was tedious (lots of letters and numbers) and as we had 2 iphones and an ipad we needed 3 different access codes.
I will definitely recommend this hotel as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    119
    40
    20
    9
See reviews for
63
131
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

A good clean hotel with towels and bedding changed daily. Friendly and helpful staff. We stayed on the 4th floor and it was fine. Breakfast was good especially as a continental. Wifi connection is annoying but I did not use it a great deal. Great location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your review online.
we are so happy that you had a nice stay with us and that you have appreciated our hotel and services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rome and to Hotel Memphis.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
River Forest, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel is hard to find, but conveniently located. Five minute walk to the Trevi Fountain and Barberini Metro (for Forum, Colosseum, Spanish Steps and Vatican), 10 minutes to the Pantheon, 15 minutes to Piazza Navona, 20 minutes to Campo de Fiori.

Room was small by American standards, but very comfortable and air conditioned with an adjustable thermostat. The elevator made baggage transport easy.

Prior to our trip, we were told that most hotels in Europe offer a simple breakfast of rolls and coffee. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast buffet at Hotel Memphis that included scrambled eggs, ham, prosciutto, cheese, an assortment of bread, rolls and pastries, juices, coffee, cappucino, cereal, etc., etc., etc.

Across the street, and on the way to the Trevi Fountain, there were numerous restaurants to choose from.

We wholeheartedly recommend the hotel, and will stay there again, if we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
We really work hard to achieve the goal to make every guest's stay in Rome unforgettable, thank you also for your nice comments about our Breakfast service and our location.
We are definitely looking forward to welcome you to the Hotel Memphis in the future.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a return visit to this hotel, staying for 3 nights. We had previously stayed here in June 2012. The hotel is so convenient to everything. Walking distance to Trevi, Spanish Steps, Colosseum, Piazza Navona and Vatican City. The breakfast was included in our stay and although not different each day, certainly of a good standard for Italy. Rooms are small, but we were not here to stay in our rooms so that did not matter. Very clean small boutique hotel and well worth a look at. Only frustration is slow wifi and having the enter your password in everytime I wanted to use my ipad to email family/friends at home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your second stay at our hotel and for sharing your review online.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and we consider really important your suggestions about the Wi-Fi connection because we are working to improve this service.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Hotel Memphis.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

The good:
- nice clean rooms
- ok beds (hard but that is as everywhere in south europe)
- close to everything
- OK breakfast, good espresso
- good service

To improve:
- wifi access, both coverage as well as authentication method (not funny entering user/password every time you want to access the network)
- to much street noise but ok with earplugs when sleeping - or get room not facing the street :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Tobias G,

thank you for your review.
We are glad that you have recommended our hotel online, and we appreciated your suggestions to improve our services.
We will work hard to make your next stay "perfect".
Thank you once again for your time, we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!!

Best regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at the Memphis for 3 nights over the August Bank holiday w/e and enjoyed the hotel and it's environs.
Pretty good location and close to the Metro and Spanish Steps plus Trevi Fountain all within a 5 minutes walk.
Hotel very clean and rooms OK but a bit cramped, we stayed in room 303 which overlooked the street which was a bit noisy but if you stay in the city centre you have to expect the accompanying noise. Small fridge and good bathroom with shower but no bath.
Breakfast was good and with plenty of fruit and continental style meat, cheese and eggs.
No hotel bar but a couple of bars close by.
Staff friendly and wifi worked well for us both.
Overall a nice hotel and we would recommend it for others.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Sirs,

thank you so much for your review.
We are glad that you liked the hotel and our service, thank you also for your kind consideration and generosity by mentioning the staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Memphis.

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the most fabulous little hotel within walking distance of all the tourist spots in Rome that you possibly wish for. The entire staff are extremely helpful and courteous, the decor is modern and spotlessly clean. My partner and I let our travel agent in Australia book all our hotels for our 7 week trip and on our arrival were pleasantly surprised with every aspect of wonderful hotel. I honestly feel that 5 stars is under rating them and look forward to telling as many people as possible about this gem of a hotel. THANKYOU to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.
Noel & Joyce

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remarhotels, Direttore vendite at Hotel Memphis, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Noel B,

what a wonderful review!!!
Thank you very much for your nice words, they make us really happy, we are glad that you appreciated the hotel so much and we really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kindest regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#204 Family Hotel in Rome
#229 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.