We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, and at a good location (walking)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Memphis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Memphis to your Saves list
Hotel Memphis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy (Trevi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #241 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, and at a good location (walking)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this hotel, to celebrate my birthday in Rome.
We found the hotel very pleasant, clean and friendly. It is also nicely situated to give you a lot of the city's attraction within walking distance (but bear in mind we like to walk a lot, and 20-30 minutes is NOT a long distance for us); Fontana di Travis is within 5 minutes, and so is the bus station of most 'hop-on/hop-off' lines ("city tour").
The rooms were nice and comfortable. Our room had also a little balcony which made it even nicer. The bathroom was modern, very nicely arranged, and was very clean.
The staff was friendly, even if not everyone speaks fluent English.
Breakfast was included; it was a little less than what I expect at breakfast, but you can still have a reasonable one (above a continental breakfast)..
I am not sure what we paid for the hotel, as it was part of a deal with the flights, but it seems a little high for 4-star hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    119
    40
    20
    9
See reviews for
63
131
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for one night before going on a cruise.

We arrived early so was expecting to have to leave our cases with reception so we could go out exploring!! As our room was ready they let us check in at 10:40 which was fantastic.

The staff were very friendly and helped us to see as much as possible in 36 hours. The hotel was very clean and modern! It was in a perfect location, not far from any of the main points of interest. This hotel is very good value for money with bed and breakfast, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Hotel Memphis offers an excellently run hotel considering it size. All the staff are friendly and always willing to help if you're in need of any assistance. The rooms are of a high quality especially the bathroom. They might be on the small side but with all the sight seeing to do in Rome you won't be in it all day. The rooms having sky in them was a very nice touch, a great way to finish a day off. Breakfast was of a continental style, no complaints there, the food was excellent and the staff were great too. Overall a great hotel and me and my wife would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

It was very nice hotel and the stuff were very helpful, we loved them they were nice and very polite. I was not sure for the air condition since it was not in the web site but when we get there it was on and the room was very nice in the July summer nights, you need good sleep if you want to walk all day. it was very close to every thing we walked every where since it takes 10 to 20 minutes to go to the Vatican city or to the Colosseum. i wished that the breakfast will be more Italian BUT hey you have all the cafes all around you. In all i will recommend it to any couple want to visit Rome and want to be in the middle of every thing and have a very good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYPRUS
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

HOTEL MEMPHIS is very good hotelI in terms of value for money and it's of it's central location.
The breakfast room is very small and crowded most of the times.If you are travelling solo
and booked a single room i have to say the rooms are very small and dark(The windows don't open)

Room Tip: very small single rooms with very small bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Strategically placed for all the centre attractions particularly the Trevi Fountains. Smiling and helpful welcome.
Room was small and the third bed was a made up sofa bed, but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Well equipped and tidy, the view wasn't great but what would you expect from a hotel in the centre of a historic area of a capital city. Windows with shutters ensured a good nights sleep even though our room overlooked the street.
Breakfast was uninspiring but more than enough to set you up for a days exploring. We had a late flight home and the hotel was more than happy to secure our luggage for the day following our stay.
Altogether a pleasurable stay with friendly helpful staff in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

I chose this hotel for one night in Rome based on received feedback and can recommend it as long as you are not looking for luxury or services that a big hotel may offer. Positive: Location and clean rooms; negative: thin walls and small room (it turned out that we had the smallest double room of the floor). The staff was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Memphis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Memphis

Address: Via Degli Avignonesi 36/a, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#203 Family Hotel in Rome
#230 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Memphis 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Memphis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Memphis Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Memphis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.