We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location good price great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athena Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Athena Hotel to your Saves list
Athena Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ercole Pasquali, n. 3, 00161 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #856 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location good price great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went on October 2014 in Rome and I've stayed at Athena Hotel. The location was great because is 10 min by feet to Bologna metro station (which is direct line to Termini - 5 min distance and to Colosseum - 10 min or less I don't remeber). The staff is kind, when I needed o cup of tea in the night the receptionist was very helpful, the breakfast is ok. We end up in a small room for a double room, but it was warm and cosy. The bathroom is ok...you can make a shower they have hot water:) so no problem...No problem with the stealing from rooms. Oh and the staff helped us a lot with a map and the tourist objectives:D:D I recommend it

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    30
    17
    35
See reviews for
15
37
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pretty clean, poor breakfast and the toilet seat was broken.
Anyway, it was better than i expected, as the price was really good and location is OK, not too far from the metro station.
The staff was very friendly and provided good pieces of advice for our trip.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not very clean bathroom. It had problems with drain at the shower. Very good breakfast, but not good coffee. It is a bit far from the metro station - 15 minutes walk far from the Metro station Policlinico.

Room Tip: It is an university area - during the weekends the students go out ( in the street ) and talks very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel. We found it authentic, comfortable and in a good location. It is near the university and has many snack bars/coffee bars rather than larger restaurants surrounding it.

The most important things for me in a hotel whilst on a city break are: cleanliness, a comfortable bed and a good shower - this hotel scored top marks in these areas. In the room there was a full size fridge, but unfortunately no tea/coffee or kettle, but the staff in reception provided me with some boiled water and cup to make my tea.

The breakfast was a little disappointing but I am a bit fussy, so I couldn't complain, I had toast and coffee every morning which was just fine - it was only 3 nights. There was a choice of cold meats, cereal, packet croissants, biscuits, a tart, boiled eggs, breads, butter, jams, chocolate spreads etc...

There was a young girl in reception whose english was incredible and she was so helpful and pleasant.

The metro station Bologna is about a 5-7 min walk and Termini just 2(?) stops away. All attractions are on this line with exception of the Colosseum. The metro is so simple.

Metro: 3day pass €16.50 each
Metro. 1 day pass €6 each.

Extra info:
We paid €35 each for a guided tour of Vatican, St. Peter's square, basilica and Sistine chapel. It was well worth it but lots of info to take in. It was also out of season so those were child rates (we're not children!)

Colosseum, we paid €12 to get in and the bought and IPod tour for €6. This was really good, you basically get an iPod with video and audio about the Colosseum. We went early and did not queue.

Fab restaurants around the square where the pantheon is. We paid €16 for 2 large peroni and €6 for a small bottle. It was worth it though :-)

All in all a fab trip with incredible buildings/sights and shopping. All very close together.

Enjoy :-)



Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Comfy beds. Standard italian breakfast. Most staff friendly except one younger man on reception. Definitely for busy people as minimalist not luxurious. Tv when work all italian. Towels changed daily. Bedding changed frequently and made daily. The Wi-Fi was intolerable never on and the rare occasion it was it didn't last long. You get what u pay for and the location was great just 5 minute walk to tube station very student friendly lots of places for take out not so much for sitting in. Would stay again if I was on a budget generally pleasant.

Room Tip: One at the side or back as student nightlife at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

We chose the hotel because of the price and position.
It was totaly ok for the price. It's nearby a bus station (other side of the street - line 310 towards Termini) and close to a subway station (Bologna). It is not a touristik area, so that you have the chance to get a nice meal at a conventional rate at nice restaurants mostly visited by roman people.
The room was very small, but enough for sleeping and resting.
The bed was made everyday also we got fresh towels day by day. I missed, that they cleaned the room or the shower once in a while.
The breakfast was pretty standard italian - so that was ok, too.
The people at the front desk were very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I better think that for some reason I was just not lucky enough to have the best experience possible staying here for a few nights. I would say the only plus for this hotel is the location as although it is in around 15 minutes walk to metro stop Policlinico its area felt really safe and away from all the hustle around the Termini. The same about the hotel as when you get your room key,you will actually get that plus the one for the doors on your floor,so no other person could really that easily get access inside the hotel. Otherwise although im really not such an expert on how the hotel qualifies for the number of stars,I would give like only 2 and here is why:TV in my room (I wa in a single room,#302,a really small one:small sized wardrobe in the corner right at the entrance,tv on the top of it,a really great bed (I mean it),shower+toilet right to the right from the entrance, sink around the corner,small mirror above that and a cute balcony) did not work and although I spent there 3 nights and already on the next day kindly informed reception staff about that and asked if someone could take a look on it,there was no sign of an actual check-up as it did not work till my departure. Anyhow,there was no telephone in my room and no fridge or minibar for that matter as well. Sure when I booked the hotel, information provided was that all those things should be in there. I did not really had a need for a minibar but a functioning TV and a telephone should be in a 3* hotel,at least thats what I think. And regarding breakfast,it was a little weird that tables were served with plastic plates. Sure it makes it that much more easier for cleaning it all up. And there was nothing like a bowl to eat the flakes from in breakfast though two options were provided to choose from. To sum it all up-this hotel is ok for just staying over but really nothing much more unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Athena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Hotel

Address: Via Ercole Pasquali, n. 3, 00161 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #856 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Athena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Athena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.