We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Died And Went to Heaven and Willie Greeted Me” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Isa Hotel to your Saves list
Isa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cicerone 39, 00193 Rome, Italy (Prati)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, Ga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I Died And Went to Heaven and Willie Greeted Me”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 11 am and were thrilled to find our room ready. Normally a room would not be ready until 3 pm or so. We were also thrilled to find our room had a king size bed! My husband is 6'4" and most hotels in Italy have doubles. The room was just lovely with a full walk in closet. The bathroom had beautiful marble appointments and bathrobes and slippers were provided. The bed was extremely comfortable.

But the rooftop setting with a view of St. Peter's dome is the real star of this hotel. An extensive breakfast buffet is served from 7 to 10:30 am. Omelettes and eggs cooked to order. Cappuccinos made to order. My husband's came with a star made from chocolate dust! Hot and cold dishes and prosecco! The tables were beautifully arranged and set up. It was a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds.

And when we ventured back upstairs at cocktail hour we had the pleasure of meeting Willie, the hotel's famous bartender. His drink choices were always correct and he served wonderful warm small paninis and olives and other snacks with the drinks.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better. A stone's throw from the Vatican but also away from the main tourist congestion. There was a market a few blocks away where we bought some supplies. There was wonderful shopping for blocks and blocks and restaurants within a few steps that were fantastic. And I mean restaurants where locals were eating as well as us lowly tourists. I had a cheese ravioli with a sage and walnut cream sauce that was to die for.

I can't think of enough good things to say about this hotel! There were children here as well and it seemed to have families and couples of all ages staying here. And all nationalities.

Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: The small lift is somewhat slow and sometimes busy. So if you have a problem with stairs perhaps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    311
    72
    19
    16
See reviews for
113
331
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel was central for the major sites (Vatican and Coliseum). Breakfast was absolutely excellent with very good buffet choice of hot food (such as omelette, sausage and bacon) and yogurts, fruit, cold meats, cheeses. I have never seen a bottle of sparkling wine on offer before! The view from the roof top dining area was good with the beautiful law court buildings just a block away. The Vatican dome could easily be seen in the other direction.
The standard room (with front view onto road) seems to have been recently refurbished in designer style with a lot of marble in the bathroom. Air-conditioning unit was efficient and the quietest I have ever experienced. People had mentioned the firm mattresses, but that was easily sorted by a folded blanket beneath the sheet.
The one thing I was miffed about was that they had shut the evening restaurant for May. But that gave the opportunity to sample the many adjacent café/restaurants just a short step away.

Room Tip: I think the cheaper rooms that do not have a 'view' look into a large light well. They may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

I should have given this hotel only 1 star however I gave a generous 2 because of the location, staff, and breakfast. Other than that, forget it! I stayed at this hotel with family. We chose it because it was close to major historical monuments and Vatican City plus it was the only available hotel that can accommodate 3 people/triple or suite.

We were greeted by very friendly staff. Stefano, Victor, Yomar, Elena, and Willie went above and beyond for us. I can find no fault with with their service at all! The lobby is beautiful, tastefully done and modern. However, it stops right there. We were assigned room 301 and was appalling. The room is very OLD, decor is dated-a cross between the 80's and 90's,not renovated like the other doubles or single rooms in the hotel. To give you an example: neon orange trim! Very ugly! I'm sure the other rooms were updated but the triples needed renovations BADLY! Linens and pillows were sub par. Also, there was this strange sewage smell from the bathroom! 6 night with this smell...Horrible.

I found that the smaller boutique hotels didn't turn on the air condition till the summer compared to larger hotels like Rome Cavalieri which I stayed last time I visited Rome. We didn't mind in the evening since it was cooler and to remove the sewage smell. However it's noisy so we didn't get enough sleep. However, it becomes stuffy in the afternoon if we didn't go out of our rooms.

Breakfast is outstanding. They serve omelets, assorted fruits, eggs, meats, cheeses, juices, prosecco, double espresso, breads , cakes, and so much more. The view from the terrace is nice towards the Vatican.

Again it was the location, staff, and breakfast only that saved our stay. I won't return to this hotel. Going back to Rome Cavalieri! Lesson learned.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isahotel, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Isa Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear mcvelasco,
thank you for your comment about the Hotel Isa. We really appreciate your positive impression about our staff, location and breakfast: those are for sure some of our mainstay.
Regarding your comment about the room, we are really surprised to read your disappointment because the one you describe is one of the rooms renovated at the beginning of 2014 trying to keep the original style (handmade furnitures and paintings) mixed with modern design touches (the neon orange trim is part of this process of styles mixture that characterizes a part of the Hotel).
We hope to welcome you again in one of our (pure) Design room and positively change your opinion about our rooms

Best wishes,

Hotel Isa - Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel Isa goes above and beyond exceeding all expectations! Central location, quiet, beautiful rooms and amazing breakfast. The staff are exceptionally helpful and will go out of their way to make your time here enjoyable. I highly recommend staying here! I definitely will be back and will recommend this hotel to all my friends who visit Rome. Breakfast on the sunny roof terrace overlooking the Vatican was a big highlight.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony overlooking inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hotel position is undoubtedly the centre of whatever you want to see when in Rome.
From the lift to the stairs everything is so old time you might think you are in a museum of ancient Rome (except for the lift of course!).
The roof makes your breakfast and cocktail unforgettable.
Standard room a little cramped but with all the amenities you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is really handy for the Vatican and you can walk there in just over ten minutes. You can also see the dome of St Peter's from the terrace and from the breakfast room, just like the picture shows. The rest of the hotel isn't high enough to get the same view, though, so the rooms on the front just have a view of the street.

We went for a significant wedding anniversary and, in fairness to the hotel, we were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi and a round bed that also spins around. We were very pleased with that. However, the weather was starting to get warm in mid-April and when we asked how to turn on the air conditioning we were told that it was done centrally and this wouldn't happen for a few weeks yet. So we opened the patio door at night to try and cool the room down, which wasn't great as the noise from the street - especially in the early hours of the morning - was very loud and disturbing.

The bed itself was slightly more comfortable than sleeping on the floor. The combination of this and the heat in the room meant that we didn't enjoy as much sleep as we'd hoped and we both suffered from stiff necks over the weekend. There aren't any tea and coffee-making facilities in the rooms,either, but we bought an electric kettle and cups from a household store on the main road, which was a fantastic investment in comparison with the cost of buying hot drinks in the hotel. If you're a Brit abroad, don't forget to pack your PG Tips!

The rooftop bar (next to the breakfast room on the top floor (yes, still with the view of St Peter's!) was good, and the barman was very friendly and helpful. The customer service at check-in was a bit more variable and we didn't feel over-welcome at Reception, although Francesco was good.

I should say that we don't usually stop in boutique hotels as we tend to prefer knowing what to expect from a four- or five-star chain brand. They might be less individualistic, but you can generally be a little more certain of what to expect. I think there would be a lot of people who would like the quirky-ness of the ISA hotel with its range of different rooms, but overall we'd have rather had a cool room and a better night's sleep. We would also have liked to have had access to a fitness centre or gym but there isn't one.

It worked out at about £300 a night for Bed and Breakfast, which wasn't a great deal, really.

Room Tip: Ask for line with a comfortable bed - some reviews mention refurbished rooms and it sound sas if the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This hotel is undoubtedly one of the best we have stayed in Rome. The location is good and the staff couldn't have been nicer. The roof top terrace is particularly good for breakfast and evening cocktails, with the waiter (Willy) being exceptionally nice and very helpful. Breakfast was superb.

Room Tip: Choose a high level even although it can be a bit noisy in the mornings due to the staff setting up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Isa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isa Hotel

Address: Via Cicerone 39, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#70 Business Hotel in Rome
#84 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#140 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#152 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Isa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering modern, comfortable accommodations, popular amenities, restaurant and lounge; near Castel Sant Angelo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Isa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isa Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.