We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Had a great stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2006

Stayed from Christmas through New Years. Arrived at the hotel using public transportation (train from the airport, metro from the Termini Station, and walk from Ottaviano stop) and I was relieved to not have to deal with taxis from the airport.

The room was spotlessly clean, with new linens and towels every day. The room was small - there was room for a small wardrobe, desk, and bed. The bed was smaller than an American double bed, but I like my wife, so it wasn't an issue :o) The bathroom had sink, toilet, bidet, and shower. Again, it was small, but I am 6'3" and was able to use all the facilities with no trouble. There was no street noise, but the interior walls are thin. Two of the nights our neighbors woke us up, but the rest of the nights were peaceful.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was good, with breads, rolls, pastries, crackers, meats, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, and made-to-order coffee. The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, but there are 5 or 6 restaurants within a two or three block radius, but they keep "regular hours", not the longer "tourist hours" you might find closer to the Colesseum. We found the non-tourist restaurants to be better quality than the tourist ones. Find one with an Italian-language menu).

The hotel staff spoke english well and tried very hard to be helpful, though they had a hard time understanding our wanting to eat and shop like locals instead of tourists.

The location is very close to St. Peter's and Vatican Museum, somewhat close to the Spanish Steps, and somewhat removed from the Colesseum and Forum. The Ottaviano Metro stop is a 5-6 minute walk, and then it is a 10-15 minute subway ride to even the furthest sights (most sights a 5-6 minute subway ride).

I recommend this hotel highly if you would like to be away from the noise and tourist traps of the more crowded areas, and if you plan to be out all day. It will be slightly less convenient if you are the type that likes to return to your room a few times each day (as that involves the metro ride and short walk). Have fun!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    158
    34
    19
    6
See reviews for
66
161
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

I stayed at the Franklin only for one night. I wish I had booked my entire stay there. I selected a double room after reading the reviews of the tiny singles. The double was the same price as the single. It was luxuriously large and tastefully and imaginatively decorated. It is a welcome change to the typical over decorated, depressing hotel rooms with faux antiques often found in Europe. Altough the hotel is not conveniently located to a subway station (the subway stops at 9:00 p.m.), it is a short walk to the Vatican and around the corner to a bus line which will take you into historic Rome in 5-10 minutes. Finally, the staff made my stay in Rome. They not only told me how to get to places, but they knew the hours museums were open and gave me invaluable suggestions. They warned me that the line to get into the Sistine Chapel would be horrendous (it was). I would have wasted half the day of a long weekend waiting in line, but they volunteered to book a reservation that would get me right in (there is an additional charge, but it is worth it). The hotel was so helpful that I was able to make the most of my very short stay in Rome. My experience at this hotel was the complete opposite of my stay at the Villa Morgagni the next night.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2005

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Franklin and were suitably impressed - could move in tomorrow ! Rooms finished to a high spec. blonde wood floors and fittings with B&O music system/phones. Bathroom white/chrome. Great continental breakfast served in equally stylish dining room with patio. Hotel situated in quiet residentail area away from crowds
but within walking distance of local metro station (10 mins) and St Peter's
Sq/Vatican (15 mins). Staff very helpful and friendly. Great value (by Rome
and other European Capital standards) at around £100 pernight.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

Just came back from Rome, and we really enjoyed our stay at the Franklin.
We had chosen the Peter Pan room (2 adults, 2 children) and everything was perfect.
Every morning we had breakfast in our own private little "garden" outside the room. Our table was set before we woke up and the girl from the bar (Simona I think) prepared delicious capuccinos and hot chocolate for the kids. Everyone at the reception was very helpful.
I think this is the perfect place for people travelling with one or two kids: TV, stereo, PS2, mordern furniture, a very nice bathroom, a relaxed atmosphere and nice people to help you.
Not cheap, but the place is ultra-modern and safe.
The fact that it is not centrally located should not be an issue. Just around the corner, you'll find bus 23 and 70 to the city center and two blocks away, there's the subway station.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2005

Franklin Feel The Sound is one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

The design of the hotel is really unique and you can see the owners are musicians.

You can borrow DVD's and CD's from their extensive library to play in your soundproofed room.

The hotel is a 10 min walk from Vatican City and the nearest metro station.

There were some really nice touches in the hotel, each night when you returned to your room there was a biscuit on the bed with the weather forecast for the next day.

The breakfast area was really nice as you could sit out in the garden if the weather was nice.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2005

My girlfriend and I chose to stay at the Franklin after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed between the 14th and 17th June 2005 and we couldn't fault it. We checked-in to be told our room wouldn't be ready until 3pm, however they upgraded us to a camera room which was fantastic.

We found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Yes, the hotel is out of the way but we preferred that as you're not surrounded by tourists. The metro is a 10 minute walk and so is the vatican city. The area where the hotel is situated is safe, with local shops nearby.

We took advice from trip advisor and booked an internal room as previous reviews suggested the nearby garage was noisy. We didn't hear any noise, and it was ever so quiet at night which you wouldn't get staying in a hotel in the centre of Rome, nevermind how much you paid.

Breakfast on the terrace was great and typically european - [fresh bread, toasts, eggs, cheeses, meats, cereals, fruit, yoghurts with delicious coffees and fresh juices], and the staff were friendly and helpful.

You spend most of your time away from the hotel anyway but it is nice to return to a clean room with a good shower and air conditioning. The Franklin is perfect!!!!!!

We have both stayed at a lot of 5* hotels throughout the UK and Europe for business and leisure, and have found the Franklin to be up there with the best of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

I stayed at the Franklin for one night a few weeks ago. Like some of the other reviewers, we were put in a tiny single room with a less than average sized double bed and no room to move around. I asked why when I'd reserved a "standard" room the room was smaller than the majority in the hotel (checking the fire escape plans on each floor made this clear to me!) and was eventually upgraded but the hotel blamed the website we had booked with. In atmosphere, service and facilities it's basically a youth hostel that has been done up with some cheap gimmicks (the CDs, the stereos - more Hitachi than Bang & Olufson, rubber flooring in the hallways). Definitely not 4 star. The garden is lovely, but there's no bar or cafe service after you return from a hard day's sightseeing, so its usefulness as a place to relax is quite diminished. Paying for a 4 star hotel, and then having to wander the streets to get a snack for my sick co-traveller was not ideal.

Yes, its very close to the Vatican but in a down-at-heel Roman neighbourhood with few joys to be found roaming the local streets, so once you've done the Vatican the rest of your trip will be a hassle of taxis, metro and 30-40 minute walks.

Unlike one of the reviews I read above, I thought the photos were very unrepresentative of the reality of the hotel. It's cramped throughout (not just the tiny rooms) and throughout our (mercifully brief) stay, there always seemed to be some staff drama going on (doing the accounts in reception on the guest seating - come on!!!).

As several people said, its a rip off and panders to what people might think a boutique hotel is supposed to be like. There are better ways to spend 200 euros than being dazzled by a free-to-use CD collection.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound

Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#180 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#239 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities is located in the elegant neighborhood of Prati; 1 km from the Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.