We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel the Sound” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
San Antonio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Feel the Sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Room was larger than expected and bathroom was more than satisfactory. Location close to many great restaurants and metro and Vatican. Great breakfast and a lot of value for the price. Would definitely stay here again when back in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    149
    31
    18
    6
See reviews for
79
166
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. I loved the quirky touches - disco ball in the bathroom, drums for side tables. It was great having the sound system in the room especially since I could attach my IPOD or borrow CDs. The room was super clean and very comfortable. I was right beside the elevator but really did not find it noisy except for hearing voices occasionally.

I liked the location. There was a bus just around the corner that went straight to Trastavere. The main metro line that went to all the major attractions was only a 10 minute walk away. The neighbourhood was close enough to the Vatican to have the perks of being in a high tourist zone but far enough away that the neighbourhood itself had a local, non touristy feel to it. The restaurant I frequented most nights was definitely a local hang out. Both nights I went there I was the only English speaker in the place. There were several small restaurants and pizzarias within a few blocks radius.

Breakfast was great. The best I have ever had in a hotel. There was always bacon and eggs, and everything was locally sourced and fresh. The cappuccinos were the best I had in Italy and I could have as many as I wanted. Pastries and drinks were available in the lobby all day.

However, what really stood out for me, was the professionalism and courtesy of the staff. They were always friendly, helpful and efficient. Special kudos to the young woman who checked me in (and who helped me with my poor Italian) and the lady that ran the kitchen. I would definitely recommend this place and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I have seen other reviews recommend a room at the back away from the elevator. I was near the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

The Franklin ticks a lot of box's for a quirky and fun hotel , Disco lights and speakers in the bathroom, drums for bedside tables and a lending service for cds, BUT it is a little isolated from downtown Rome the nearest metro is a bit of a walk, and though handy for the Vatican area it's neccessary to use the metro, bus's or taxis to get around town.Transfer from Ciampino was 55 euros and takes about half an hour. Breakfast was pleasant in the garden area and well presented.

Room Tip: Quite noisy in rooms near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Located in Prati, this hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood near the Vatican.

We were well received and all correspondence with the management before the visit was engaging, with quick responses to all our queries.

This hotel is themed around music, what with nightstands in the for of drums, cymbals as lamp shades, a disco ball in the bathroom and a quirky piece made of carrot graters!

Rooms are quite spacious, and soundproof. The music was always on and the station chosen by the staff made for a fantastic soundtrack to our vacation. The terrace at the back of the hotel made for a great place to have breakfast in the morning or just for a break

The front desk staff were always helpful with suggestions and directions. Grace deserves a special mention for her willingness to help us with suggestions and whatever we needed to make our stay comfortable.

The neighbourhood is clean and quiet with some good restaurants around the hotel (Al Poeto, Taverna and, especially, Baccanale 59). Close proximity to the Ottaviano metro station and the Vatican Museum is another plus.

Meals: only breakfast in provided - the menu is the same every morning but the fresh fruit, pastries (which are available at the reception all day too), and the choice of a variety of home-made honey makes for the possibility of a different breakfast every morning.

Location, however, is not its' strong point if being NEAR the popular tourist attractions, more vibrant Roman neighbourhoods, and retail shopping districts is your thing - with the exception of the Vatican Museum, you would need to walk for at least 30 minutes to get to most places of interest.

Room Tip: Our room was near the elevator and we couldn't hear other guests or staff getting on or off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

The hotel is unique and has a fun theme. Our nightstand were two drums. The bathroom had a disco ball and a blue light. The breakfast was great and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel has a shuttle service to the airport for a fee of $50.00 flat. Our room was facing the road but it was quiet. The room was clean.

The hotel is north of the Vatican City. It is about 5 to 10 minutes walking distance. Gallery Borghese was about 50 minutes walking distance and Piazza del Popollo was about 40 minutes. The subway is close by and could be used to get to the tourists attractions. We didn't use it and walked instead. Despite the fact the he Vatican is so close it is not very touristy. You find local restaurants and coffee shops. If you go into the side streets you will find small Italian restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

I found this place in a last minute search because my usual business-type hotel was full in Rome.

Positives:
Location, location, location. You can leave your room and return in three hours having walked past every major attraction in Rome. Of course, you would want to stop and see things, but you get my point.
New and clean. This means a lot in Italy where tired and dirty can still come at a steep price.
Great staff. Very helpful with all my requests.
Free bikes. Loved the bikes idea! I borrowed one and toodled around Rome. I am extra-tall guy living in an average-sized world, so it must have been a sight to see this veritable giant sprint down the streets of Rome on a little bicycle with a basket as unseen Carabinieri give chase. (BTW, those are military police and not to be confused with the pasta dish).
Courtyard view and garden. Charming.

Negatives:
Value. On the edge of good value, but the location/price relationship in Rome is ... complicated.
Small room. I could spread my arms and have finger tips eight inches off each side wall. The desk fit my laptop. And that's it. The bathroom was a big enough (why are bathrooms so big in hotels anyway?) but the shower stall was predictably teeny.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014 via mobile

Great place, complimentary drinks in the mini fridge was a huge plus. Neighborhood seemed very safe. This hotel is very close to the Vatican museum entrance,but it's about a mile to St. Peter's Square. Right around the left corner is an outstanding restaurant one of the best we ate at. All tours start at vatican sq area and as I said is about a mile walk.. But it's Rome and walking is what your going to be doing all day. If I had to do it again I'd stay in central Rome, but if the Vatican is your main concern and seeing the Pope for Wednesday mass this place is fantastic! By the way.. Saw a few complaints about only 3 English TV stations.. Hit the "I" button on the remote and change it to English problem solved..

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound

Address: Via Rodi 29, 00195 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#213 Business Hotel in Rome
#217 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#285 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities is located in the elegant neighborhood of Prati; 1 km from the Vatican. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Franklin Feel the Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.