We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and simple. A little too expensive for what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Caravaggio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Caravaggio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Caravaggio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palermo 73, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #568 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and simple. A little too expensive for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had been staying outside of Rome at a beautiful place designed mostly for couples and weddings. The setting was rural, the rooms large and very well finished. It was a half hour drive into Rome but we had a rental car so that was not a problem. When we had to return the car we had planned on staying in Rome at the Caravaggio. It cost us over 50% more per night. We gave up a beautiful suite for a small room. We gave up a spacious bathroom with jacuzzi for a tiny bathroom. We gave up a generous breakfast with plenty of space, cakes, an assortment of croissants, cheese and salami, for a tiny cramped room, very small tables for 2, our friends could not even sit with us. When we asked for more cappuccino the waitress that both served the tables, washed the dishes and bused the tables took our dirty cups and prepared the next cup in them, after all, since she does the dishes too why use a clean cup? The champagne in the lobby was white and red spumante in tiny plastic cups. The room was clean, the air conditioning was weak but worked. Just not enough bang for the buck. At a lower price it might have been an OK solution. Try to find a different place where you get more for what you pay. Actually, I think I will stay out of the city next time and keep the car and return it in the airport. By the way my accommodations were not in the building where the reception is. They lead you along the street to one of apparently several alternative sites where they lodge their clientele. Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guests, we have read your review. We regret you were not satisfied with your stay by us. However, we would like to remark some facts. The rural hotel outside the city of Rome which you stayed in you can compare with four and more stars hotels in Rome. Only in these structures you can find the standard you wrote about. Generally, the price for this kind of accommodation in the historical centre of Rome fall under more expensive price area. We do not think our rooms are small. Our rooms, bathrooms and also the breakfast room have standard dimensions for a three stars hotel which we are. We don´t have a jacuzzi in our bathrooms and you can find no mention about jacuzzi in all descriptions of our hotel. In our breakfast room we have tables for two, three or four people. For breakfast we have a quite big choice: coffee, tea, milk (warm or cold), chocolate, orange juice, mineral water, corn flackes, muesli, fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, butter, bread, cracker, breadrolls, wholemeal bread, little butter bagels, croissants, cakes, biscuits, honey, marmelade, nut cream, yoghurt (white or fruity). Sometimes our guest asks for an other cappuccino or other drink. The waitress takes away the cup which the guest used for the first drink, she takes it to the kitchen and she brings the other drink in a new clean cup. She does it this way, because we think that empty used cups on the table are useless. Each evening from 6.00 p.m. till 8.00 p.m. we offer a charge free happy hour snack for all our guests. The sparkling wine (red or white) is in a nice bottle of tempered glass placed in a holder for sparkling wine. The guests choose the wine they prefer (red o white) and they fill the nearby standing cup which is a standard cup for drinks. Besides the wine we offer fruity drinks and different salty delicacies. Every room is equipped with air conditioning. The guest keeps at disposition a remote control and he can regulate its intensity. If he has problems it to use, we are ready to help him. At the reception we are for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The building of our hotel is an historical one. The reception is on the ground floor. The rooms are upstrais, we have an elevator and also the stairs. The direct entrance to the room part of the hotel is across the second door (from the street side), so you have to go out from the reception (to the street) and go to the second door. Thank you for your time and we really regret you didn´t enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    88
    42
    22
    24
See reviews for
34
98
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

A small and cozy hotel in the center of the Rome. Located a few steps from Piazza Venezia, and Via Corso and the Colosseum. Small room with a good bathroom. As lack there is terribly creaky bed. Maybe it is antique style bed, but I did not like that:)
As a plus - a great woman at the reception. Really friendly and helpfull. Unfortunately, I dont remember her name:(

pc

They charge 10 euro for keeping your baggage after 15 on check-out day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time to describe your feelings. We are pleased you liked our placement. You are right, from our hotel you can reach the most of touristic attractions by foot. We are also glad that you are satisfied with our services at the reception. In connection with the beds, we don´t think they are creaky. They are in good condition and they have comfortable ergonomical mattresses. The luggage deposit after the check out time is an extra service. We offer it without payment till 3.00 p.m. Afterthat there is an extra charge. In spite of your little remarks we hope that you had nice time in Rome and you will come back. It will be pleasure for us to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel is perfect for the tourist. The place is near the city center (Colosseum is 10 minutes by walk).
The hotel is normally old roman build.

The price is cheap, the hotel staff is amiable.

I suggest for everybody how just sleeping in the hotel and would like finding the city.

Room Tip: I suggest for everybody how just sleeping in the hotel and would like finding the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your contribution. We are happy you liked our hotel and you take our prices for reasonable. It is also nice to read that you appreciate our staff. Yes, our our building is an historical one, it is built in the umbertian style and up to this day it maintains its original style. We would like to specify that we are located directly in the historical centre of Rome and you can visit plenty of attractions by foot. We hope you will choose us again. You are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great Hotel right in the center of Rome. The rooms were very clean and a good size. we had two rooms and both had AC, but one of the rooms failed we spoke to reception and a fan was placed in our room and when a room was available we moved. Which was great as temperatures were in the 40's. Breakfast was basic but good. the waitress remembered which coffee/ tea you liked and would make it as soon as we sat down. The hotel is good value for money and is in walking distance to all the main attractions, Colosseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain are only 15 minutes away. I would stay at the Caravaggio again , but would arrange my own transfer form the airport. We arrived late at night so for easiness we booked the transfer through the hotel rather than take the train to Termini ( which is 10 mins walking distance to the hotel). The driver never said a word and he drove well over the speed limit!!! and with driving skills Lewis Hamilton would be proud of. Arrived at the Hotel feeling rather shook up! Having said that most Italian drivers drive like that! We booked a bus to take us back to the airport. which was a lot cheaper ( 6euros per head).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guests, we would like to say thank you for the review. We have read you liked our hotel. It´s a big pleasure for us. We don´t have bad experiences with taxi drivers. In Italy the speed limit for highway is 130 kilometers per hour, for non-city main road it is 110 kilometers per hour, for non-city smaller road it is 90 kilometers per hour and in the town the speed limit is 50 kilometers per hour. Maybe in your country you have different regulations, so it seemed to you a little fast. It is possible that the driver didn´t speak to you because he felt a language barrier. The taxi is an individual transport medium that´s why it is more expensive than a bus. We hope you enjoyed our beautiful city of Rome and you will visit it again. We would be pleased to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel was really nice and great value for money. Breakfast was good although the poor waitress did seem really rushed on all three mornings that we were there. The room was really nicely decorated and well equipped, great location too. The only thing I wish to warn people of is the "happy hour". We expected the happy hour to be in the hotel bar and consist of "buy one get one free" drinks, or maybe a complimentary drink. As it happens, the hotel doesn't actually have a bar and the happy hour is actually a table and two chairs, in the lobby, with a bottle of cordial juice and a bowl of crisps. It reminded us of a child's birthday party.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guests, thank you for your rewiev. We are happy you liked the room, the breakfast and the location of our hotel. We also like our waitress – she is a kindly person and she does her job perfectly. She really works fast, it is in her natural disposition. We can not agree with your statement that our guests should be warn in connection with our happy hour. Even if we don´t have a bar we think the happy hour we prepare is a nice event. It is in the lobby of our hotel, so the tourists have the chance to meet the other tourists. They can converse if they want, they can share their travel experiencies, they can use our internet point. We offer the happy hour completely charge free. The guests can choose from sparkling wine (red or white), from different fruit drinks and from the variety of salty delicacies. So everybody can find something he likes. We are sad the happy hour didn´t met your expectations. Even thought we hope you will come back to Rome and it will be a pleasure for us to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Surrounded by typical Roman atmosphere, the hotel is established in an old town house (better said in two houses). The reception is in one house, the entrance in the neighbouring one. I reached my room I had to pass several corridors and corners, at the end I was surprised to find a spacious room. Only the bath room was a bit narrow. And: there was an AC!
In the breakfast room the tables were pretty small (I can't imagine how 4 people will be able to sit at one of these tables).
Disadvantage: (free) web access ws possible in the lobby only

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for your contribution. Yes, you noticed correctly that our building is a historical one built in a typical umbertian style. It has maintained its original nature. That´s why the reception is in one part of the building and the access to the rooms is from the other part of the building. We are situated in the city centre. All around there are many historical buildings and this all creates an authentic Roman atmosphere. We are happy you liked the size of the room. Each of our room is equipped with an air conditioning. The bathroom has a standard size for the three stars hotel what is our category. In our breakfast room you can find tables of different sizes, there are tables for two, three or four people. We think everyone can find a table that suits him. For this moment we have the internet in the lobby (free wi-fi and free internet point). We are preparing a project to have a wi-fi in the rooms too. If you will visit Rome again, it will be pleasure for us to have you amoung our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you are looking for a nice and clean hotel in the center of Rome,not too expensive then Caravaggio hotel is the one!Good value for the money,very close ,walking distance ,to all the main attractions in Rome-5 minutes from termini,10 minutes from Fontana di Trevi and about 10 minutes from Colosseum.It really is a 3 star hotel-clean rooms(a little bit small,but that's Italy),good continental breakfast, friendly staff at the reception.If you are looking for luxury and hotels with SPA's and swimming pools then this is not your kind of place!It is a small,nice boutique hotel!

P.S:Between 06.00 pm and 08.00 pm every day are happy hours at the reception where you can drink champagne and eat some snacks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caravaggio1, Responsabile reception at Hotel Caravaggio, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests, thank you for your really nice review. We appreciate it very much. It is good to hear you were satisfied with our hotel. We hope we will have a pleasure to accommodate so kind guests like you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Caravaggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Caravaggio

Address: Via Palermo 73, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Caravaggio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Hotel Caravaggio is situated in the heart of Rome. The Hotel is the ideal base for visitors wishing to explore on foot the wonders of the Eternal City and to wake up in a quiet and pleasant atmosphere. The reception is opened 24/24. The courteous and friendly staff can give you information you need, city maps, information for the booking of sightseeing tours and airport transfer. Everything that is a part of the Rome experience: monuments, museums, galleries, theatres, shops, restaurants, bars and night life is within walking distance. Nearby the Hotel you will find all the public facilities as the underground and the bus. The area is also very well connected with both airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Caravaggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Caravaggio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.