We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residenza Cellini to your Saves list
Residenza Cellini
Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€69 (EUR)
Ranked #12 of 1,265 Hotels in Rome
San Antonio. Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

Great hotel with lots of charm and newly remodeled rooms. Near train, metro stops. 11 rooms only with attentive staff. Cold meat cheese and pastries breakfast was adequate, but the make great cappuccino. Our room faced a courtyard so it was pretty quiet with no traffic noise.
If we come back to Rome, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    140
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
209
401
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

The Cellini is a wonderful boutique hotel in an old building near the main train, bus and metro station. This makes it easy to get around Rome. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They all speak excellent English. Rooms are newly remodeled and spacious. There is a beautiful rooftop terrace down the hall. A great place for relaxing and having a glass of wine. My only mild complaint would be the breakfast. It is minimal and the same every day which gets tiring if you are staying very long. They do have a WONDERFUL cappuccino in the morning though.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halelani
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Never having visited Rome before, I researched the lodging descriptions, recommendations and user reviews of at least six different travel guide web sites and guide books. I searched by areas within the historical part of Rome and compared prices and ratings and finally located about six hotels to contact for availability and prices for our four night stay. Several of my choices offered online booking, but we contacted Residenza Cellini directly via email.

Within 24 hours, the hotel responded with their offer based on a final payment of cash or travelers checks. We guaranteed our stay with a credit card and faxed that number to them. We could have called the hotel with the information, but were deterred by the time difference between CA and Rome. The hotel’s excellent service began immediately with prompt responses to our few questions about specific sightseeing recommendations and transfer options from the cruise terminal into the city.

We appreciated the hotel's quiet location, one block north of Via Nationale, near Piazza Republica. The hotel’s sign on the building is smaller than expected, so we had a little trouble locating the building initially, but our Google map printed from home before departure came to the rescue. As first time visitors to Italy and Rome, we had no familiarity with the “residenza” lodging category, which seems to be a cross between a small hotel and a B & B. The reception area and some rooms are located on the third floor; our attractive and generous-sized room was located on the fifth floor across the hall from a lovely covered terrace where we ate our take away snacks.

Our room and bathroom were spotless and very well maintained each day. The shower enclosure, about the size of a cruise ship shower, offered a variety of sprays and the wonderful water pressure was something I’d forgotten existed. The bed was firm, but because we walked a lot each day and returned exhausted in the evening, we had no trouble sleeping. The new flat screen TV offered a clear, sharp picture and a large selection of program options. The breakfast choices were ample with fresh cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruits and juices, coffee, tea, assorted rolls, Danish, and cookies.

Best of all were the suggestions and recommendations of the staff in response to our questions regarding sightseeing, transportation and places to eat. They graciously volunteered to make reservations for the Borghese museum and our transfer from the hotel to the airport. They even lent us a currency converter so that we could recharge our camera battery. The helpfulness and sincere concern of the owners and staff of Residenza Cellini made our visit to Rome something special-a memorable experience and the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

This hotel is a real jewel. We stayed at another hotel in the same area for 2 nights, and then switched to the Cellini, and it was the best hotel we had for our entire trip in Italy. It really was a step above the others. Beautiful room, great bathroom, and a lovely covered outside patio area to sip wine at the end of the day. The staff were considerate, helpful and responded immediately to any of our requests. I would absolutely stay here again. I miss it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

We stayed here because my daughter and son in law stayed here on their honeymoon 2 years ago and were very pleased with the Hotel and staff. We were not disappointed ! Francesca, George, Robert and Jerry were the best staff any hotel could have. Someone is there at the desk 24/7 . We had an early flight out of Rome when we left , and Robert had coffee and a breakfast just for us, arranged at 3:30 in the morning!! Now that is service. We went to Venice halfway through our trip for a few days and took only one of our bags. Residenza Cellini took care of our other bags until we returned for the second half of our stay there. They also upgraded us for free for the second half of the trip. Service is fabulous. The location of the hotel is great. Near the metro, bus line and one metro stop from the train station. When we returned for the second half of our trip, we felt like we were home. Francesca was the first to greet us when we originally arrived and made sure we had everything we needed in our room. The 5th floor patio is great for a glass of wine and cheese and crackers at the end of a long day of touring. The staff was quick to provide wine glasses, knives, cork screw and plates for our little snack! We used their arrangements for transportation to and from the airport by private car. They were very prompt and efficient. This is a welcome sight after flying all night from the states to get to Rome. The hotel is quiet and clean and comfortable. . They also had the best internet in all the hotels we stayed at (3). A+

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed in this elegant little gem of a hotel for seven nights and were very impressed with the cleanliness of our room and the hotel in general. All the staff that we had contact with were friendly and most helpful with directions to sights, suggestions for places to eat, answering our questions and providing ice for my wife's sore foot! Even though we were only a block from busy streets the hotel was quiet and we felt very safe. Residenza Cellini's location is relatively central for walking to many of the major sights in Rome; it is near both Metro lines and the main train station. Our only regret was the absence of coffee/tea making facilities in our room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and it will not be the last, very comfotable and freindly, right in the heart of Rome I cannot recommend it too highly

Chris Whitehead UK

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#187 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Cellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.