We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Cellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residenza Cellini to your Saves list
Residenza Cellini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #14 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This hotel is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

The rave reviews for Residenza Cellini are well deserved!  The location is excellent, and even women travelling alone can feel safe here.  The rooms are immaculate and are comfortably furnished.  No permanent press sheets here.  The sheets on the beds at Residenza Cellini are beautifully pressed.  It is the staff, however, that make this hotel exceptional.  They make you feel as though you are a guest in their home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    143
    19
    3
    4
See reviews for
215
408
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We loved this small, charming and friendly hotel. The staff were outstanding and helpful in all areas. The location, being near Termini, bus routes and the metro made getting around Rome very easy and economical. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Only issue was concrete beds, which didn't really even matter after a long day of touring Rome, one tends to sleep very soundly. Otherwise, very nice small establishment. Priced right, staff very nice and down to earth, made great recommendations that enhanced our general time in Rome. Lovely people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks in Europe. Our family vote placed Residenza Cellini at #1. Warm, efficient staff (especially Francesca) welcomed us and allowed early check in after a long flight. Room was a family quad - not suite - but, beds were all comfortable. Spacious bath. Good A/C; quiet; clean and well located. We walked to resaurants, but, often found that sights required a short metro ride (right around the corner) or a taxi. All other hotels we stayed in had either inattentive staff or ineffective a/c...or both. We would stay here again. Breaksfast was pastries, fruit, yogurt and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My family of three stayed here for four nights prior to a cruise and we chose this hotel because of the TripAdvisor reviews – thank you so much, TripAdvisor! This stay was wonderful in every possible way – location, room size and cleanliness, helpfulness of staff etc etc. From the moment we set foot inside we knew we had chosen well. The location is great for the main attractions – Colosseum a very short bus ride away and we walked to the Trevi Fountain on our first night. The staff do everything they can to help you find your way around the city, will book restaurants, arrange transportation to the port and airport etc; nothing is too much trouble. There are not many rooms available here so you really benefit from the personal touch.
Our room was a triple junior suite located on the third floor just across from the reception area. (This happens to be the first floor for this hotel as there seemed to be other hotels located on lower floors in the same building) Our room was plenty spacious enough for three, immaculately clean and had the most amazing bathroom with a jacuzzi. There was a well-stocked mini bar in the room and right outside our door there was free wifi access too.
Up on floor five there is a little rooftop terrace perfect for sitting out and unwinding in the evenings.
The breakfast room and tables were very small so the three of us always sat on two tables to avoid being too squashed. The choice of food was very good with plenty of bread, croissants, fresh fruits, meats and cheese etc. Being from England we like our cup of tea and you actually get a pot here!
The location is in a very quiet back street yet conveniently placed for just a few minutes walk to the Repubblica Teatro dell’Opera Metro station. Tip – to walk to the main street and Metro even quicker, just cut through the bookshop next door to the hotel. The shop has a back and front door and when you walk through and come out at the front entrance the bus stop is there too – how convenient!
Well, I tossed my coin into the Trevi Fountain which means I’ll return to Rome one day and when I do, I shall definitely be staying at the Residenza Cellini again. We cannot praise it enough and would like to thank the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This is a lovely hotel to stay in Rome. I was only here for one night but booked on the basis of the reviews. I would normaly have went for a chain hotel but you really do get individual attention - the staff are lovely and appreciated being shown to our room. Free wifi is great and there is a lovely terrace to sit out at night. Our room was realy nice and i believe from the owner it was one of the newly redecorated rooms and we had a lovely private terrace to sit out on. I think the criticism on the breakfast unfounded and I think they do very well cnsidering the number of bedrooms they have - Im sure the mentioned the breakfast room was going up t the large terrace so that will give them more room. The hotel also recommended a hotel which was absoluetly lovely and not a touristy hotel so we apprecaited that. If I knew anyone going to Rome for a short break would recommend this hotel. If you have your own car with you like we did there is a garage 10 meteres away that you can park but be warned is 30 euros per day!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in late June and can recommend this small hotel. The junior suite was large (by european standards), clean and well appointed. It is located on the 3rd floor but a quaint lift works fine. Staff were attentive and very courteous. Is located on a very quiet back street, but close to the metro (2 short blocks), with a cute terrace and free wifi. Would have rated this hotel a 5, but the continental breakfast was only functional --- could be vastly improved with a toaster or some warm pastries.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#16 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Residenza Cellini 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Priceline so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Cellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.