We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The biggest bedroom I have had in Europe and great service too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residenza Cellini

Save Saved
You added Residenza Cellini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Cellini
Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 1,264 Hotels in Rome
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The biggest bedroom I have had in Europe and great service too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed the week of Thanksgiving. The Junior Suite was a great fit for the 3 of us. Frequently in Europe the bed for the 3rd person is a pull-out couch, here it was a twin sized bed so my son was able to get a much better nights sleep. Even with a king sized bed and a twin bed there was plenty of room and an in-room safe. The staff and owner were wonderful. We were given a complimentary bottle of wine on the terrace since we had a "long stay" and rather than excluding my son they provided a glass of soda! They arranged a car service for us for our travel to and from the airport. When we told them we would be leaving at 4am they offered to bring breakfast to our room which was completely unexpected.
The location is fantastic. It is very close to the subway, bus, and train. However, we went almost everywhere on foot as it is such a central location. There are plenty of places to eat near the hotel and even a grocery store is very close.
I would highly recommend and definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    139
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
199
390
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent thanksgiving in Rome with the family at Residenza Cellini and it was fantastic! My parents got a junior suite with a balcony, my brother and his wife and my girlfriend and I both had bedrooms with king beds and jacuzzi showers. The hotel staff was friendly, incredibly helpful and there 24/7. We were able to check in to our rooms early when we landed which was a big help. While we were there it was my girlfriend's birthday and the owner treated us to spumanti wine and cookies on the terrace for her birthday. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast wasn't extensive, but it was very nice and always fresh. Location is great - you can walk to the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here with my partner mid Oct. for 5 nights. It was my first visit to Rome and I loved it mainly because the heat was low 20's each day - in the summer I'm sure it gets unbearably hot and not so nice for touring. We had a lovely stay in the hotel and as mentioned by others the staff are all great. The rooms are very nice - as mentioned by a few others the bathrooms are small - well the bathrooms are fine but the shower facility can be very tight. I'm a slim guy and there wasn't much room in the shower once I got in because of this shower jet thing going on that makes the space even smaller. These really should be taken out and the shower would probably be OK size wise. there was a problem with the shower head when we arrived - i reported it the next morning when we left and when we arrived back that evening a new one had been fitted. Good service. Air con worked well and was quiet. The breakfast was fine but again as noted by 1 or 2 could do with more variety even some eggs or tomato/cucumber etc. Nice veranda area for chilling out. WiFi worked perfectly throughout the 2 floors. We stayed on floor 5 which I would imagine is quieter than floor 3. The rate for central Rome in peak season (Oct) is very good approx €180 per room for a double with b/fast after cash and long stay discount. The place is spotlessly clean. Once you have researched the building in advance there wont be any surprises as in you will know its a shared building. A building with some old world charm - small door entrance, old lift etc) Its nicer to stay here than some purpose built facility as its more of an experience in old Rome. Location is perfect 3 minute walk to metro maybe a 7-10 minute walk to Termini. Donato is very very helpful and charming, I believe he may be the manager or one of the owners but is a very pleasant Italian and always ready for a chat and has near perfect English. Rome is lovely 2 things though make sure you book Vatican & Coliseum in advance or you will be waiting hours. Plenty of forums on Trippy re advance booking. Below the hotel approx 30 seconds away is a nice restaurant where we ate twice - great menu and reasonable for Rome. Also there are some very nice restaurants off the streets off Via Modena very near the hotel - maybe 5 minutes away. Also across from the hotel on Via Modena is a church that holds concerts now and again - check with the hotel they may have some details on it. If I was back in Rome which I hope I will be I will stay here again - the location really cannot be beaten. Also, if getting a taxi from the airport the fares are set at €30 from Campino and €45 I believe from the other one.

Room Tip: I would say floor 5 is quieter than floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently had the good fortune of staying at the Resindeza Cellini in early November.
The Rick Steves guide book accurately described and recommended this small but lovely
hotel. It was located central to all the attractions that were important to us,, Spanish stairs,
trevi Fountain, Metro Station. The staff at the hotel was always friendly and very helpful.
They went out of their way to help us with a tour company, restaurant recommendations.
The breakfast that was provided was delicious..pastries, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereal, breads,
juices, coffee, teas....We had an early tour we had to get to and they started the breakfast
a bit early to accomodate us. The rooms are small but quite adequate and if you can afford
to reserve the jr. suite..it is a charming room and the size is much better. The building itself
has an old fashioned cage lift,,,tiny but again it adds to the charm of the building. I would definately stay here again and recommend the Residenza Cellini to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in Residenza Cellini recently.

There is no big hotel signage so it's better to make sure the taxi driver knows where the hotel is. We paid about Eur10 for taxi from train station to hotel. Best to go by taxi meter.

Hotel location is great. The nearest metro station is 5mins walk away. Trevi is about 10-15mins.

The room is decent size but the bathroom can be a little cramped.

Services are excellent. Robert is always ready to help whenever we need restaurant recommendation or directions on how to get to a place. Barbara too.

The old lift can get a bit challenging when we were trying to bring 2 big luggages, 2 hand carry plus our toddler. But this cannot be helped since the hotel is located in an old building.

Overall. we will definitely return to this hotel next time we are in Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Our week at the elegant Residenza Cellini in November was perfect in every way. Our quiet immaculate room facing the courtyard was lovely with a very comfortable king-size bed and great pillows. We were delighted to find a kettle and a selection of tea available in our room. Breakfast in the charming little breakfast room offered a nice selection of cereals, juices, fresh fruit, cold cuts, yogurt, cream cheese, rolls, pastries, coffee and an array of teas. Service in the breakfast room was impeccable and on our departure day Margiry kindly arranged for the breakfast buffet to be set up half an hour early to allow us to enjoy breakfast prior to our flight. Margiry and the entire staff are wonderful.
The location of the hotel at Via Nazionale and Piazza della Republica is ideal. We walked to all the major sites on the east side of the Tiber and took express bus #40 to St. Peter's. After seeing the Vatican museum we returned to the hotel via the Metro. The bus stop and Metro stop are very close to the hotel. Termini, the large train station, is close by and from there express buses and a train, the Leonardo Express, connect to the airport. There are lots of restaurants near the hotel. We enjoyed gelato at a delightful shop close by on Via Torino on the other side of Via Nazionale where forty-six flavours are on display! Try the chocolate-orange.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at Residenza Cellini for four nights during our first trip to Rome in October. We had a wonderful experience there. The location just off Via Nazionale, the Repubblica metro stop, and Termini train station was very convenient. Our room was lovely, decorated in traditional style, and the bathroom was fresh and new. The space was bright and cheery, with a window that looked out on a square bounded by other apartments. Not a great view, but we weren't there during the day, and the trade-off was absolute quiet at night, which we quickly realized was a rarity in most parts of the city. What really made Cellini a stand-out, though, was the "wonderfully caring staff." as noted in the DK Eyewitness Travel guide for Rome. Every question or request, no matter how uninformed coming from us first-time visitors to Italy, was met with a smile and a quick response. We can definitely recommend Cellini as a great choice for those looking for a quiet retreat in a busy part of Rome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residenza Cellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Cellini

Address: Via Modena 5, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#22 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and exclusive, Residenza Cellini combines the timeless charm of its luxurious historical interiors with the functionality of the most modern and exclusive comforts to ensure a pleasant and restful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Cellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Cellini Hotel Rome
Residenza Cellini Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residenza Cellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.