We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana Roof Garden to your Saves list
Hotel Diana Roof Garden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #473 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location - very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed in Rome at this hotel for three nights from July 8th-11th. We weren't recommended this hotel but told to stay by the termini which it is exactly - literally a 5minute walk with our cases.
The reception staff were ok - not overally friendly (an English thing perhaps?) and i was disappointed initially that we were placed on the 1st floor as i wanted to be higher, however after learning there is only one, tiny, slow elevator we were quite relieved we could just use the staircase and not spend ages waiting like everyone else!
The roof garden is beautiful - but wouldn't stay for more than one drink! we ordered two small beers after a day out to unwind and was €10. this isn't a reflection of the hotel but of Rome overall - very pricey!
The room was small, but hey, when in Rome you only use it for sleeping! the bed was nice, air conditioning unit, clean bathroom, nice shower, and maid service daily.
Breakfast was ok - coffee machine and selection of meats/cheese/bread/toast/cereal/fruit/yoghurt. i didn't like the look of the fried food so i stuck with watermelon and yoghurt daily.

if you are planning on a trip to Rome i would 100% recommend the Omnia passes - i was reluctant at first but we paid 90euro for them online before we went and i couldn't imagine not having them! great to jump on and off buses, fast track entry in to attractions (the queue at the Colosseum alone looked like 4hrs in 30degree heat!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    397
    191
    67
    52
See reviews for
186
327
67
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When our expectations are exceeded by reality, I tend to give 5 stars. Such is the case with the Hotel Diana. This is not a 5 star hotel in the classic sense; however, for what we paid and what we expected, we were ecstatic. Great location, near Termini Station and an easy walk to many of Rome's sites. We booked three rooms for three couples, and everything went very smoothly - internet registration and processing from the US, check-in, availability of computer-printer (for boarding passes and a wee bit of work), and everything one might want in a mid-range hotel in a cosmopolitan city. Roof top breakfast was fun, scenic, and healthy. We also enjoyed drinks at night there. Room was smallish, but everything worked well and we slept well (maybe it was all the walking?). Lots of good restaurants nearby. Seemed to be a safe neighborhood. Easy access to taxis, metro, trains, and tour buses. Staff attentive and helpful. Aggravating per day charge for wi-fi - suck it up, hotels.... wi-fi is now as important as little shampoo and conditioner containers and should be built into the base price.

Room Tip: Street front rooms can be noisy, but air conditioner drowned out much of that. Higher floors seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very nice breakfast at roof garden, wide range of food selection.
The towel is not so clean, c somebody's hair on the towel which are not belongs to me.
Very close to Termini station, quite area but still easy to find restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is within many hotels, so tourists feel very safe. Everything with the accommodations and services were great. We had the Family Room, 1 double + 2 singles. Room was very clean, comfortable size, separate storage/closet area. Every morning we went up to the roof terrace for a breakfast buffet. Front desk tried their very best to speak English to us and were very helpful. The only complaint I had was that our room was not ready till after 1pm, when check-in was suppose to be 12noon. Most of the sites are at a walkable 15-20 minute distance. a few blocks away from the Metro - very centrally located. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: definitely choose a 4 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a good hotel, very well localized in Rome. You will stay close to Termini station where trains, metro, buses (specially hop on, hop off) can be found. The roof garden view is really amazing and it is very pleasant to have breakfast there, at least in the summer. This hotel has 2 lifts, which is particularly important since not all medium/high category hotels in Rome have and if you need to carry heavy luggage. One of them does not reach the reception floor,though, so you may need to wait longer than you wish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After traveling through Florence and Sorrento this hotel was a little disappointing in room size and appointments.
Our room faced the street and it was quite noisy but typical for a large city
Location was great for catching
Tours.
We had dinner in the roof top garden where they brought you the appetizer bit the rest was a buffet. It was worth it for the views.
This is also where the breakfast buffet was and it was again a bit of a disappointment compared to the other hotels that we had visited.
It was understaffed for the number of people using it and the staff seemed stressed.
The elevators were extremely slow and small. The staff were using it to take up luggage while guests had to wait..not spmething that one wanted to do while on precious vacation time.
I would suggest that they commit one elevator for luggage or at least wait for guests to use the elevator before ramming the luggage ahead.
Otherwise it was fine but if I were staying on Rome again I would not stay here,, I would try another.




  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary,NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a great family vacation in Italy and stayed at Hotel Diana based on recommendations from other family members. The entire staff was extremely helpful and pleasant.The hotel is also centrally located so we were able to walk to all the main sites (Vatican, Coliseum, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, ..... The roof top terrance also gave a nice view of the area. We only had breakfast at the hotel, but that was good. It was a great vacation !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana Roof Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Roof Garden

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 4, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Diana Roof Garden 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Hotel offering modern comforts and amenities, restaurant and bar; situated in the heart of Rome near the Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana Roof Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Diana Rome Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana Roof Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.