We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing quick getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cilicia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cilicia Hotel to your Saves list
Cilicia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #666 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
napoli
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very relaxing quick getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I found a deal on Groupon with this hotel and decided to spend three days in Rome. the hotel has a 3 star rating so we weren't holding our breath, especially after reading reviews that the staff were a bit rude. But when we got there, the staff were very polite and accommodating, the room was quick big, the bathroom was very nice, and the hotel is located in a quiet part of Rome, not too close to the center, just far out enough to be quiet and peaceful but close enough to public transportation and the tourist sites.
the room had a small television with many cable channels, a comfortable bed. my husband and i observe kosher strictly so when we brought our own food for dinner, the staff had no problem heating it up for us. not every place is willing to do this.
if i have to be very spoiled and picky my main problems were as follows (and if this is the worst i found, that makes this a really great hotel):
1. internet: the reception gives you a 12 hr. username and id (or as many as you need for the duration of your stay) but the internet signal in the room is not very strong. not strong enough to download a video online or to video-skype.
2. the shower: it was so small i couldn't close the doors or i wouldn't have had room to move around in it.
3. this last one is really looking for a bad needle in a haystack of really good: the sheets and towels had some holes in the them, and the fitted sheet on the bed wasn't fitted, so it pulled off a bit easily. but everything was clean.
to sum up: i would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a very pleasant stay in rome but not be too close to the busy center!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    60
    46
    12
    4
See reviews for
15
63
8
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kedzierzyn Kozle, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was real delight, we couldn't believe our luck, first visit to Rome, a journey into the unknown. We chose this hotel 'blind' and boy what a find. First impression was that we had actually checked into the wrong hotel! The parking facilities were great, right in front of the hotel, lovely gardens where you could take breakfast, and what a superb breakfast it was. The bedroom was clean and spacious with a spotlessly clean bathroom. There was a small problem with the wi-fi in the bedroom but there was a guest's computer in the hotel lounge. The staff were extremely friendly. The location was also great, a short walk to the bus stop (10 minutes to the city center) and a slightly longer walk to the underground railway. So all in all this is a great hotel to stay in. I thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: There is little traffic noise so it's never a problem, but for those who do have trouble sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we returned from a two night break yesterday_cannot fault this hotel_rooms excellent for grade of hotel_staff pleasant,polite and helpful.held luggage whilst we were waiting for transfer homewards_booked taxis etc for us to get around_not a rip off_excellent restaurant 10 min stroll up the road_hopefully will go back_made our birthday treats memorable without upsetting the bank manager............sue and steve

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

we recently visited this hotel during our trip to rome
its an absolute gem
much nicer than we expected
rooms are lovely - only fault lighting not very good in bedroom
its also a fair walk from the tube
but staff will always order a taxi for you
they serve a magnificent breakfast too
also lovely gardens to relax in

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed at the Cilicia Hotel for 3 nights and everything was ok. The receptionist that works in the night shift was speaking pretty good english and he was nice... When we left the two ladies were... not very polite, but probably we've been to so many hotels that now we expect people to be friendly and to say at least "hello" and "goodbye" when you enter/leave a hotel. The room was clean, facing the street...much noise, but after you walk a lot of hours in Rome and try to visit everything that you can... when you get back to the hotel... you have such a deep sleep that you don't care about the sound :)) The breakfast... for a lady, it's enough food...but for a man... it's bad. Slices of cheese and ham (one type), some pastries, cereals with yogurt, coffee, they say orange juice...but...:), fruits. No eggs or omelette or something warm... And the girls from the restaurant don't even say "hello"... and not even a word if they see you are looking for something and you can not find it... 1 km distance from the Metro station... about 20 minutes. When you come from the Metro, the first sign to the Hotel says "500 m", the second one...after walking 4-5 minutes says 600 m :)) and after other 4-5 minutes...another one says 600 m :))) it's funny :)) Anyway, on a scale from 1 to 10... i would say a 6 .. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Good:
Room was clean.
Free internet

Bad:
Matrass felt like concrete.
Receptionists not friendly (except one).
Bad breakfast service eg not asking if you like coffee or tea.
Shower was very small and water sometimes heats up suddenly, a very dangerous combination leading to burning of shoulders and back.
Location:
- out of the city, but not at a nice quiet location.
They did not have a city map with the hotel on it?

Room Tip: Not on the front side: busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Picking a hotel in Rome can be tough, particularly if you’re travelling in a peak season (vacation or a busy European bank holiday). Central hotels are easily too expensive.
The alternative is to stay outside the centre but somewhere with good transport links.

The Cilicia fits the latter category. On the one hand, the metro is too far out to be counted on, it’s a good 20 minute walk up the street, hardly worth the hassle.

The bus network though is likely to be your best friend while staying at the Cilicia. Here are tips for the 3/4 buses you should keep in mind, departing from Piazza Zama which is a 5 minute walk up from the hotel:
360 brings you to the Colosseum area
673 brings you to Termini
628 to the Piazza Venezia / Argentina / Piazza Navona area (maybe even the Vatican if you are willing to endure the 15 minute walk from there) and ultimately goes to Giardino which is a 5 minute walk from the Ponte della Musica which you should cross to visit the MAXXI Modern Art Museum and the Auditorium (Music).

However be careful regarding the "return leg" as during my stay (late Oct.'11) 628 could not be relied on to come back (it was so infrequent bordering on non-existent!); a good alternative if you're in the city centre is bus 87 which is frequent and comes through Argentina to Piazza Venezia and brings you to Piazza Tuscolo, an easy 10 minutes walk up the road from the hotel (hence a descent when coming back from downtown in the evening or night).
In the morning you should count on 45-50 mins door to door from hotel to city centre if you're going by bus. Do keep in mind that traffic in Rome is hectic, what looks like a relatively short distance can take some time to cover. Also, during rush hours buses can be absolutely packed!

As for nearby restaurants, right next to Piazza Tuscolo is a nice place called Mangiafuoco with decent prices (15 to 20 Eur per person) and good food. But there are few decent places to eat close to hotel, you're better off dining in the city centre (Campo dei Fiori and surroundings, for instance). For any die hard AS Roma fans out there though the most fanatical of Roma café/restaurants sits 100 metres from the hotel, Co re Di Roma it’s called (when exiting the hotel to the right, take the first left then the first right).

As for location positives: it’s rather close to an entrance to the Via Appia Antica and apparently the info. point is rather close by (unfortunately I missed the opportunity to see it). It’s simple enough: exit to the left of the hotel and walk Via Cilicia for some 200 metres, an exit to the right descending from Via Cilicia onto the Via Appia Antica.

Rooms are comfortable and large enough (sorry that I didn’t take any pictures, but the hotel pictures can be relied upon). Breakfast is simple as it tend to be in Rome hotels of this standard, but it's just enough.

For the price I paid (just under 70 Eur per night per room incl. breakfast for 2) I have no complaints really. I got what I expected and I consider it very good value. If you plan on leaving the hotel in the morning and to come back late in the evening or night, you know what to expect and you will be fine.

If it’s your first time in Rome you may be a little frustrated at the location and prefer somewhere more central - your pick. If you’ve been to Rome though and willing to endure a bit of walking (as you should in Rome, it's a walker's city by excellence) and public transportation it’s absolutely fine and you will relish the money that you saved on the lodging.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cilicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cilicia Hotel

Address: Via Cilicia 7, 00179 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cilicia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cilicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cilicia Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cilicia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.