We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the embassy district” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Londra And Cargill

Save Saved
You added Hotel Londra And Cargill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Londra And Cargill
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Piazza Sallustio, 00187 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jewel in the embassy district”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

After long days of touring Rome, it was wonderful to return to our room at the Hotel Londra and Cargill. Rooms were spacious and very well appointed, and the neighborhood provided both fine restaurant choices and convenient access to many of the sites. An exceptional bartender helped to refresh our tired souls at the end of the day, and a top flight concierge made excellent restaurant recommendations and was able to arrange transportation (for eight of us) on short notice. If you're looking for a pool, sauna or fitness room, look elsewhere; but for a comfortable room with great service, this will do nicely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    285
    60
    15
    6
See reviews for
79
277
10
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The only thing that let this hotel down was that it was a little further out from the sights than other hotels but apart from that it was a fantastic place to stay and worth that little extra distance for the price, the rooms, the service and the very good breakfast. All round the hotel was great and i can not fault it at all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night in this hotel and were happy that we had chosen to stay there on a friend's recommendation. We had an upgrade to a junior suite which was spacious and well appointed with 2 balconies. The choice at breakfast was excellent and the service throughout the hotel exceptional.

We looked on Tripadvisor to see which restaurants other guests had recommended whilst staying there and took a list of 6 with us. Our choice on the first night was not too good and can't even remember the name, but it was next door to Ristorante La Pentolaccia on Via Falvia, which the hotel recommended and where we ate twice. The food and service were good although the seating is rather cosy - but that is the norm in Rome. The other restaurant we ate at was one from our list, the Osteleria 44 on Via Aureliana. This was modern spacious and very good and we would recommend this too.

Room Tip: We took the option of an offer for an upgrade to a junior suite and we very pleased with the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was booked for me for a business trip so I had no choice. The first thing I noticed on entering this hotel was a Tripadvisor certificate proudly displayed at reception which gave some degree of confidence.

The hotel is well decorated and maintained and has a fairly classy feel to it. It is off the main street on a small square which houses some Roman ruins (which didn't seem to be accessible to look around) and was very quiet when I was there.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and advised on local restaurants and on directions. They also arranged a taxi back to the airport which cost 45 Euros, which was cheaper than the taxi I picked up at the airport on the way in which was 55 Euros.

The breakfast was very good although there was nothing hot served.

The room was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was quite powerful which is always a plus.

Overlall it was was an excellent hotel but doesn't get 5 stars from me for two reasons. It doesn't have a restaurant which was a bit of pain when I arrived as it was quite late and I had to go out to find somehting to eat. It is not too badly located but I would have preferred somewhere a little closer to a metro station or to the centre (took me about 45 mins to walk down to the main historic area at a slow stroll. However, now I know where it is and know my way around I would be happy to use it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I just recently came back from trip to Europe. Part of the trip was 7 day stay in Rome. I booked Londra and Cargill hotel via expedia as a part of flight and hotel deal.
Hotel is located in central part of old Rome: walking distance( around 15 - 20 min)to Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and big Termini Station.
We were 10 min walk to Bernini Metro station as well.
The hotel is located in the nice and quiet area , not much traffic there so really nice to rest after busy days.
Rooms are nice and clean and bathrooms are large.The hotel offers breakfest buffet and it was important to us to have breakfest inluded. I found meals in Rome very expensive so free breakfest idea worked well.
Breakfest were very nice there..lots of choices.
The service in the hotel was very friendly, they spoke good English and they were eager to help you with any questions you may have.
The Wi-Fi was slow and for me it only worked by the reception desk not from the hotel room. They also had a computer in the lobby for hotel guests to use. Overall the hotel worked for us although I wouldn't say it was true 4* hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A real find-Great location - Quiet area
Walking distance to main tourist sights and local good restaurants.
We stayed just one night prior to joining a cruise - but will return to spend more time in Rome
Very helpful staff- room very comfortable and very clean.
Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Situated in a quiet upmarket Government area, this hotel provides a perfect base for exploring Rome without the hassles of being in the main tourist zone. The room was excellent (very clean and well maintained) and the bed was HUGE. Breakfast was 'full continental'; delicious and plentiful. All staff - from reception to the waiters and chambermaids - were friendly and helpful. In short (and we don't routinely look at the world through rose tinted glasses) this was a very good hotel with staff that appeared to enjoy their jobs. Recommended - no caveats. Tip for eating - use the local restaurants which are cheaper and better than the city centre tourist ones. We didn't find better ice cream than that served in the gelateria located about 10 mtrs from the hotel entrance (and we sampled many during our 'research').

Room Tip: Higher rooms have smaller windows but should be quieter (although the area is quieter than most of R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Londra And Cargill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Londra And Cargill

Address: 18 Piazza Sallustio, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#132 Business Hotel in Rome
#155 Family Hotel in Rome
#158 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Londra And Cargill 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Londra And Cargill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Londra And Cargill Rome
Londra And Cargill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Londra And Cargill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.