We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Service, Location, And Accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Russie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Russie to your Saves list
Hotel De Russie
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy (Campo Marzio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
West Hollywood
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellence in Service, Location, And Accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel De Russie exemplifies the hallmarks of a true 5-Star Hotel at every turn. From the staff to the property, I love this place. The location is superb. From the hotel all of Rome is at your doorstep.

I am sure you could find cheaper, but you can't find much better than this hotel.

A good night sleep and delicious food with outstanding service best sums it up. I love this property and can recommend it highly to the most discerning traveler.

Room Tip: Rely on the Concierge staff. They are great. Suites are superb, and the basic rooms are good. I did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    147
    54
    36
    22
See reviews for
140
326
29
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Sadly only had one night to stay here in June. Warm, attentive welcome, upgrade to a spacious, attractively furnished room and a lovely dinner in the gorgeous garden setting. Service from staff team was excellent with the best post checkout experience ever - not just the standard luggage storage for the day but also the use of the hotels wellness spa facilities to shower (including locker, towels and toiletries) and refresh pre overseas flight. Will definitely stay again next visit to Rome.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was staying near the hotel and decided to take my wife for the Saturday brunch as it was her birthday. As other have said the location and setting is great. A garden oasis in the heart of Rome close to the Piazza del Popolo, Trevi Fountain ,the Spanish Steps.Unlike what some have said i found the staff to be great, friendly service and smiles from all, When offered a glass of prosecco I just told the waiter to leave the bottle, a smile and a wink and it was done.. The food was not the endless buffet brunch of North America, but good Italian meats , pasta ,salads ,pasta cooked to order, and great desserts.Surpise was when our waiter arrived with a tiramisu prepared as a bithday cake and sang her the italian birthday song.I don't remember even mentioning it was her birthday let alone asking them to do anything special. Really couldn't ask at the time how they knew, but they did, and I was a hero. Priceless

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My son and I stayed at Hotel De Russie, a Rocco Forte property, in Rome during Easter week. This is an amazing property conveniently located, yet quiet and intimate. Our room was just beautiful; the marble bath was old world, but modern at the same time. The linens and all appointments were definitely 5 star.

We both really loved the breakfast buffet. There was plenty of choice and the breakfast room is located facing the interior courtyard so it was sunny every morning. In fact, the courtyard is a gem in and of itself...you would hardly know you were in Rome. It was absolutely perfect for a drink or coffee after a day of seeing the sights.

The hotel's location could not be beat...we walked to many attractions including the Spanish steps and shopping, including high end boutiques such as Prada and Gucci. The concierge made several wonderful recommendations for dinner, many close by, so no need for a taxi.

I could not have been more pleased by the service. When the tour guide I had booked through another service canceled at the last minute, the concierge arranged a tour of the city with a private guide on a golf cart! I was skeptical at first, but it turned out to be a brilliant solution for touring with a 9 year old. It meant we could go further without worrying about parking and or tiring out my son. When I wanted to do some shopping on my own, the hotel arranged for an English speaking sitter for a few hours to entertain my son.

This was a very special trip for both of us made all the more special by this excellent property.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife, daughter and I made our annual trip to Rome and stayed at the De Russie again. We didn't love the room given to us when we checked in. The front desk moved us to the most amazing room overlooking the garden.

We had a wonderful stay. The concierges are really the best at any hotel in the world.

I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. Not too big and not too small. It was in a convenient location which was within walking distance to many shopping areas and wonderful sites. The courtyard was a wonderful place to have an afternoon espresso or cocktail and the gardens within the hotel were so beautiful and completely walled in so it was a safe place for the kids to run around while my husband and I had a drink. The food was good and the service was exceptional.

Room Tip: Make sure to request a room that is not located on the street. It can be very noisy at night. We u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The first time I got to know The Rocco Forte Group was three years ago in Sicily where they have a superb Gulf resort which was very children friendly. This time, I went to Rome with my son, the hotel was very children friendly as well, the service was excellent from A to Z, I had a minor complain, which was dealt with promptly and efficiently on high level. The hotel is located in the centre of the city, with a beautiful garden to enjoy your excellent food in tranquility. The room we had, was a standard room size, nicely furnished and decorated with sufficient space to move around (bathroom as well). To be brief, the hotel managed to combine the Italian style, flair of communicating with a joyful spirit to life, with a German efficiency.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Russie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Russie

Address: Via Del Babuino 9, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rome
#18 Family Hotel in Rome
#19 Business Hotel in Rome
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#44 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel De Russie 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel De Russie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Russie Hotel
De Russie Rome
Russie Hotel Rome
Russie Rome
Hotel De Russie Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Russie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.