We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Venere.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Statilia 23, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino / Termini)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #490 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Location: 10 min walk from metro station Manzoni, or 2 minute walk to piazza maggiore which has multiple bus and tram connections to termini station, campo do fiore, colosseum and rome city centre. You will also find a super market, mobile shop (Tim and Vodafone), gellateria, pizza shops, restaurants, and cafes all within 5-10 min walking distance. There are also ruins right outside the hotel!
Hotel amenities and comfort: beautiful hotel with lovely paintings, a mix of modern and antique furniture. Rooms were extremely comfortable. Wi-fi is available in all the rooms for free. Delicious breakfast served every morning (eggs, bacon, deli meats, cheeses, croissants, spreads, fruit,cereal and yum Italian coffee). Staff was very helpful - they have free umbrellas for guests if it rains.
My wife and I spent 10 days in rome, florence and venice and this was our favourite hotel. I highly recommend staying here. Value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    183
    64
    32
    13
See reviews for
29
93
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel Emona is located just two metro stops from Termini, or a short cab ride away. The area that the hotel is located is adorable and well kept. It felt like we were more local than in other parts of Rome. I would come back to this hotel and certainly this area again next time. The hotel itself is extremely quirky which adds to the nice feel of the hotel. If you have little kids, they might be giggling at all the paintings of naked people!

Our room and bathroom were very clean, and the bed was actually softer than most hotels I've stayed at in Italy. We had to leave early for the airport, so we missed out on the breakfast. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through the Expedia secret hotel deal. It was advertised as a 4*, 3 person sharing room in the Rome Termini station area.

The rooms are ridiculously small - we were told that our room had been upgraded as there were 3 of us, but we were still cramped for room (I dread to think what the non-upgraded room was like). We could also not change rooms as the hotel was fully booked for the holiday season.
Our tiny triple room consisted of a double bed, and possibly the most uncomfortable sofa bed ever (we did not read the expedia secret saver fine print about the triple occupancy until it was too late unfortunately). There were no kettle/tea making facilities in the room, and though the TV had 500 channels, only 1 was English (CNN)!.
The bathroom's sliding door was see through and did not lock (completely inappropriate).However, there was a jacuzzi tub!
The biggest disappointment was the distance of the hotel from the Termini Station - it is right on the outskirts of the Termini area (about a 20 min Fast walk).

On the plus side, the free Wifi had a good connection, and breakfast was reasonable. Some of the staff were friendly, others grouchy. Nearby there are 2 restaurants and 1 off-license shop.

Based on the facilities/room, this hotel should only be 2.5 stars.
Definetely NOT worth its price (>£85/night with Expedia deal), as you can easily find a hotel in a better location. Very disappointed at Expedia for flogging this hotel on their secret saver deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelaquaeductus, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Emona Aquaeductus, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel Emona Aquaeductus for your recent stay in Rome and for sharing your own opinion about our hotel and its services.
We take note about your comments and we’d like to clarify some discrepancies.

1) “The female desk attendant was rude on arrival because I didn't speak Italian “
The staff working at reception is fluently multilingual and its every days duty is to switch from one language to another while making check-in , checking-out or dealing with our guests.
we honestly don’t understand how and why it could happen that someone, very fluent in Italian, English and German, like the mentioned “ female desk attendant”, could became rude just because a guest speaks only English.
However this should never happen in the Emona Aquaeductus hotel and I do apologise in any case

Hereafter we would rather refer to some comments written by other TripAdvisor Traveler Reviewers:

“ ….we arrived in the late morning, after nearly 24 hours of travel, and were warmly greeted and promptly let into our room.

“ ..Reception was generally staffed by people who were helpful and friendly, or at worse efficient “


2) “the advertised four star hotel is more a two star”
As far as the above four star category complain, it is well known that one of the most important features in this category is that the Hotel must have a degree of sophistication and a sense of “ exclusiveness” besides the good level of service associated with the category.
The Hotel Emona Aquaeductus is an historical Liberty Villa, with splendid marble floors, furnished with authentic Thonet and various unique Liberty antiques, paintings made by a Roman Artist, large lounge and parking spot in the garden, two security exits and full fire alarm system.
All the mentioned elements are distinctive and determinant for the city of Rome to assign the 4 stars to our hotel .
To express my opinion on this subject I just rely on the following independent written comments from other TripAdvisor Travelers:

“ I loved the unusual colour scheme of the rooms and the eclectic mix of paintings and furniture.
A little gem of a hotel and a great find “

“I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, homely, with friendly staff . It was excellent value”

“The garden -- complete with flowers, fountains, and Nero the resident cat -- is a lovely place to eat breakfast and relax in the evening”

“This is a well kept villa, we loved this hotel, especially the courtyard outside where we would have drinks and meet travellers from around the world. very well maintained and clean.”

So considering that the above comments show good appreciations for the Emona Aquaeductus hotel, we indeed feel that your unhappy stay in our hotel was an unfortunate case of misunderstanding, so let’s hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the future!

Cordially
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The female desk attendant was rude on arrival because I didn't speak Italian and the advertised four star hotel is more a two star. The single room I had was smaller than the two star rooms I've stayed in Paris. Disappointed!

Room Tip: Don't be misled by advertised room pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelaquaeductus, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Emona Aquaeductus, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel Emona Aquaeductus for your recent stay in Rome and for sharing your own opinion about our hotel and its services.
We take note about your comments and we’d like to clarify some discrepancies.

1) “The female desk attendant was rude on arrival because I didn't speak Italian “
The staff working at reception is fluently multilingual and its every days duty is to switch from one language to another while making check-in , checking-out or dealing with our guests.
we honestly don’t understand how and why it could happen that someone, very fluent in Italian, English and German, like the mentioned “ female desk attendant”, could became rude just because a guest speaks only English.
However this should never happen in the Emona Aquaeductus hotel and I do apologise in any case

Hereafter we would rather refer to some comments written by other TripAdvisor Traveler Reviewers:

“ ….we arrived in the late morning, after nearly 24 hours of travel, and were warmly greeted and promptly let into our room.

“ ..Reception was generally staffed by people who were helpful and friendly, or at worse efficient “


2) “the advertised four star hotel is more a two star”
As far as the above four star category complain, it is well known that one of the most important features in this category is that the Hotel must have a degree of sophistication and a sense of “ exclusiveness” besides the good level of service associated with the category.
The Hotel Emona Aquaeductus is an historical Liberty Villa, with splendid marble floors, furnished with authentic Thonet and various unique Liberty antiques, paintings made by a Roman Artist, large lounge and parking spot in the garden, two security exits and full fire alarm system.
All the mentioned elements are distinctive and determinant for the city of Rome to assign the 4 stars to our hotel .
To express my opinion on this subject I just rely on the following independent written comments from other TripAdvisor Travelers:

“ I loved the unusual colour scheme of the rooms and the eclectic mix of paintings and furniture.
A little gem of a hotel and a great find “

“I found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, homely, with friendly staff . It was excellent value”

“The garden -- complete with flowers, fountains, and Nero the resident cat -- is a lovely place to eat breakfast and relax in the evening”

“This is a well kept villa, we loved this hotel, especially the courtyard outside where we would have drinks and meet travellers from around the world. very well maintained and clean.”

So considering that the above comments show good appreciations for the Emona Aquaeductus hotel, we indeed feel that your unhappy stay in our hotel was an unfortunate case of misunderstanding, so let’s hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the future!

Cordially
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I also booked this hotel as a secret deal where you don't find out the name of the hotel until you pay for it. It was in a nice, quiet area, not as close to Termini as I imagined, which could be a good thing. We used the metro to get around - about a 5 to 8 min walk from the hotel. Our room was a bit small, but clean. I found the decorations in the lobby quite strange and felt a bit cluttered, but the front yard was quite pretty and peaceful. For this price, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel for the price. The decor is very eclectic, the staff helpful and the breakfast was wonderful. Although it was too chilly to enjoy, the courtyard was very quaint.We brought in Pizza and beer and enjoyed it in the lobby. We were only there one night but it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Like several other reviewers, we booked an online 'secret deal' where you only discover the hotel you will be staying in after you have made the booking, and I was also a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews. Having stayed there, I do wonder what some reviewers were expecting for their money. Perhaps a four star rating is a little generous - we thought it felt more like a 3 star hotel, but a lovely little place.

The location is fine, and the hotel is easy to find. It's a 5-10 minute walk from Manzone Metro Station. The hotel is just off Porta Maggiore, through which the routes of several trams pass.

Reception was generally staffed by people who were helpful and friendly, or at worse efficient. Breakfast offered a good selection, and the hours - 7.30 to 10am were convenient.
Our room was quite small, and storage space was limited but it was clean and comfortable. We had a balcony which looked out over Nero's aquaduct. There was a safe, TV, and a minibar. There is a free Wifi connection, which worked fine throughout our stay. Large clean towels and shower gell/shampoo in the bathroom.

As far as complaints about the noise go, we didn't find it to be a problem. Yes, the sound of the traffic is audible, but it isn't particularly intrusive. We found lowering the metal shutter at night blocked out a lot of noise. Perhaps we were fortunate not to have excessively noisy neighbours, but we both slept very well.

And what I've not mentioned yet is the cost. By booking a 'secret deal' online, our accommodation worked out at just under £20pppn, which was *fantastic* value for money.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay - three nights of comfortable sleep and a hearty breakfast to set us up for the day in Rome. We would recommend it to anyone looking for excellent value accommodation, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Emona Aquaeductus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emona Aquaeductus

Also Known As:
Emona Aquaeductus Hotel
Emona Aquaeductus Rome
Address: Via Statilia 23, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino / Termini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emona Aquaeductus 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Emona Aquaeductus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Emona Aquaeductus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Emona Aquaeductus to your Saves list