We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable family-run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranieri Rome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ranieri Rome to your Saves list
Hotel Ranieri Rome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Venti Settembre 43, 00187 Rome, Italy (Ludovisi / Via Veneto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #307 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Reasonable family-run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed one night in Rome at this hotel in October and I cannot really say anything wrong about it.

Hotel Ranieri is located just a bit outside of the hustle and bustle of the city but you can easily walk to the historical places, which was what we did. The room we were assigned to was overlooking the main road. However, at night, we did not have much problems with noise. We were out the whole day so we can't say too much about the noise during the day. Any how, we kept the windows closed so that helped.

Getting around the city from the hotel is not that bad. We took a cab from the hotel to the Vatican City and it cost us about 10 Euros. If you choose to take public transport, the nearest metro station is about 15 minutes away by foot. There are also buses that ply the road in front of the hotel. The receptionist will help you out with this.

The room we stayed in was big. There was enough room for our luggage and we did not face problems of bumping into each other.

One interesting thing about the hotel is its elevator. It is tiny and you might need to wait a bit for the elevator to arrive. Even then, you may need to wait for it to come by again if it is already occupied.

Breakfast is in the basement which has a pretty decent spread. Can't complain about it.

For people driving to the hotel, you can park outside the hotel to unload your luggage. Double park, it seems to be the norm here. Then, you can ask the receptionist to call a garage nearby to come park your car. When you check out, she will call the garage again and that is when you pay for the parking. If I remember correctly, it is about 25 Euros per day.

A reminder to foreigners who are coming to Rome. The hotels need your passport to check you in. It is the law. We did not have ours because they were at my wife's apartment in Milan. Thankfully, we were able to find scanned pdf copies of our passports in our emails (thank goodness for cloud technology) otherwise, it would have been a long drive back to Milan!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    155
    49
    11
    4
See reviews for
75
107
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for five nights in November this year, i was very satisfied by the service, the hotel facilities and the excellent cleanliness and by the accessibility to the monuments in the center. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel is in a quiet area in easy reach of the city centre by foot in 15 minutes or by bus. Despite being on a road with government offices the street behind the hotel has a number of restaurants within a couple of minutes walk. The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain areas are about 10 minutes walk with plenty of restaurants as well.
The twin room was of sufficient size and comfortable after a hard days exploring in Rome but the bathroom was rather narrow. It was kept very clean and we experienced no problems. There is a handy safe in the room for passports etc.
The breakfast was buffet service which was the same each day and adequate, rather than spectacular.
Overall a good saty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This quaint hotel is situated across from the Ministry of Finance in a nice area of Rome.
Frederika, at the front desk, was helpful and friendly and quite professional. We loved the tiny "lift" that went up the center of a beautiful marble circular stairway. Our room was clean and bright and very quiet. The bath was of decent size, and had beautiful tile work. A lovely free breakfast buffet was available every morning with fresh fruits, juices, pastries, cereal, eggs and bacon.
The hotel is within close walking distance of shopping, restaurants, and the city bus.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room 431, was on front side of hotel, facing the Ministry of Finance and busy Via Venti Settembr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and we found this one a good base to explore Rome. A lot of the attractions are within walking distance but having said that the street itself is a quiet one.
Romina at the front desk was especially helpful with suggestions and advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Hotel Ranieri is a budget hotel it was very clean and the breakfast was better than average. Well attended and the breakfast attendants are very friendly. Front desk staff was o.k. Nothing outstanding. The location is not great you do have to walk a bit to fountain of Trevi and other attractions. Though it is around a 15-20 min walk to main train station. I would not recommend this if you have small children, due to the long walk to get there from mayor attractions, and front Desk personnel was not the most friendly as I said they are just ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at Ranieri Hotel for one night in march 2012 but i have to say for certain i'll come back
here.About the location of the hotel i just want to say that is the best, the end line of a lot of buses is
there so is very easy to reach every historic site in Rome.The rooms are small,but furnished with good taste and
very clean.
Trust me when i tell you, the prices are good and for the breakfast just one word : amazing !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ranieri Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranieri Rome

Address: Via Venti Settembre 43, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#213 Family Hotel in Rome
#248 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ranieri Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranieri is a perfect choice for your stay. For years Ranieri hotel, downtown Rome, has been the ideal spot for those coming to the Eternal City for business or leisure. Ranieri is an independent family owned and managed hotel with excellent location that allows you to reach the historical and archaeological sites of Rome, visit the museums and join the action of the business district or exciting roman street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ranieri Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ranieri

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranieri Rome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.