We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in small family hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonya

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sonya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 1,263 hotels in Rome
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in small family hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel was clean, the room a typical European size, the breakfast was fantastic and the hotel staff could not have been more gracious or helpful. I loved the European amenities like bidet and towel warmer, things we don't see in the US. We had no problem with the free Internet and enjoyed being able to catch up on things back home after being on a cruise. The hotel is in easy walking distance to most of the major sites and we loved getting out to "stroll" in the evening with the local population. We will be recommending Hotel Sonya to friends who will be in Rome this summer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    356
    88
    26
    12
See reviews for
180
379
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torun, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Excellent location, close to most places you want to visit in Rome. Nice, spacious rooms and fine breakfasts. Close to the station-which makes it easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a cruise across the Atlantic to Galveston Texas. Enchanting place that accomodates both tourists and people who actually live in the building. It's located about 20 mins walk to the Colosseum. Rooms were smallish but fine for us. Food in the dining room was acceptable and very nicely presented. Yes we would return. The price was great and it oozed the Italian charm one looks for on their first visit to this beautiful country. Definately worth a try!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love the breakfast as it has a wide variety of selection with quality. The breakfast receptionist is very friendly and provide very good service too!

The traditional lift is interesting but the room and bathroom are quite small. Wifi not very reliable and quite slow. But for the price, it's a great value.

The location is not very convenient. While within walking distance to the termini, it's quite a tough walk across busy and rocky roads with your heavy baggages.

Room Tip: Tap water in Italy generally taste weird with tiny particles, so best to purchase material/still wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews; it sounded too good to be true at the price. But the reviews were accurate. The service started months ahead of our stay when I made the reservations by email. The staff responded, confirmed the reservation, and gave a detailed list of the charges - within minutes of my request. Weeks later I had to extend our stay one day. No problem - all confirmed within minutes and again a review of charges.
On arrival, we were greeted, registered, offered restaurant suggestions, and ushered to our room promptly.
The room was large, clean and comfortable. The king bed was comfortable. There was an in-room refrigerator and safe. Floors were marble and so was the bathroom - walls and all. Bathroom was adequately-sized, but not spacious. Nice large shower. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel as well as several PCs in the lobby. There were also laptops available for use in the room.
Breakfast - included with the room - was very good: a nice selection of meats, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, cereals. Once seated, staff will bring juices, coffee and make espresso, cappuccino, tea.
Great central, safe location: about 2 blocks from Roma Termini, across the street from the Opera House, a block from the Ministry of the Interior, easy walking to many tourist destinations. Many very good, friendly and reasonable restaurants in the immediate vicinity. The dining room at breakfast was a great information exchange among guests; we were directed by other guests to some wonderful neighborhood eateries.
The staff were friendly, fun and very helpful. We hated to leave after our 4-night stay. As if €61 per night were not reasonable enough, on checkout the rate was discounted for payment in cash.
I wouldn't hesitate to return to Hotel Sonya. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile


We stayed at the Hotel Sonya in Nov. Rooms were good, bathroom are smallish. Hotel is very central and easy to walk to most tourist sites and train station. Has a very quaint old lift which is fun. A hotel is for the budget conscience, great value. Staff were very helpful and knowledgable.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Sonya in 2011 and had a great experience. In planning to come back to Rome in November 2102, we decided to stay once more at Hotel Sonya, and we were again very pleased. This is a family owned establishment and the owners are always in sight.

This nondescript hotel (right across from the Opera House - about 2 blocks from the Termini) offers excellent value, clean, comfortable rooms, and exceptional service. Our stay started with greetings from the same staff as last year (Ivan, Babul, Joy, Arif). Our newly renovated room on the 5th floor exceeded European room standards. It was large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, with plenty of hot water.

The Hotel provides a 'breakfast' buffet each day, seated in three separate dining rooms, and with coffee service provided by Arif and Joy. They served home-made breads, fresh fruit, pastries, and egg dish, sliced meats and yogurt. Did I mention the cappuccinos?

The staff offered tips on touring, nearby restaurants, metro stations, and grocery stores.

We recommend Hotel Sonya highly. Nice accommodations, nice staff, and location, location, location.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the newly renovated 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome
Address: Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#139 Family Hotel in Rome
#227 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, T4B, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sonya to your Saves list