We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved Sonya!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonya to your Saves list
Hotel Sonya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #324 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“loved Sonya!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent four days at the Hotel Sonya in late October. I was very pleased with everything. It exceeded our expectations and the breakfast was wonderful, maybe the highlight. They provide so many options and wonderful pastries and different coffees. The service was top notch. The elevator was interesting, but reliable. This hotel is convenient to many locations. My husband's only complaint was that the bed was too hard, but that was it. I would recommend the Sonya to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    423
    120
    35
    26
See reviews for
232
476
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 1 day before our cruise. Great location, room, and breakfast. Rooms are very clean and a nice size for Europe. Very helpful staff. Close to good restaurants, train station, and on-off tour bus. Excellent value if you stay there after the seasonal price reduction in November. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can have a bit of street noise, but not very bad. Select rooms on upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Sonya for you stay in Rome.

On the other hand, we really apreciate the time that you have taken for tell us about your stay with us because your opinions and comments are helpful to us for improving our service and for achieve our guest satisfaction.

Hoping we will have another opportunity in welcoming you to Hotel Sonya for provide the best of our attention to you.

Best regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you are traveling to Rome and want to feel that you are welcome and well taken care of please go to Hotel Sonya on Via del Viminale. We stayed there this past November and were very well taken care of. Our trip began by getting lost on the way to the hotel so when they welcomed us and refered us to Viminale Bar across the street where we calmed our travel frazeled nerves while waiting for our room to be ready we were impressed They went on to help us learn about the Metro, where to have dinner, where to shop etc etc. They even moved us to a warmer room when the weather turned cold and our room had no heat. The people who are at the front desk understand the meaning of hospiltality. We recommed them to one and all who want to experience the best of Old Roman care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Rome, as well as for your kind comments about the hotel, breakfast and staff; be sure that I will share them with the entire team.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at the Hotel Sonya was an incredible experience because our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations. Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Hotel Sonya.

Kind regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparta, new jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just spent a week at Hotel Sonya, could not have picked a better location or hotel. Convenient for all we did. Walked to bus etc. The hotel help was as nice as could be. The hotel concierge Babul was asked for recommendations and they were on the money every time! Happy to go back....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Proprietario at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is very nice to hear your kind comments about the Hotel Sonya ! We are really proud that you had such a wonderfull experience and our hospitality met your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Walkable distance to most of the attractions and the hotel was closed to the termini and metro. The rooms were spacious and clean. Loved having breakfast which got our energy going. The front desk staff were nice and so were the waiters. I would definitely stay here again when I visit next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Rome It is very nice for us to know that your experience in our Hotel was the best you have experience!!

I will trasmit to all the staff your kind comments and particulary to the Reception desk and the breakfast staff.

Client’s satisfaction is our ultimate commitment and we would like to thank you again for your comments.

Hoping to accommodate you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel is near the main terminal station in Rome, which allows for access to the metro and train lines. Not a lot of tourist stuff in the location, but with the buses and metro, they can be gotten to easily.

The hotel itself has an authentic look to it. The elevator was pretty unique. The breakfast was great. Hot food, cereal, fruit, breads, pastries, etc. The staff was kind and relaxed. The rooms were fine for European standards, though a bit small for American tastes. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!It is a pleasure to know that you had a great time in the Hotel Sonya.

We hope to see you soon in Rome and welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We shared 4 to a room, so it was a bit tight. We expected that. The room and bath was clean and adequate. Most of the front staff were wonderfully helpful, especially since we had to stay an extra night because of Hurricane Sandy. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the wait staff were quiet pleasant. This hotel is close to the train station, which is a big help. Easy walking to most of the sites.

Room Tip: This is a European hotel, not 'large' like the American hotels, but that added to the charm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel Sonya and for publishing such inspiring and motivating words on Tripadvisor, which will help us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I am delighted with your comments about the staff, do not hesitate that I will share them with the entire team.

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Hotel Sonya.

Best regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Opera Roma
Hotel Opera Roma
#387 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Selene Roma
Hotel Selene Roma
#124 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Esquilino
Aberdeen Hotel
Aberdeen Hotel
#258 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Oceania
Hotel Oceania
#222 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#255 of 1,267 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Dorica
Hotel Dorica
#198 of 1,267 in Rome
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#145 Family Hotel in Rome
#277 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.