We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonya to your Saves list
Hotel Sonya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sonya from Nov 22-29, 2011. We are writing to commend the wonderful staff at this hotel. From the moment we checked in and until our departure, every staff member treated us well. At our early check in, Ivan graciously offered us to have some breakfast and told us our room would be ready in about one hour. This was greatly appreciated, since we had been flying all night. Joy escorted us to our room and assisted us with our luggage. Our room, 540, was comfortable and exceptionally clean. The daily maid service was excellent.

Babu and Ivan both assisted us in obtaining reservations for the Borghese museum, and directed us to local restaurants which were exceptional in cuisine and value for money.
The breakfast served was more than ample, and Joy made sure we had juice and cappuccino each morning. We even had the pleasure of meeting Ms. Sonya, and Babu translated our enjoyment of her hotel. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and definitely plan to stay there again on our next trip to Rome.
Thanks again for a wonderful stay in your fabulous city.

Room Tip: Fifth floor rooms are recently renovated. Modern bath and nice decor. Free Wi Fi also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us!

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your room and our amenities! Our staff does a great job of putting the guest first and expediting their requests. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Thank you so much for making us your home in Rome!

Warmest Regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    388
    104
    31
    18
See reviews for
207
432
37
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bsearched
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days before a cruise. It was perfect. We walked everywhere. Little far from the Vatican, but still walking distance for an active family. The hotel was beautiful, breakfast was awesome, and the staff was great. If we visit Rome again, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Manager at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear - bsearched -
We very much appreciate the time and effort to post this review and are of course delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there is anything else we can do don't hesitate to email us via the website.
We look forward to future visits and wish you the very best.
Warmest Regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Sonya on our second trip to Rome for a few days precruise. We loved the Opera Theater area, as it is so close to all transportation and surrounding shops and restaurants are very reasonable. Our room was lovely and updated with nice bath. The breakfast was very nice, and the staff was always pleasant and helpful. Free wifi as well. So much better than staying in the crowded, over touristy hotels near Vatican City or Trevi Fountain, Coliseum, etc. You just can't go wrong.

Room Tip: We were in a remodeled room on the 2nd floor, but most recent updates were on the fifth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Gin5123 Thank you for your amazing review. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our rooms, and our superb location.Please be our guest again, we are looking forward to your return. Best wishes,
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent our last night in Rome here and wished our other Rome accommodation was as nice as this. We stayed on the newly renovated 5th floor and it was great. Nicely furnished, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms. Staff was so nice and the WiFi worked great. This hotel is on the Coliseum side of Rome and close to the train station. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Sirs,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Sonya and for sharing with other travellers your kind opinion about our facilities and services
It is very rewarding for us to know that you have good memories from your holiday.
It will be a pleasure to host you again in future.
With best regards
Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

My husband and I visited Rome, Florence, and Santa Margherita. This was by far the best hotel. Excellent beds! The rest of the beds in other hotels were too hard. The ones at Hotel Sonya are supportive, but soft. The wait staff is so helpful! Ivan was amazing!!! He made reservations on trains for us and gave us tons of great advice. Every other staff member was attentive, cheerful, and really made you feel like they cared. The breakfast is awesome! I don't know where they found their chef and staff, but I think they are way underpaid. I loved the vintage elevator and marble stairs too. This hotel gives you plenty of towels and anything else you need. We stayed in the upgraded room the last night. It was better than the 4 star hotel in Santa Magherita in every way! It is located close to the train station so it's very convenient. There are good restaurants close to the hotel too. One economical pizzeria was recommended by Jolle, another staff member. It was wonderful. For the money, this is your hotel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dears Mr&Mrs C.-

Thank you for your perfect review. Our goal is to make your stay "everything you could possibly want" and we are pleased to see that we meet all your expectations.
We love to have you back as our guest.
Warmest Regards

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Hotel Sonya was in a fabulous location and it was really easy to find. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable, just what we needed for rest after a big day of sight seeing. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a delightful, with a selection of cakes, fruit and bread. Overall, we had a great stay at Hotel Sonya and could not fault them in any aspect. We will stay again if we return to Roma.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear AppyTravels -

Thank you for your review. We are happy you selected Hotel Sonya while visiting Rome. We are glad to hear you had a fabulous time and especially enjoyed our breakfast .We are thrilled our staff was helpful and friendly. We hope you will be visiting us again and looking forward to your return.
Kind regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Petersburg,Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We spent three nights in hotel.
Everything was wonderful, very friendly atmosphere, the receptionists gave us some helpful information.I had asked for a room with a nice view, and I got it.The room was cosy and modern equipped,including a kettle, a tea set and a hair dryer. We were especially fond of the interiors, very stylish with their Christmas decorations.
The breakfast was good,we got eggs,ham ,yogurt,different kinds of cakes and cereal. I would rather have some cheese and olives instead of cakes...But nothing is perfect in our World...
Very friendly waiters offered tea or coffee. We liked tender and sweet oranges and pears.

There are two computers with free Internet in the lobby.

it was a little noisy at night as we opened the window. But we could hear the bells ringing and the doves..So it was more romantic than annoying.

The location is also excellent, 7 minutes of Termini station, 15-20 minutes from Colosseo and Foro Romano. We did not use any public transportation.
In general the hotel turned out to be much better than I expected for the reasonable price.
It is the best *** hotel I have ever seen.
I would return there without any hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSonya, Owner at Hotel Sonya, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Ekaterina S -
Thank you for sharing your great stay with us. We appreciate all the excellent comments about our hotel and staff!
We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,

Basilio Nicoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#112 Family Hotel in Rome
#244 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.