We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and modern but very small room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sonya to your Saves list
Hotel Sonya
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #311 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Valletta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean and modern but very small room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Me and my wife only stayed for a night in this hotel as we had to catch a cruise ship from Civitavecchia so I wanted a hotel near Termini station. When we arrived they transferred us to the newer section of the hotel which is an apartment converted into hotel rooms with ensuite shower inside a building with other residents. There is a receptionist and even a small breakfast hall. Staff were excellent. Free wifi is a bonus too. Our Twin room was modern , comfortable and clean but unfortunatly it was very small. Much smaller than our bedroom at home. Lcd tv was good. Location is just 5 to 10 mins walk from Termini. Breakfast is nothing major but good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    406
    111
    33
    21
See reviews for
213
454
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
coral springs, florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed 1 night at this hotel, near the Termini Station. The staff was very attentive, the room was clean. The bathroom was spacious. Unfortunately the mattress was like sleeping on a table. The continental breakfast was adequate and check in and out was fast. Not sure we could go there again since the bed was so uncomfortable. A small discount is offered for Rick Steves readers when paying in cash.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

price to quality of facilities translate to good value. staff is excellent, highly commendable in providing personalized attention. close proximity to terminal station, ideal for train/bus transfers within and to other cities. clean bathrooms, comfortable bed, hot breakfast. rick steves got it right!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this modest but well run hotel. Our room was in the "newest" part of the hotel on the 5th floor. The room was well appointed, extremely clean and quiet. Be certain to ask for the newer section when booking. The included breakfast was more than satisfactory and gave us the energy we needed for our tours. An excellent location that is close to the Termini and still within a close distance to the Metro and excellent restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Stayed in twin room for seven nights with my wife. Room was spotless,but breakfast was not good considering it is a budget hotel, and a good location - short walk along metro station. Warning!!! - Rooms is very small!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is located near Termini station (about 5 min walk). The service is good, our room was on the 5th floor, it was clean, spacious and cosy. The service is good. Breakfast was a bit poor, but for 3star hotel it was ok.
The only thing we didn't like - our room wasn't ready when we arrived (1.00 p.m.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

For a lower priced hotel, it is a very good option. It is very clean and the staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is pretty big too. Free internet and wifi. It's close to the train station which is nice when you arrive, but not as great when you walk to see the sights, but that's how they can be cheaper. The walls were very thin, but our sound machine (free iPhone download!) did the trick.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonya

Address: Via Del Viminale 58, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#146 Family Hotel in Rome
#272 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonya 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sonya is in a quiet area of central Rome, in front of the Opera House and 55 yards from the Viminale Palace. Rooms offer free internet and free Sky satellite TV. Rooms at the Sonya Hotel are air-conditioned and feature a private bathroom and a tea/coffee maker. Breakfast includes a variety of breads and pastries, cold cuts, fried eggs and fresh fruit. The Sonya is a 2-minute walk from Termini Train Station. Free maps of the city are available at the front desk with ticket-booking service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sonya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonya Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.