We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biscottificio Innocenti

Biscottificio Innocenti
Via della Luce 21, 00153 Rome, Italy (Trastevere)
0039 06 5803926
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 211 Bakeries in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Trastevere
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Wonderful local bakery in Trastevere. The young lady working here was charming, friendly, and helpful. We tried two of each (for the most part) - everything looked so good. Pastries were very, very tasty. Two bags of cookies didn't cost much; we had enough to snack on for several days. Be adventurous and try what looks good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    18
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious homemade cookies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a small family-run establishment in Trastevere. Finding it is half the fun. They have a great assortment of cookies made on the premises. We were lucky enough to get some brutti ma buoni (literally, ugly but good) cookies that were still warm out of the oven. Whoosh! Bag empty. That experience alone was worth five stars, but the other cookies we got (amaretto, meringue, etc) were also very tasty.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“adorable Roman biscotti shop in Trastevere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

well, it does not get more authentic than this is you are looking to sample a few (or many!) Roman biscotti. we came on a food tour and i honestly am not sure we would have found this place otherwise. it was only two blocks from our apartment but there is not much for signage and we had clearly walked right by it more than a few times and not noticed it. and it has a charm about it when you walk in - there is an authenticity here, and a true love of their biscotti.

the business has been in the family for a few generations and the current owner makes all the cookies fresh daily in an impressive conveyor oven that takes up a large part of the bakery. it's not fancy and doesn't need to be. it's all about the biscotti here. we had the owner pick a few of her favorites to sample and we were not disappointed. i just wish i could remember their names... i know the one cookie's name translates into "cat's tongue", but honestly, it really doesn't matter which you choose they are all pretty much spectacular. don't just get a few though, get a bag full or you may be truly sad when you have that espresso later and wish you just had one more...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hazelnuts and meringues!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I loved this bakery in Trastevere, both for the wonderful cookies and the wonderful woman who ran it. Out of a huge variety of sweets, my favourite were the small hazelnut cookies, while my daughter preferred the chocolate dipped meringues. Try a large sampling, though. There was nothing I didn’t like.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best cookies I ever tasted!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We discovered the shop accidently when walking through Trastevere. We decided go in and try different kinds of cookies and they were all so great I can't even describe it. You have to try it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biscottificio Innocenti also viewed

 

Been to Biscottificio Innocenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biscottificio Innocenti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.