We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value with a Great Host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Zen House B&B to your Saves list
Zen House B&B
Via Sinuessa 19, 00183 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #474 of 2,893 Rome B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value with a Great Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Zen House is a perfect B&B to stay at in Rome. The host, Giacomo, is a wonderful host. He was so kind to pick us up at the train station late at night, and then take us to a local pizza place, as we were starving from a long day traveling. The Zen House is tucked away in a real Roman neighborhood, away from all the tourists, but still close enough to reach all the sites. I would definitely stay at Zen House again, great value, with a great host!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vina del Mar, Chile
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

If you really want to try a bit of home away from home, this is the place for you. Giacomo will do all it takes to make you feel welcome, give you all the tips and advice you need, places to visit, how to get. The place is very clean and Giacomo always treats his guest to something special.
He is a traveler himself, so he knows what we expect when we get to a Bed and Breakfast.
And in this case there's so so much more. The place is reachable by bus and Metropolitana.
A 20 minute walk takes you to the Colisseum and the Roman Forum, but there's also the Metro if you're the lazy kind.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place was one of the highlights of Rome for me and my boyfriend: Quiet, clean, comfortable, wonderful breakfast and -most important- mangaged by Giacomo, who made us feel always welcome like a friend. We like him a lot!
And there are two private, fully equiped bathrooms for totally just four guestrooms, so it's no problem to share them with the other guests. It's a big aapartment in a block of flats, so don't expect big signs at the house and just look for the correct house number to find it.

We enjoyed the place not beeing right in the center of the tourist trap and surrounded by a usual city neightbourhood. Especially, we loved the take-away-pizza right accross the street, where the Via Sinuessa is branched off.

All this is a heavy reason for us to return to Rome soon for dicover the city outside the sightseeing area - there is a lot more to see than the guide book is suggesting.
However, if you mainly come for this, be prepared to handle with the public transport: The next bus stop is close - but by feet it's a bit too far to the centro historico.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

What can I say...I have been spoiled...Giacomo, you have spoiled me. So, I had my first experience at a Hostel and this was it! It was great and the price can not be beat. Giacomo was SO very helpful and kind. I am sad I didn't get to know him better. He runs a very clean hostel and provides a healthy breakfast. The hostel can be a bit noisy with the rooms right on the street, but it gets quiet after midnight or so. The bathrooms were spacious and so too were the rooms...with wifi included. Giacomo provides a great map and gave lots of advice. He also recommended a restaurant (small pasta store) in the back alleys of Rome and it was AMAZING. So, have no reservation...if you are going to stay in Rome and are looking for a cheaper option-go no where else but the Zen House! While it may be a 10 minute walk from the Metro...but it really not that bad. We thought it was going to be tough, but it is quick and a good neighborhood!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed in the single room for 3 nights. The place is very tidy and clean. It have 2 bathroom to be shared among the guests. Price for the single room was at only 30-35 euros per night and also come with free wifi.

Although it's not located near to the central, but accessibility to the tourist spots are very easy. You could just walk to the bus stop to take a bus to places like the Colosseum or if you want, you can even walk to the metro station!

The breakfast provided was very kind and generous as well. You can have breads, fruits, cereals, yogurt and even scrambled eggs!

The owner Giacomo is a very kind, caring, peaceful and friendly person. It was my great honor to be invited by him to try his cooking. His cooking was simply great and along with the red and white wines, it's totally perfect. This is something extra and please do not expect it.

I would recommend this place to anyone who visits Rome. Do not hesitate and grab a room now!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I study in Milan and I've been in several places during my trip around europe.
I think I was very luky to reserve a single room at Zen House for several reasons:
1 Place is tidy clean and have 2 shared bathroom for max 8 guests
2 The price for a single room is only 30/35 euro and for a private room in Rome is a great value in Rome.
3 The Place is not really in the centre but very well connected and with lots of restaurants that are cheaper than the centre.
4 Breakfast is really nice and generous.
5. The owner is such a kind and helpful person and I consider him as a genuine human being who loves his job and share his time with other people.
I really really suggest this place, thanks Giaco

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

[Before you read this review, it is important to know that this is my most favourite place I have stayed at and CERTAINLY the best hospitality I have ever received when travelling.]

The owner Giacomo is a charismatic, friendly, caring and honest individual. Having only stayed at the Zen House for 4 nights I would already use the term "legend" to describe him (and I don't use the term loosely).

My girlfriend and I arrived late-ish on the first night and had told Giacomo (the owner) of our arrival time out of courtesy as many establishment-owners have asked for this information previously. He had infact previously offered to pick us up, and having read reviews we knew he had done this before. However, we felt it a bit much to accept the offer and so just told him our approximate arrival time and got a taxi. In fact Giacomo came to the station regardless in order to pick us up but sadly we had already got a taxi-this however immediately showed us his immensely generous nature and the following 4 nights reflected his kind-heartedness.

On arrival, his good friend Roberta (also an extremely lovely individual) welcomed us and gave us some tips on Rome. Having arrived late on a bank holiday Monday after Easter, we were worried about not getting food. In their hospitable nature, Roberta and Giacomo then invited us to join them for dinner at a nearby restaurant. Giacomo (the owner) sorted the bill, and in his (again) kind-hearted nature severely under-quoted for the meal we had just had, another example of his extremely polite and honest personality.

His house itself (and this is of course what I am supposed to be reviewing!) is lovely and extremely homely, with a calm nature about it. Our room was large, exquisitly clean with a very large bed. Our shared bathroom (there are at least 2 in the house though) was always kept clean as Giacomo (the owner) was always ensuring his home was in good shape for guests. The breakfast he offers, although simple, is whole-hearted and better than any Italian breakfast I have had offered to me before. Cereal, bread, fruit, yoghurts, fresh baked goods and most of all EXCELLENT COFFEE (and I am a serious coffee-ee!) was offered.

The location, although in a very quiet area just South of the centre of Rome, and the house itself in a very unprotentious corner within the tiny "via Sinuessa", was perfect in terms of access and if you are a healthy walker could easily walk to the colosseum within 25 minutes. We did do A LOT of walking in our 4 days but we did also experience the very cheap bus service which comes from the adjacent street.

I think it's always important for anyone reading a review to hear the limitations and my girlfrend and I would both agree that the room temperature was perhaps lower than we'd anticipated (this is no way reflected by the shower temperature which was extremely pleasant). However my opinion on this matter is that Giacomo's personality might not "suit" a lavish central heated environment which certainly in warmer conditions would not be neeed (this was an April visit which included rain!).

This part here should not really be taken as standard, but merely an indication of the standard of hospitality being offered. On our last night Giacomo offered to cook for us, something we had read about but not something we based our stay on. In some ways we were perhaps disappointed beforehand that we would not get to spoil ourselves on our last night. HOW WRONG WE WERE as Giacomo cooked up two beautiful courses, provided lushious red wine and even introduced us to some "interesting" Italian desert (I'm still not sure if he was perhaps taking the p*** a bit here :-D ). His friend Roberta re-joined us for this evening and the two are very intelligent and gave good conversation. As I say, please don't expect this part - there is part of me that will always like to think that we were special guests but the truth is Giacomo is lovely.

In summary, the Zen House is a homely and peaceful B&B that succeeds in bringing people together. Giacomo works tremedously hard to ensure guests are relaxed and enjoy their stay in Rome. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending anyone to Zen House B&B and will actively do so where possible.

Grazie mille Giacomo. Ciao.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zen House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zen House B&B

Address: Via Sinuessa 19, 00183 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #474 of 2,893 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello my name is Giacomo Merlin, I’m mainly a traveler and I know how important it is to find a friendly and cordial atmosphere away from home. If you are looking for a central location, clean, with hearty breakfasts and a helpful management able to speak a fluent English, German and Spanish come to the Zen House.The B&B is located in the district of S. Giovanni on ground floor of a not busy and very quiet private road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Zen House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.