We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Gelato if nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Grom

Gelateria Grom
Via della Maddalena 30, Rome, Italy
+39 06 68210447
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,684 of 8,753 Restaurants in Rome
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Good Gelato if nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having tried a whole bunch of gelaterias in Rome and Italy, Grom was good and handy if you are on the go or near Piazza Navona

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    167
    104
    58
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vegans beware...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I was directed to this place by reviews online, and while they do have sorbets...not all are created equally! Some of the sorbets are not vegan and you will need to check their website (since this is a chain). Vegans only have the option of sorbets or granita. I had the mandarin and pear sorbet, and both were a little tart for my liking. However, I saw no soy gelato although some reviews I read had reported of such.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW! Best Gelato in Rome?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I tried several gelato places in Rome, and Grom was by far our favorite. If you are a fan of chocolate, you really need to check this place out. I got half chocolate / half hazelnut, and it was just exceptionally good. Unfortunately, we tried Grom on our last night in Rome. Otherwise we would have been back FREQUENTLY!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Creamy perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Everyone ordering was Italian and this was the place Italians recommended. The gelato was creamy and natural. I ordered the small cone with hazelnut and straticchiatela scoops. It was creamy and amazing, best I had in Rome. Some of the other places are too touristy and too ice cream like which gelato is not like ice cream. Go here it is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A few shops in Turin. I've tried it also in Greenwich Village, Rome, Paris and Venice.
Try Cassata ans Marron Glacé

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Grom also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria Grom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Grom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.