We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice apartment with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rome Vatican Suite

Rome Vatican Suite
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rome Vatican Suite to your Saves list
Rome Vatican Suite
Via Caio Mario 12, 00192 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #801 of 2,888 Rome B&B and Inns
Porto Alegre, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice apartment with friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The B&B is well located, in a calm and safe zone close to a metro station (Ottaviano "San Pietro") and also to the Vatican (10 min walk). The apartment is clean and well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful, which is not very common in Italy. The building is old, so the elevator is old-fashioned and small, but nothing that a few more trips with the luggage can't solve. For a B&B the breakfast is not bad, with fruits, yogurt, and a fresh made coffee. The room is equipped with a minifridge and a electric boiler which is a good option for bed-time tea fans like me. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom is very spacious and neat.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stay there for 3 nights in room 4. Breakfast may not be the best but really OK, fresh fruits and tea coffee service available. Air condition was good. We didn't hear much noise from upstairs or neighboring rooms. Sound isolation from street was also good. My bed was very close to the toilet which made some discomfort feel but if you stay there just to sleep not a problem at all. Bad smell was present at our first night which was solved the day after. For which our breakfast has been granted to us. I appreciated that behavior. Elegant! Minibar, safe, lcd screen with sky satellite, kettle were other stuff we liked. Elevator to the building is a very old Otis, too narrow but nostalgic. The building and the neighborhood is safe. Close to the Ottaviano metro station, Vatican, Castel San Angelo but still need to walk about 500 meters which may be a problem in a very hot August day. After all, metro is not the only way of transport. One way ticket is 1.50 eu, 3 eu for 2 adults. Taxi is about 7-8 euro to the piazza Navona (the heart of Rome). Castroni market located at ottaviano street is a nice place to get traditional Italian spices, olive oil, aceto balsamico and pasta (was with a bit touristic look though). Brothers running the b&b were very polite and helpful. PS: I wouldn't recommend you to go the restaurant al Baestrari which was advised by the staff. I'll write a comment about it in corresponding page.
In conclusion may stay there again.

Room Tip: room number 4 was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very clean and beautiful rooms. Small but delicious breakfast. Very close to metropolitana (Ottaviano, metro station). 20' walking from piazza del Popolo.
The only "negative" is the thin walls, but was not a problem at all, because everybody was triyng to keep it down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Despite our initial concerns from the plain facade of the building, we were quickly reassured by the modern and clean rooms and professional and helpful staff. Even better, the beds were really comfortable and the rooms quiet!

Overall we rate this accommodation as outstanding and would recommend it to others, younger and older, with the exception of families because of the smaller rooms.

Rome Vatican Suite is well located close to Vatican City and within walking distance of the city centre. We arrived by train from Florence and caught the Metro A train to Ottaviano San Pietro Station, followed by a short walk to the suites. Straight forward except for the difficulty of lugging suitcases due to the lack of escalators or lifts at the stations.

We were close to restaurants and a popular shopping strip.

The owners were exceptionally helpful and I would encourage others to stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Can sing more praises for this hotel. Out of our three week Italy trip this, by far was our favorite.
The hotel is really small, having only 4 rooms. From the outside you would not think it was even a hotel- there is a buzzer to be let you in and located on the 2nd floor.
Both my husband and I were consistanty impressed with everything: everything worked, good selection of English tv channels, good AC, comfy bed, great breakfast, great location next to metro....
When we arrived I felt like I was getting a cold, when asking for tea and lemon, they gave me a tea pot for my room and while they did not have lemon, they got me some the next day and would leave one in my room everyday with replenished tea.
The only negative- some outside noise from other tenants in the building. Not terrible and only at normal hours. While this hotel does not have frills, expect genuine service and place to look forward going after a long day sightseeing in Rome.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and we look forward to coming back here in the future!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The Rome Vatican suite was a good place to stay, as advertised. It has 4-5 rooms, so it is very small. The rooms were modest, but very adequate in all ways. The owner was very helpful, and spoke many languages. Breakfast was good, especially the coffee and cappuccino made by Adriano (the best we had in a hotel). Unlike the rest of Italy, the air conditioning actually cooled the room when it was 92 out doors. Great wi-fi.

The hotel was very near the Metro, which was great for getting to attractions. If you are not comfortable riding the Metro, the only thing close is the Vatican.

When we asked the owner where to find a certain grocery item he was serving, he got a bag for us!

They arranged transportation for our group of 4 from airport on our arrival and to train station on our departure. Both were timely, what we expected and money well spent.

Pros
Location near the Metro
Air conditioning
Great Coffee in the AM made by Andreas

Cons
Can't think of any

Would stay there again. Quite simply, this was the only place we stayed in Italy where everything worked as promised

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband & I stayed here for a 1 week honeymoon last week. Clean & comfortable accommodations with the best firm bed I have ever slept on outside of home. Located on a small residential side street off a major road, Via Cola di Rienzo. Easy walking distance to the Vatican & St. Peters Basilica; also walkable to the ruins and Travastere (approximately 1 hour walk each for latter). The owners (brothers) are very helpful, kind, accommodating, and gave good advice about when to visit the sights to avoid crowds (to the extent possible)!

The b&b is a converted apartment with a small lobby, common kitchen area, storage, & 4 rooms. Only issue is there is no soundproofing/insulation so no matter how quietly (or not) others enter at 3am or whenever, you will surely hear them.

We stayed in room 1 which is a triple room facing the courtyard. Highly recommended as we heard no street noise any time of day (only heard occasional internal noise of others guests). The room and bathroom windows open easily & despite lack of screens, NO MOSQUITOES! Coming from a hot bug infested swamp land that is Florida I can't tell you how much I appreciated constant fresh air without bugs.

Highly recommended 9/10. In fact, I already recommended this b&b to my brother & his fiancée if they choose to vacation in Rome. We'd stay here again if we visit Rome again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rome Vatican Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Vatican Suite

Address: Via Caio Mario 12, 00192 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #801 of 2,888 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Rome Vatican Caius Marius Suite" is located in the heart of Rome, in the beautiful area between San Pietro and Via Cola di Rienzo. From this ideal location is within walking distance of every place and central monument of Rome.In addition, the Metro line A Ottaviano Lepanto provides convenient access to every area of ​​Rome. You will have the opportunity to stay in single, double, triple and double, all with private bathroom and equipped with every comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rome Vatican Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rome Vatican Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.