We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ice cream, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Valentino

Gelateria Valentino
Via Del Lavatore, 96, 00187 Rome, Italy
06.6783219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 8,758 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ice cream, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Cheaper than the gelateria's right by the fountain and you are not pressured to buy. Was nice to have time to decide what we wanted. Been twice now and love the apple ice cream!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much and we look forward To see you soon again.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,724
    327
    123
    41
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Manga Spain
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“The owner claim best you've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

I cannot disagree because it is. I wanted an icecream after a long day and on checking TA i found according to them i was 30m from the 2nd best in Rome. We were served by the owner super efficiently who claimed if i didn't think it was the best i didn't have to pay. I have to say i paid. Delicious amarena/cherry icecream. Wow just go try for yourself nothing to loose.Many other flavors to choose from and if i don't find No1 i'll be back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you very much and we hope To see you soon again.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney
1 review
“Best gelato in Rome...and we've tried a few”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of four and have been here twice in the past few days. The lady that served us was lovely and patient as we made our selections. The lemon and coconut flavors are outstanding. We have tried lots of flavors and they were all good but these two stand out. the cones are crunchy and fresh. We didn't find the portion sizes stingy at all. Good value for tasty gelato a short walk from Trevi. We will be back again before we leave Rome.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you somuch and we really hope to see you soon again.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duleek, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in Rome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We tried many many types of gellato on our trip to Rome and they're all fab but this place was definitely the best. Their apple and coconut especially

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Tank youvery much and we hope To see you soon again.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Very very normal gelato. We came because of it's location and the high ranking. But we r quite disappointed because the taste is not so good (not made of fresh ingredients )they encourage people to give comments in tripadvisor that's why the ranking is so high.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
valentino q, Proprietario at Gelateria Valentino, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you and we hope you Find ice-cream that is better than just ok.valentino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Valentino also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria Valentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Valentino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.