We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Rome.......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #467 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“When in Rome.......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of May. Its location is excellent 10 minutes away from the Termini and within walking distance of all the major must see sights. Our room was spacious enough, cleaned and fresh towels everyday with a very comfortable bed which was very welcome after a long day sightseeing! The buffet style breakfast was plentiful and varied helping yourself to whatever you wanted. We took advantage of the wifi which was available (local charge) however found the signal a little hit and miss in our 3rd floor room but no problem in the reception and dining area. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel however I would suggest you bring a travel kettle as there are no tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    177
    98
    27
    26
See reviews for
85
181
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean, friendly and well-placed for the station and some major sites. We had a family room which was large, clean and comfortable. Everywhere was in easy reach and we appreciated being on a quieter back road.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiganuk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Virgilio hotel. It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is situated between the Colloseum and the Trevi fountain, so it was perfect to access these and the Roman Fort, The Palatine, the Spanish Steps etc.
The breakfast was fine and you could have as much as you wanted.
On the down side, the walls are very thin. In the room next to ours a family were up at 6.30am and weren't in the least bit considerate. Another night I heard someone's tv at 3.25am.
That said, I would recommend this hotel.
On cautious notes we had a gladiator/roman soldier approach us just after we'd arrived and asked if we wanted a picture with him. In our innocence we thought he was just promoting Rome and said that we would. After taking 4 pictures he asked us for 10 euros. There was no way he was getting that just for posing in pictures. We gave him 2 euros. These guys must make a fortune if everyone pays them what they ask for!
I would barter when buying anything in the street.
One other bad point, but nothing to do with the hotel, is about a restaurant we went to. I ordered lamb with potatoes. After waiting over an hour, they brought me 'lamb' which was more or less just bone and fat. It was what you would give the dog as left overs of a joint. We complained, but they didn't want to know. The restaurant was near the hotel and was called al 19 trattoria. Don't waste your money

Room Tip: I asked for a non smoking room with a good view if possible. We got a smoking room, but it didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After staying in an unsafe hotel in Rome, we were so happy to find this hotel that was recommended by a friend. Staff is professional and definitely into your safety and making sure your stay/experience is good. Great value and good, central location. Close to shopping streets and great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, N Ireland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This being our second stay here, says it all! Hotel very well situated within easy walking distance of all the sights. Staff very friendly and the room was well cleaned. Liked the fact that you could put the heat n low at night as it was still a bit chilly. Bed really comfy especially after a hard days walking! Breakfast was good and adequate. Previous reviewer said that other guests were hostile! Not while I was there. Also there is another room for breakfast that nobody seemed to use - so there was plenty of room for everyone. I would definitely go back to this hotel again. Rome is expensive and although this hotel isn't The Ritz is offers good value for money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

we booked two rooms and requested low floor and adjacent to each other which we got. The rooms were spacious and exceptionaly clean, maid service was daily and the bed linen and towels were also changed. The breakfast was fine and there was always room for us to sit together as a family of five. Staff were all pleasant and helpful and I would recommend a stay here, take a travel kettle for tea/coffee as there is not one in the room. This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to the major tourist attractions and restaurants and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Virgilio is a very good 3 star hotel,good value for money and ideally situated for most if not all of Rome's major sites(just 10/15 mins walk). There ample eating places within that walk.The hotel itself is well decorated although the rooms could do with a freshen up.The staff were very friendly and helpful,breakfast was variable with scrambled eegs and bacon,fruit and cereal etc.There are mini bars in each room and a bar on the lower floor which is opened on request.The hotel is on four floors but has a lift albeit small but functionable.There is a sfe in each room and reception will give you a key on request for a 10 euro deposit there is also a city tax of 2 euro per day payable on checkout. The hotel is just a 15 min walk from the main train and bus station and is easy to find.My only downside was there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. Air conditioning was available but not needed in Febuary.I would most certainly stay here again. P.S Take a comfortable pair of walking shoes Rome's roads and pavements are mainly cobbled stones.

Room Tip: A room at the back may be beneficial if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.