We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Virgilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Virgilio to your Saves list
Hotel Virgilio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked a taxi pick up 1 month prior to our stay. When we arrived at the airport, there wasn't anyone to pick us up. We had to call the hotel multiple times and all they said was keep waiting..we walked through almost the whole entire airport trying to look for this taxi guy and still no luck. We wasted an hour looking for this guy, calling the hotel, and we finally gave up and take the taxi to the hotel on our own.

Upon arrival to the hotel, the old man at the front desk was very rude. He wanted to charge us the taxi fee for 100Euro even the taxi guy was never there to pick us up. They charge a set rate for internet but the internet bandwidth wasn't enough to serve all guests and so we couldn't really use it and no refund.

They also request about 40euro for deposit if you want to use the safe in your room. When we were checking out, the guy pretend he didn't remember our deposit until we actually ask for it and show him the deposit receipt.

Overall, this is a horrible place to stay with. We felt so relieved when we left this hotel. Stay somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    176
    98
    27
    26
See reviews for
85
181
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were booked into the sister Hotel of the Hotel Virgilio, the Hotel Hiberia. Unfortunately our room was still occupied by a sick guest and we were transferred at the hotel's expense by taxi to this property. We were hot and bothered by all the hassle but this all went quite smoothly thanks to the efficiency of the reception staff. This is an adequate 3 star hotel. The location near the Via Nazionale with good restaurants nearby was fine for a one night stay. Yes the shower was small, the room decor was nothing special but this is Rome and location is everything! We took advantage of the hotel organising a private car transfer to the airport which worked a treat. We also used the Wifi, no problems with the signal, and most important in a very hot Rome in summer we had the airconditioning working full strength to keep the temperature under control.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My room looks nothing like any on the hotel's website. For a start, it's L-shaped. The base of the L is a small nook containing a single bed and a side table. Opposite the end of the bed, at the heel of the L, is a desk with a television set, minibar, and two low chairs. Nestled in the angle of the L is the bathroom and a small closet. The stem of the L is a long, wide corridor leading from the door of the room; this contains a lot of empty floor-space, allowing the hotel to claim that the room is "large", but it's almost useless space, and functionally the room is quite small.

The decor of the room is drab and uninspired. In fact, other than an attempt at fancy drapes in a poorly chosen color, the room has had no thought of "decor" at all. This is not a room that invites you to spend any time in it. There are no drawers, although there is space where they could have been; instead, there's just a shelf under the desk. There is a safe that requires a metal key (you have to ask at the front desk and pay a deposit). There is no coffee maker. The wifi varies randomly from adequate to being unusably slow for extended periods. The bathroom is equipped with the world's slowest CFL light bulb and a noisy fan. The shower is small, and there is only a small shelf for toiletries.

The mattress is reasonably comfortable. The default pillow is thin, but a thicker one is provided in the closet. The hotel is on a relatively quiet street, but every passing vehicle can be heard in the room, and so can accordion music and late-night frivolity from the tables outside the restaurant opposite. The noise of the fan and the toilet flush in the bathroom of the adjacent room will wake all but the soundest sleeper.

One does not expect a great breakfast in Italy (Italian cuisine puts its emphasis elsewhere), but breakfast here is the most disappointing that I've had at an Italian hotel in recent times. There is no fresh fruit, just canned fruit salad; no tomato or cucumber to go with the meat and cheese; no whole-grain bread, just white; no muesli or granola, just corn flakes and a children's chocolate cereal. Instead of fruit juice, a thin sugary fruit drink is dispensed by a machine into plastic glasses. Coffee also comes from a machine; when I push the button labeled "Cappuccino", it delivers a cruel parody of the drink of that name.

Overall, the Virgilio is quite survivable, but I had expected something much better than that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Good:
1. It's near Via Nazionale and about four blocks away from the Roma Termini.
2. There's a good pizza-pasta place at the corner called Est Est Est!
3. Breakfast is relatively good
4. Internet is about 5 Euros for 5 days.
5. The view of the street was straight from the postcard.

The Bad
1. They expect you to be able to take a decent shower in a roughly 1 meter x 1 meter shower area.
2. Pillows are quite thin. You could hardly feel them.
3. The safe was analog and the one in our room wasn't working.
4. A first ride in their elevator would give you a heart attack and claustrophobia.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace for a nice view in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in this Hotel for 6 nights with my husband and two teenage daughters. It was centrally located within walking distance to most of Rome's landmarks and just round the corner from Via Nazionale. The rooms where clean and comfortable and breakfast was excellent too. The reception staff were very helpful and courteous. Good restaurants in the area too within walking distance. I would definitely stay here when I visit Rome again and would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you for the pleasant stay and hope to see you all soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights with 2 teenagers. Great centrally located hotel for exploring Rome - only a few minutes walk from the Colosseum.We had two rooms a double and a twin both of which were a decent size with air con, mini fridge, TV and bathroom with shower (we didn't have any problems with the shower temperature.) Staff very helpful and friendly when giving advice and directions. Breakfast was slightly disappointing as there were only two choices of cereal and the fruit was tinned rather than fresh. However there were delicious mini croissants and cake to make up for that! There was also bacon, eggs and sausages, ham, cheese and toast - enough to keep hungry teenage boys going for quite a while. Internet access was 5 euros for whole stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 10nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel was easy to find, when we arrived the reception staff knew who we were instantly and were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel room was a good size, very clean and modern, comfortable too with the A/C helping with the heat of Rome!
Location was good if you like to walk around and see Rome on foot, most sights were 5-10mins walk away, also it was close to one of the main roads if you prefer to get one of the buses to the sights. Finding the sights was fairly easy as upon arrival we were given a detailed map and tips on how to get around easily.
Breakfast was good, large selection of food on offer including hot food :)
Had to pay for wi-fi access which was a bit disappointing, but it was a very reasonable price.
the afternoon/ evening receptionist (Raffael) was extremely helpful, friendly and easy to get on with, always making us feel very welcome.
Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Virgilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virgilio

Address: Via Palermo 30, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Virgilio 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Virgilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Virgilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.