We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verona Hotel

Save Saved
You added Verona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Verona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Santa Maria Maggiore 154, 00185 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Close to Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 day stay....this Hotel has very friendly staff, walking distance from Railway Termini, so no Taxi's...also can pick up Hop on and Hop off Bus around the corner, tickets part paid in Hotel. Quick walk to Colosseum and The Forum. Good cafe's and restaurants next door and down the road a little. Good internet, breakfast was good and lovely lady very accommodating with breakfast requests..just need some patience as she is on her own, Lovely courtyard to sit outside as well. Definately come back here again, value for money in Rome.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be pokey but your only there to sleep..If wanting a bit larger room go for twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    191
    69
    22
    9
See reviews for
64
131
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salamander Bay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hotel in great location close to station & short walk to Colosseum. Good restaurants nearby. Small rooms but clean & although breaky buffet good not much selection left late session due guests taking food away with them. Stayed twice in 3 weeks be aware taxis can take you long way round being this close to station if you have heavy bags & unable to walk to hotel. Make sure you have PIN number on your credit card...signing only facility not available.

Room Tip: Our room at rear of hotel was less renovated but quieter on first stay...second stay had room on str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The 4 of us spent 4 nights at the Hotel Verona the week before Easter (2013). We are well travelled people (this is our 4th time in Rome) and would recommend this hotel to any and everyone. For us it was a wonderful location, close to Collosieum, Santa Maria Maggiore (well worth a visit)! also close to hop on hop off bus stop.

Hotel was very clean,rooms were well presented and also had a safe in the wall.They were comfortable and well furnished. The staff were so helpful and friendly especially Allessandro & Mauricio on the front desk (also the lovely young man that checked us in the night we arrived, sadly I didn't catch his name) also Giovanna (forgive me if I spelt that wrongly) who was in the breakfast room. For us breakfast was good and plentiful.

Only one complaint and that was my husband is disabled and although they have a lift, it stops between floors so that you have either a small flight of stairs up/down to your floor and you would be very hard pushed to put a wheelchair in it.

Would recommend this hotel and will DEFINITELY be going back.

Have severe withdrawall symptoms and can't wait to return :-)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking courtyard, very nice with added bonus of small balcony you can sit on (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and two pre-teen children. I am very well-travelled and work as a travel advisor. I would rank the hotel as a solid 3 star hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for great value in a beautiful city. The hotel is located in a great location as we were able to walk to many of the sights and there were plenty of places to eat. The staff was friendly; the front desk staff spoke good English and was helpful for making suggestions. The courtyard in the back is a great place to sit and have a coffee; very pretty. Our room was spacious and easily slept the 4 of us. It had 2 beds one appeared to be a king and the other a double. The wall had a safe for keeping passports and other valuables in. The bathroom was a little small and only had a shower but was very clean so I was happy. The hotel does have an elevator however I would not consider the hotel wheelchair accessible since you have to walk one flight of stairs each time you got off/on the elevator. This would make it hard for strollers too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

For a city trip this hotel is the best. I stayed 4 nights in Verona Hotel with my sister. Next to train, bus and metro but still in a nice area next to the Santa Maria Maggiore. Staff is very helpfull and friendly. With an elevator and a fews steps you reach your room which is small but neat and clean. Good windows to shut out noise from outside and if it gets to hot you can use the airco. Bathroom is small and the shower I will not recommend to very big people, but the shower itself is good. And the beds and especially the pillows are great which is nice after a long day walking around the city. Breakfast is fine and plentiful and there is even a little courtyard. When I ever come back to Rome I will certainly book this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed 8 nights at the Hotel Verona and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Staff was extremely helpful especially a young man named Alex. Very close to all major attractions and
5 minutes to Termini Station. Room was small but had a small terrace over looking the breakfast
garden and since we were out all day exploring the city we didn't mind the size. We will go back on our 4th visit to Rome and I would recommend this hotel it s a great deal for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

3 night stay early April. Well situated with easy access to Termini Station. Tourist buses stop at the top of the road, ideal for sightseeing. 10 minutes walk to the Colosseum.

Double room was clean and cosy, and the bathroom, shower only, was fully functional. Only complaint would be a lack of natural light in our room.

Excellent continental style breakfast with ham, cheese and boiled eggs available on request. There are three sittings for breakfast, and we were asked to book our preferred time each day.

Staff were pleasant and helpful, and we would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Hotel

Address: Via di Santa Maria Maggiore 154, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verona Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Verona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.