We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, welcoming and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dorica to your Saves list
Hotel Dorica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence 2014
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Safe, welcoming and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

As the director of study abroad programs for university students in Rome, I find the Hotel Dorica the ideal place for large groups of foreign students. The hotel is centrally located and close to all touristic attractions, bus/metro stops and Termini station. The rooms are spacious, airy, full of light, and very clean. The staff is incredibly kind and estremely helpful. Students get easily sick in the winter, but the staff offered a cup of hot tea to whoever needed it in a cold or wet day. The hotel is safe, the staff welcoming, the atmosphere cozy. When staying in Rome for about 3 weeks, the hotel becomes like home and the staff like family. I thank the people at the Dorica who took very good care of us while we where there this past January.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, for kindness and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    273
    45
    15
    16
See reviews for
158
319
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Noisy, noisy, and noisy. Terrible mattress. Lacking amenities.
Stayed there with a group, and was in the large room between the dining room and the owner's office, overlooking the piazza. The noise from the street was apparent even with the windows/shades shut, so I wore earplugs every night.
But the earplugs did not drown out the noise the owner made – I always knew when he was around, as he didn’t talk, he yelled. Loudly. Continually. His loud voice was what I heard first thing early every morning – through the earplugs! And if he was having an argument with his wife, who was at the hotel frequently, and they were frequently arguing, the noise was on par with a jack hammer that didn’t cease. The guy barely came up for air on one afternoon-long argument. Unfortunately I had to do a lot of paperwork while in Rome, so was in the room often and rarely had quiet.
After several days, I asked him to lower his voice in the hallway, and he began yelling at me! And then the rest of my stay, he would barely look at me nor would he serve me breakfast in the dining room. He obviously does not like people telling him what to do in his own hotel. But he did stop pawing me after this.
However, my feeling is that they advertise the place as “quiet and serene” which it was definitely NOT whenever the owner was in!
My mattress, a double bed, was unbearably uncomfortable. Hard, lumpy, and covered with a RUBBER sheet directly under the linens (unbelievable!), it was the worst bed I’ve ever slept on in Italy (and that includes when I was a starving student in dive hotels). The mattress had to be about 30 years old. I asked the owner’s son, who also works at the hotel, for a blanket to put under me and got a little lecture about how good a hard mattress is. He would only give me one very old small blanket, saying he couldn’t find any other. The next day another worker in the hotel found several thick blankets in the same closet for me. With two blankets folded in half under me, the bed was bearable for the rest of my stay. But a mattress pad is needed, if not a new mattress, for any comfort.
The room is equipped with glaring florescent reading lights attached to the walls next to the bed and overhead. There is no light for the desk. There is no bureau, but a built in armoire with a couple of hangers. The safe in the room never worked.
The smell of cigarette smoke was frequently in my room, which came from the wife, who would smoke in the dining room under the 'Vietato Fumare' sign. Other than smoking in the non smoking hotel, she was a very pleasant person who was always gracious.
The internet was spotty the first fews days and then went out for days, no connection.
The good points about the hotel: the two room cleaners, Mario and Diana, are so nice, so efficient and so sweet that when they were around, and the owner wasn't, it was a lovely place. The shower in the room’s very clean bathroom was strong and always had hot water. The rooms are larger than many I've seen in Italy and the ones overlooking the piazza are bright and sunny. The hotel is right near Via Nazionale, where it was easy to pick up a bus to sites.
But I will remember this hotel with dismay, and now appreciate my own bed so so much more than ever before!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saxonia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

I highly recommend the Hotel Dorica if you are looking for a lovely, small hotel with a staff that will take excellent care of your every need while in Rome. The hotel is air conditioned, the rooms are well appointed, comfortable and charming. Most importantly, not only had the staff taken care of all of our requests prior to arriving, they gently suggested improvements to our itinerary and dining choices that made our experience even better than we had planned for.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The sine qua non of the host industry is the honouring of confirmed reservations. On our second visit to the Dorica the owner admitted that he had overbooked our last night there, but hoped to get a last-minute cancellation He did not. Instead we were taken to the most depressing hotel we have ever stayed at (the Michigan).
Admittedly, the Dorica is good value and conveniently located, but they dumped us to save turning down a 3-night reservation. If you can't rely on your confirmation, the rest means nothing.
There are dozens of hotels in this area (west of P. Republica and Sta. Maria Maggiore), far more than the internet leads one to believe. No need to gamble on the Dorica.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

We booked a room in Hotel Dorica via booking.com. But when we arrived an owner of the hotel said that it is not interesting and enough profitable for him to give a room for 1 night and he will not do it.
Absolutely unnormal situation!
We had to live in awful place for unreasonable price because it was impossible to find something better in Rome on May, 1.
So never book it!

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We stayed for 5 days at the beginning of April. Hotel location is excellent, close to Termini station, but far enough away to not be a "station hotel" with all that comes with that. Quite safe, opposite the Ministry of Interior, but since this is in a nice Palazzo, with a nice fountain, you don't notice. Peter ( the proprietor) is very friendly, and you can be chatty or quiet, and he will respond helpfully. Breakfast is enough, with great Roman coffee. Ask Peter to tell you his excellent joke about how to catch a monkey. Rooms clean and always made up well. We woukd come again, especially for the great location - quiet but very central for buses, metro or walking to everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Hotel Dorica has everything that can make a stay in Rome comfortable. The owner, Peter, is friendly, helpful and efficient. He understands the off-season. The hotel offers great rates at the moment. A double room for 75 Euro a night is a steal. Rooms 23 and 24 share a small courtyard at the back and are ideal for smokers. The rooms have double-paned windows and so even the street-facing rooms are quiet. The decor may be generic, but the rooms are more spacious than an average room in Europe (where sometimes there's room for one suitcase at best, apart from the guest). The bathrooms look new. Apart from minor things like body lotion, I can't think of anything that was missing.

Peter, originally from Ancona on the eastern coast of Italy, has visited NY and SF several times. He's worldly-wise and funny. He and his daughter, Emmanuella, run a very efficient hotel. The breakfast is good, although not elaborate, but the service ensures you have a good start to your morning. There's an alternative in the Gran Caffe Piacente, next door, which opens at 6 a.m. You could also go there for a drink in the evening - munchies are free.

Most sightseeing spots are walkable from Piazza Viminale. You may need to take the metro to go to the Vatican, and there are two Metro stations - Repubblica and Termini - that are close to Viminale. A cab ride to, say Piazza Navona, costs single-digit euros. Another plus is that the shops in this area are not tourist-traps.

Dorica concentrates on the basics and gets them right. Therefore, it is very good value, one of the best I've seen in Europe.

  • Liked — Smart priorities, space in rooms/bathrooms, double-paned windows
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Family Hotel in Rome
#142 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.