We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for short or long stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorica

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dorica to your Saves list
Hotel Dorica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended for short or long stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in November for my birthday. We loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all the major sights of the city. The hotel staff were amazingly friendly and attentive, any questions or problems were happily dealt with. The rooms were cleaned daily and refreshed with toiletries. The breakfast was very nice albeit with few different things to choose from but the staff are very welcoming and wait on you while you eat. I would recommend this hotel to all kinds of travelling parties.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service. Our family working environment try to offer a good service and all the staff take care about the Guest with enthusiastic respect.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    256
    39
    14
    16
See reviews for
154
302
16
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nisshin, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Dorica at the beginning of our Europe trip. It was our first time in Rome and thanks to Hotel Dorica, we loved every minute. We will definitely be back and will definitely be staying at Hotel Dorica when we return. The rooms are beautiful and large, our room had a stunning view over the Piazza! The bathroom was big and always clean. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the coffee was fantastic. The hotel is extremely central and within walking distance to all the sights. The best part of Hotel Dorica is certainly the friendly staff who go out of their way to help in any way possible. The staff treat you as one of the 'family' and make you feel extremely comfortable. They had plenty of advice on what to see and do and the best ways to get there. We were sad to leave Hotel Dorica, but will certainly return!!! We will be recommending the hotel to anyone going to Rome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, that it always help us for improving the service. We try to offer a good service and our location help us because is very central. All the staff take care about the Guest with passion and respect.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend recently stayed in this hotel for his 21st birthday. We were really pleased with our stay at this hotel. Our room was lovely and clean, was cleaned everyday and new toiletries were put in the bathroom. The rooms are quite basic, but hardly any time was sepnt there due to seeing the gorgeous sites of the city. However the time we did spend in the hotel was great!
The breakfast was lovely, and there was a range os pastires to chose from, and as much as you could eat! The staff in the hotel were lovely and very friendly, speaking good english. The staff couldnt do enough for us, recommending places, directions and calling taxis for us, couldnt fault them.
The hotel is also located in a great position, all the sights are within walking distance, with lots of nice bars and pubs close by.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a long weekend away in Rome!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, that it always help us for improving the service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
opglabbeek
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

lovely city hotel. very clean and spacious room and friendly and helpfull staff. Only 15min walk from Termini railstation and colloseum.Good restaurants and pubs in the area.Breakfast was oké for Italian standart

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, that it always help us for improving the service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis of Tripadvisor reviews and a good location, particularly being close to the Termini Rail Station as we were travelling by rail from Naples. However, it was further from the rail station than we anticipated, about fifteen minutes walk, so is probably about at the limit for a walk pulling luggage. The location is very good and we walked everywhere but some people will probably be looking for transport for locations such as the Vatican.
The hotel is very basic and this was a bit of a shock for us as we were paying a higher price for a basic small room than we had paid for a wonderful room in a hotel in Sorrento.
However, Rome is a capital city and the cost probably reflects property values.
The breakfast is typical of small hotels in Italy, and a year ago I heavily criticised the breakfast for a hotel in Venice. This breakfast was almost identical, no peeled fruit,heavy on carbohydrates, with muesli being the only item we really wanted to eat. Does anyone really need three different bread based products for breakfast, even if they are not watching their waistlines.
I do not expect the small hotels to provide the hot plate that the larger Italian hotels provide, but providing simple boiled eggs would be a big improvement.
Overall this is a well run hotel and a fair choice for those who value location, and I hope that the hotel considers the constructive criticism of the breakfast as I am sure that a very significant number of their overseas guests will share this view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service, that it always help us for improving the service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Dorica in Rome for 6 nights. We were looking for a place not far from the Termini station to be able to take day trips from Rome. This place is very conveniently located to the station, about 10 minutes walk, but I would not advise to walk to the hotel from the train station with luggage, it will not be easy, although, of course, possible. The taxi is about 10 euros. The area is quiet, clean, and convenient. The hotel is family owned and provides great customer service. It is not for those who look for luxury, but it is well maintained and clean. The breakfast was a delight. It's continental, but you have plenty to eat and they make the best tasting cappuccino I have ever had and the best looking one! People can't do enough to please you and greet you in your native language if they can. Lovely, lovely place to stay in. Thank you, Emmanuella and your dad, for caring about the people staying with you.

Room Tip: My main problem was using an antiquated hair dryer, but they are installing new ones in the rooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This visit started with an enthusiastic owner who took the time to welcome us, spend time going over the map, showing us where we could go and then taking us to our room which was ready even though we arrived early.
The room was a good size for 2 people, clean and comfortable.
The location is great a short work to all the exciting tourist sites! Breakfast was very nice, fresh coffee every morning, a great start to the day.
Marco was always happy to have a chat and organise anything we needed. The staff in the kitchen were lovely. We had a great time and really believe that hotel Dorica was a great choice in Rome. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Customer, we thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome, and for writing your impression about our service.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Rome
#124 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.