We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's practical to stay at the Dorica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorica

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dorica to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dorica
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #115 of 1,267 hotels in Rome
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's practical to stay at the Dorica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

1. Location -
An easy walk to the Metro station at Piazza della Repubblica; also walkable from the Termini (especially if you're traveling light); very close to Via Nazionale, which is a very good non-touristy street for shopping (in fact, there are clothing-stores almost next door to the Dorica); a pleasant walk up the Quirinale to the Piazza di Santa Barberini, and further to the Spanish Steps and beyond (del Popolo); very close to the Maggiore cathedral; longer walks (a great thing to do in Rome!) or reasonable cab fares to the Colosseum and Forum in one direction, or to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona; not a lot of fine restaurants in the hotel's proximity, but quite a few very good coffee bars (at which, in Italy, there's also plenty to eat)

2. Breakfast (currently, 7:00 to 9:30) -
Without being sensational, the Dorica's breakfast is more than adequate (a number of hotels have this sort of package); espresso is available on demand; Mario, Diana and their young assistant, with their great service, ensure a pleasant start to the morning; if you want more, there's the large Caffe Morganti next door (this used to be the Gran Caffe Piacente; Morganti is also good for buying a quick bottle of water, or for having a drink in the evening)

3. Service - I saw less of the gregarious owner, Peter, during this (my second) stay, but that's because he has very efficient people working at the hotel now; the spiffy Marco is a great communicator in English and will make sure to arrange airport transfers and to check with you on your experience with the taxi and the hotel; the taxis they work with are usually Mercedes Benz cars that can hold lots of luggage comfortably; Florian is often doing the night shift; both he and Marco are knowledgeable about Rome and can play concierge very well; Mario and Diana must be two of the nicest people in Italy, and Peter one of the funniest!

4. Rooms -
Quite spacious, by European standards
, especially in the most-visited cities such as Rome; the tiled bathrooms are evidently newer than the rooms; the shower-stalls are much less cumbersome than slippery bath-tubs elsewhere; some will appreciate that the shower can be hand-held too; shampoo and bath gel in packets are provided; to complete a fine shower experience that the tiled bathrooms seem to be suited for, bring your own cosmetics

5. Other Aspects -
a. The reception is one level up from the street. If you have luggage, you could take the quaint elevator/lift. Remember that the elevator doesn't respond to buttons being pressed unless the grill-door is closed.
b. At a few times, the hotel can seem noisy, but that's usually only when there are several guests in the breakfast-room. I slept very well every night.
c. They do try to offer a free wireless connection to the InterNet, but with a ministry building right across the street, the connection can be flaky.
d. Someone is behind the reception-desk at all times; if you return very late in the night to the hotel, ring the doorbell at the street-door

6. Room Charges -
Very reasonable; very attractive off-season rates; if you get the super-discounted rates, be prepared to pay by cash (there are ATMs a couple of doors from the hotel); overall, great value for the money; plus, they do accommodate special requests, as for a specific room number/description

Hotel Dorica is a great way to stay in comfort, while enjoying wonderful service, and to save some money for other Rome experiences such as food and shopping. It's family-run and the employees take the smooth operation of the hotel seriously.

In my view, Dorica is a more charming experience than a chain hotel, without compromise on safety and comfort. Having a solid, metal key to the room is nice by itself. (Remember it's easier to turn it in at the front desk, when you go out.) A genuinely Italian experience in Rome begins at Dorica!

Room Tip: Rooms 23 and 24 not only do not face Piazza Viminale, they share a little terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Dear Customer, we first thank you for choosing again Hotel Dorica of Roma,and for your kind review. It's true that our location is very central, and very convenient for reaching the most important monument of Roma. We also thank you, because your comment help us to improve our job.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    243
    40
    14
    15
See reviews for
143
282
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were at the hotel for 9 days. The Hotel is located in the right plase. We could go sightseeing on foot. The staff at the hotel is very polite. Our a room was comfortable and clean. The staff cleaned it up every day.The room faced a nice.The window of the room gou out on fountain. In the room was a free safe.Stsndart breakfast was offered at the hotel it was useful.We liked the hotel very much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Customer, thank you for your kind review. We always try to give all our best, for enjoy your stay at the Hotel, with professional manner.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eskisehir, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

It was our first time to go somewhere without a travel agency.Actually we were scared but when we arrived the hotel and met Marco we felt like we are at home.He gave us the map and told us very useful tips. The hotel is located the center of Rome and just 10 mins by walk to Termini Station.There are a bunch of restaturants around the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Customer, we first thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica and for writing your kind review. We try to do our best for giving a good service, with good advices, smiles with always professional manner.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The place is very close to Termini station so it made it easy to get from Airport. Staff was very friendly, helped with info and small insides regarding local ways of doing bizz. the room was small but very clean and comfortable. All the important sites were in a 20 minutes walk max, and we even walked to Vatica from there (took us about 1 hour) but you get to see different historical sites on the way so it is nice.

widnow view is a plaza but it was not noise or anything.

defenetly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Customer. we first thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica and for your nice review. Our location is very central, and help people to reach the most important monument or shopping center. Also our staff is friendly but very professional.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Nice hotel is located in the vicinity of many places of interest and in a short distance from Termini. Friendly, attentive and helpful stuff. Rooms are kept clean and tidy. We recommend this hotel for all who wants to get the good value at rather reasonable price

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Dear Customer. we thank you for your stay at Hotel Dorica. Our location is very central, and the staff always try to do the best, for enjoy your stay.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were in Rome on our honeymoon in September, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is nice, very clean and it has a good location in the heart of the city. Everybody was very helpful and friendly, just one negative thing, our room was little bit noisy because of the street and traffic.
We strongly recommend this family hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your review and still congratulation for your honeymoon.

Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of termini station and all the sights Rome has to offer. The accommodation is pretty much as I would expect from a 3 star in Italy, rooms were kept spotless and the staff are friendly and very helpful. On the negative side, we found it difficult to sleep with the noise of traffic coming through our second floor window. The breakfast was nice but we would have liked a little bit more of a variety. In saying that, it's hard to please everybody. All in all I would recommend the hotel but beware of the street noise.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorica, Direttore at Hotel Dorica, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Customer, we first thank you for choosing Hotel Dorica of Rome and for writing a good review. Almost all our rooms are in front of the place with a wonderful view. Our first rule is the cleaning and the staff is very professional.

MARCO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dorica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorica

Address: Piazza Viminale 14, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Rome
#101 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorica 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorica Hotel is situated in the historical center of Rome opposite the Home Office (Ministry of Internal Affair) in a stupendous commercial area rich in works of art, monuments and museums, near the Termini Station-train and the Opera Theatre. The staff of the hotel are all members of the same family and run the hotel so that each guest will be offered a serene and tranquil environment. Special agreements heve been made for parking in a garage nearby. The rooms, completely renovated, are equipped wiyh every comfort: TV SAT, safe, direct- dial telephone, hair driers and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dorica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorica Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.