We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added California Hotel to your Saves list
California Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Via Principe Amedeo, 00185 Rome, Italy (Esquilino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #291 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is just perfect. With a short 15-20 minute walk we were at the Colloseum and Forum Romanum, and there are lots of good restaurants nearby as well. It's easy to reach by getting to Termini station from the airport, and from there it's a 5 min walk.
The staff is very helpful and friendly too. Breakfast was a bit sober but the overall price/quality ratio is great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    200
    53
    18
    6
See reviews for
128
140
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymoney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Spent a long weekend in Hotel California during Easter break with my sister and my daughter. Hotel was great, served our purpose as we were out most of the day. very close to Termini train station. This was very handy for direct train from airport. Close to Restaurants Shops and within walking distance to attractions and Hop on buses. Rooms were fine, beds were so comfy, though the shower in our bathroom sprayed a bit too close to bath edge and onto floor. It could easily flood if you weren't careful. Just need to keep an eye out for it. There wasn't always hot water in the mornings or the evenings but we managed. Breakfast was fine, not great variety of fruit or yogurt though if any. Because of location and reasonable price this hotel works well if you are on a budget. Would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: At one side of hotel there are trams only passing, so at night when those stop there isn't any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very close to the station, only about 2 minutes working, conveniently.
Very nice staff!
Nice room, clean and neat. Good for family with little children.
The breakfast is nice. Worth the money if it's on sale.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele L, Direttore at California Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that you appreciated our rooms, the location and our service in general.
We hope to see you soon back here!
Thank you and best regards,
Hotel California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location just minutes away from the Airport Shuttle Bus Stop and Termini Train station and within walking distance of most attractions. Decent choice for the breakfast. We stayed on the 4th floor and the room was spacious and very little noise from outside. Free Wi Fi available throughout hotel. With the good exchange rate between £/€ it was value for money. Lots of Restaurants nearby to choose from. Only negative, could have done with tea making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele L, Direttore at California Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and for the high vote you gave us, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Don't worry, for next autumn we will provide a kettle in every room and we really hope to see you back here to use it!
Best regards,
Hotel California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located just next to the Rome train terminal, the location can't be better! Plenty of eating out and shopping options across the street. We were pleasantly surprised to find a lot of Indian and Bangladeshi restaurants nearby, after days of gorging on pizzas! The hop-in and hop-off bus points are also close by if you want to take the city tour. Rooms were spacious and clean. Good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele L, Direttore at California Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for you review, it's a joy for us to know that our guests appreciate the hotel, neighborhood and all the advantages of our strategic position.
We really hope to see you soon back here.
Best regards,
Hotel California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are a seasoned traveller this place is okay. The day staff is so rude and far from helpful I would stay elsewhere the Roma are clean and is in close prioximity to everything breakfast is average

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele L, Direttore at California Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Juliet,
we are really sorry about your vote and you review, we are wondering what happened because the kindness of our staff is always been one of our best aspect.
Anyway, thank you very much for writing a review, we are going to try our best to improve our service.
Best regards,
Hotel California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was perfect. It was clean and the room was really nice. The beds are comfy and the room we had one the 5th floor was big and well equipped. For those looking to see Rome in reasonable comfort and be within walking distance of almost everything but not break the bank its a good choice.
The whole of the 5th floor bedrooms look newly done up and are really nice from what I saw. So are the rooms on the 4th floor.
The hotel is less than five minutes walk from the airport shuttle bus stop and is surrounded by cafes and restaurants for lunch and dinner. It is located beside two hop on hop off bus tour stops and is just around the corner from Termini Station and one of the nicest basilicas in Rome.
For those who like to walk its within walking distance of everything bar the Vatican (which is just a quick bus trip away). It is about 20 mins walk from the Trevi Fountain and Colosseo.
The breakfast was very good and the room always clean and the staff are helpful.
If you are travelling with a friend or with family you might find the shower situation a bit awkward as the shower and washbasin are in the bedroom but well away from the bed and can be screened off using a curtain.

Room Tip: Try get a fifth floor room they seem really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabriele L, Direttore at California Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Alan,
thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that you appreciated our rooms, the location and our service in general.
We hope to see you soon back here!
Thank you and best regards,
Hotel California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to California Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Hotel

Address: 39 Via Principe Amedeo, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#237 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#268 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — California Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your California Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.