We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a good night sleep, do not stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amadeus Hotel to your Saves list
Amadeus Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gioberti, 39, 00185 Rome, Italy (Castro Pretorio)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #857 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you want a good night sleep, do not stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The three of us stayed at this hotel on June 20th and the only thing I could say is that it is located is a central location. It is closed to Roma Termini. The beds are so hard that it feels that you are sleeping on a piece of wood. The air conditioner doesn't really work. The carpet and furniture needs to be replaced. I stayed in other hotels in the area that are better.

Room Tip: Look around before choosing this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Amadeus Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Surely the guest cannot sleep fine. This can be due a lot of issues, and brought the guest to see all black, more than real things are. We're sorry cannot reach guest satisfaction, but we need to explain and put realty on things.
We use premium French Sommiers provided with good choice of orthopedic beds. A hard bed is a rare quality in hotel, due to heavy use, and is the best solution for your health. Of course if you use a soft bed you can't evaluate correctly a good bed, but be aware, your back will suffer in long time due to the soft bed isn't the right choice.
On 23 of June we had some very hot days (this June is the hottes in latest 237 years in Rome) and real center location temperature reached and went over 40 Celsius Degrees. The Air conditioners in this way worked fine lowering temperatures upto 21 Celsius degrees, that was a wonderful work and all guests were satisfied, except this case, requesting 17 Celsius Degrees even if our reception tried to explain was not possible to achieve (unless going in a mountain place!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
16
18
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I booked this hotel for my parents and their granddaughters. They spent four nights in Rome. The location of the hotel was very good, within walking distance to many sites and near the main train station.
The hotel was clean but some of the furniture needs to be updated. Something that gave them a bad impression was the dirty mops and rags that the cleaning crew had left in the lobby. If the crew is not cleaning, the supplies should be stored or put in an area where they are not visible. On a positive note, the supplies were moved after a while.
The public areas were small, especially the dining room. The room was a quad-room and it was spacious and comfortable for the four of them. The breakfast was basic but overall a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilbury, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

It's hard to beat this location half way between Piazza Maggiore and Termini station. Rooms are clean and comfortable, staff is very hospitable and breakfast is basic and fresh. Termini is the transportation hub in Rome with all bus, metro, tram and train services here. Easy local,national and international services are available as well as express services to FCO airport. They can also arrange for a car service to or from the airport which was competitive and professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The hotel is located near the busy trains station and is within walking distance of all the sites. We knew we were going to a 3.5 star hotel and I can say that we had a very nice experience. The staff was very helpful, the breakfast was nice and the rooms were adequate. Overall we were quite satisfied and would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

My son and I have just returned from a few days break in Rome. We stayed at the Hotel Amadeus as they were offering a good deal.

When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to check in a little earlier than their advertised time. It turned out that the room we had booked (as part of the offer) was a double room but we had wanted a twin room. The hotel staff said no problem and separated the beds to make the room a twin.

The condition of the hotel was excellent and it appeared to be very recently refurbished. Everything was immaculately clean and well looked after.

As stated above, the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful - some of the best I have encountered anywhere in the world. Many thanks to them.

Located just 150m from Rome's main (Termini) railway station, it is extremely convenient for all transport needs - metro, buses, hop-on/hop-off bus tours, Leonard-da-Vinci Express (from airport) etc.

I will definitely be using this hotel in the future.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were backpacking so the proximity to the station was a bonus!

I was expecting it too be a little rough around the edges as I got such a good price for it but we were over the moon when we arrived! Fantastic friendly receptionists! Our room was on the first floor above a cafe which i was a little worried about as it was a very noisy street too but once the sound proof windows are closed we were very comfortable indeed! Clean and simple bathroom.

Tasty breakfast which can be eaten on the roof terrace or in the cafe and served by a lovely Italian lady! There's a small supermarket opposite it aswell which was handy and it's in a great location to walk and find amazing bars and restaurants!

Fantastic hotel overall and will definately book again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We were here for 3 nights and we liked the hotel very much. It is located about a 2 minute walk from the main train station. The room was pretty spacious but was a little dark due to the use of yellow lights. The elevator was very small and would only fit 2 people with luggages. We had to leave our keys each time we left the hotel so it was one less thing to worry about losing. The staff are very friendly and speak pretty decent English, and one of them even remembered us and was ready with our key when we walked into the lobby. You get 2 hours of free wi-fi and anything above that would cost you 1 Euro/hour which is a pretty decent price. We found a loophole in that the 2 hours need not be consecutive, so we just used it sparingly and logged off once we were done each time. We managed to use the 2 hours over the 3 nights that we were there. There is a 2 Euro per person per night tourism fee due at check out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amadeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amadeus Hotel

Address: Via Gioberti, 39, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #857 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amadeus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amadeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amadeus Hotel Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadeus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.